We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get what u pay for”
Review of Ashley Rise Hotel

Ashley Rise Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashley Rise Hotel
Ranked #136 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“get what u pay for”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

we got in finally after the doors were unlocked and told to park on the road outside the hotel as they were waiting on a coach party to arrive we took the lift to the room , on opening the door . what a shock the furniture was broken the wallpaper all cracked and painted over in dark colours and the food on offer was like something from a 1960s roadside greasy spoon this hotel if u could call it 2 stars should be reclassified zero stars hope we never come across a hotel like this again

Room Tip: none this hotel needs a very wide berth
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed there on a travel style 5 day break 29/4 - 3/5/13. The hotel whilst being rather basic was clean and the food was of a standard quality although hot and well presented.Having paid £110 and finding out that the hotel only get £14 a day per head to offer bed,breakfast and evening meal plus pay cleaners and restaurant staff I,m amazed anybody has the nerve to complain.Your not going to get the Ritz for a hundred quid,but you will get your monies worth.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Well we stayed at this hotel from monday 29th april 2013 to the 3rd of may 2013, with travelstyle.
The owners barely spoke a word, the food was just warm i asked for a bit more orange juice for breakfast (as i didnt have cereal) and she said no, to he honest i didnt enjoy staying at the quest house should i say, other than that i enjoyed the surrounding eg torquay, babbacome thearte, model village and all the local shops.
-so this is my opinion i would not use again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcfcryanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I,ve just had a very cheap 5 day selfdrive holiday here.I'ts not really a hotel but a very large guest house .LInen and hotel very clean, breakfast good and tasty , three course evening meals acceptable
The owners do their best to accommodate. It,s a no frills hotel but the owners do their best to entertain during the evenings.If you want a better hotel then don,t go here It,s a friendly hotel run at well below realistic prices Taking everything in to account i would return here as would many other guests i had spoken to .Give it a try and you may be pleasantly surprised!!!

Room Tip: Sea views are best .Just request
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TREVOR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 25th to the 29th of march. The bedroom we had was freezing, there was just a sheet and a cover on the bed and the electric wall heater was not working properly. The sheet and pillows on the bed where clean but the cover was dirty and stained.The room had very poor double glazing so you could hear all the traffic noise from the main road below. The dining area needed a good hovering and the chairs in it where dirty and stained. also ants on the floor. the bar area was so cold you had to leave your coats on when sitting in there also the leather covered benches where torn and needed reupholstering.The entertainment consisted of bingo on the first night then another evening they had a chap playing the guitar he was ok. On the final night they had a race night.The food they served was adequate you would not starve but you would not get fat.We asked for a duvet for the bed and she gave us one and another electric heater for the room.Over all it was the attitude of the owner that really put us off and a few of the other guest also commented on it as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
west midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed for four nights on amid week travel style coach trip. The twin room was clean n big enough for us with a good showere and nice clean fluffy towels supplied daily. The hotel on a whole was good value for money and you get what you pay for. The food was basic and on a budget but you was given a sufficient amount so you didn't leave hungry. We made the most of the entertainment unlike most of the other guest who didn't want to join in with anything on an evening. the hotel also encouraged us to go to see the variety show ( spellbound) at the local theatre which was a fantastic night out and well worth the extra cost. I would go back and stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline71westmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My wife and I went here for a Travelstyle five day cheap stay in mARCH. 2013. The hotel had only be reopened a few weeks after being closed last season due to family circumstances. Now run by Jo and Neale and a very small team serving the 26 bedrooms and around 40 guests. First floor room have central heating whilst second floor rooms have electric heaters. There is a a simple basic lift to most rooms . Our room was clean and of good size (triple used as a double) with plenty of drawer space! Floors did creak above us but hey that makes life more interesting !
The lounge which has a small bar was a bit chilly but it was cold weather. Sadly not many chose to come to the simple evening entertainment ...bingo with 6 others was a bit sad! Al;so not many came to listen to a singer guitar player . Several did however pay to go to Babbacombe theatre which is very close. There is a 8 seater other small lounge as well.
Usually in these hotels the owner or someone welcomes you etc at perhaps the first meal ..or after it and perhaps for the future the pleasant owners mighjt consider this ?
The food was for the price good ...breakfast juice or cereal and then a full English or something smaller if you wished. You pre order your meals and the evening ones again had s choice of soup or juice followed by a choice of three main courses. These were good English meals and with a vegetarian choice. My wife who is diabetic was offered fresh fruit.
The welcome booklet in the bedrooms needs updating (eg with the new proprietors names One or two amusing bits like charge for excessive use of towels made us try and guess what this meant !

All in all well done Ashley Rise and I wish you success. In these difficult economic times a clean pleasant simple hotel like this is welcome .

Room Tip: Our triple room 16 used as a double was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Summerbay Resort Hotel
#87 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#55 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#45 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#103 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#50 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Rise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Rise Hotel

Property: Ashley Rise Hotel
Address: 18 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Ashley Rise Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing