We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ice cream sundies”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Macaris Italian restaurant - CLOSED

Macaris Italian restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream sundies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Good service and good ice cream sundies but they had run out of fresh strawberries so we had to have our second choice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sinope1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    25
    16
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a pleasant evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I can genuinely say I have never felt so welcome at a restaurant. The service from the beginning was friendly and accommodating. Special menu requests were accepted without hesitation and extra sauce provided without even asking - a lovely touch! The food was excellent and arrived very promptly. Despite being the last to leave the restraurant we were not rushed along but instead treated by the owner as welcome friends.
We had a lovely evening and would recommend to anyone. We wish Emelia and family the very best for the future. You made our last evening in Torquay a fond memory!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wkitten17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Italian cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I knew Macaris from way back in the late 50's and early 60's, when it was the best Italian coffee bar and ice cream parlour in Torbay....It is still in the same family hands and has recently undergone a tasteful, dramatic change to a very smart restaurant. It looks out across Torquay inner harbour and has comfortable seating outside for those who want to watch the world cruise by whilst enjoying one of their many varieties of delicious coffee's. There were six of us in the party. and every meal was perfect...I had caprese for starters, followed by tagliatelle-al-salmone, gave dessert a miss, because I was full...But had a delicious espresso and a shot of Limoncello, whilst the others tucked into their desserts. Comfortable, nice wine list, good service...All in all, an excellent and relaxing evening out. I shall return.

Rags Daniels...Author.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RagsDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't judge a restaurant by it's cover!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I booked this restaurant as I could get 2 for 1 on mains. When my partner and I walked past I was a bit put off by the décor as it looked it was trying to be a trendy nightclub! However we gave it a chance and I'm glad we did. Our starters were delicious - I had mushroom bruschetta. I loved it. They cook the pizzas themselves and my boyfriend loved his. I had a salad and it was nice. It was also very reasonably priced. Do give it a chance I'm glad I did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Cheap and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner and I were walking around Torquay looking for somewhere to eat, a few places we found a bit expensive when we look at the menu here and saw the specials, we went in and were not disappointed, you should try this place, it was a 2 course meal for £9.95, what a bargin and it was very tasty and fresh. I would highly recommend this place and it can also be romantic place to take your partner if you want

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vebs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macaris Italian restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing