We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G&K 5 star accomidation at 4 star prices”
Review of Tyndale B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tyndale B&B
Ranked #10 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at Tyndale. Breakfasts, we compliment the owners for the excellent menu choice and top quality produce, well presented and cooked to your liking. Very attentive service by hosts. Fantastic room well appointed and tastefully furnished. Many little extra to compliment your stay. Very helpful with suggestion for attractions and dining. Very close to all amenities. The whole experience delightful, will be back.

Room Tip: You will not be disapointed with any of the rooms, just as pics but better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPB4keyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments on our breakfast choices and the overall experience you had at the b&b.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stay at the Tyndall for two days over the bank holiday weekend ( 2/04/2014) , from the moment we arrived our expectations were met and surpassed, Andy the owner greeted both me and the mrs with a smile and a genuine warm greeting, we booked this guest house on the last minute, using booking.com and got two days for a great price (very happy) , we stayed in the small double , it was plenty big enough for the two of us, modern deco , and ultra clean ,
It's the little extras that make this place stand out, things like cookies with your drinks facilities , tea , coffee and galaxy hot chocolate , extra toilet accessories, the only thing they didn't supply was toothpaste , and I bet if you asked Andy , he would sort some for you.
Breakfast was great, cereal , fresh fruit, yogurt , then full English with vegi option .
Location was ok for us as still quite young , so the walk into town wasn't a problem approximately 15 minutes, and around 10 minutes to the sea front.
All in all great stay fab place , if we go back to Torquay we will not hesitate staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate you highlighting those little extras.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Tyndall for four nights. Wow what a great experience. Right from the start we were looked after, firstly by Daniel (he is the cook) and does he cook a beautiful breakfast, there is a great selection and its cooked to perfection and then Andy who does the front of house and both of them were kind, friendly and so accommodating. They helped us with directions and suggestions for attractions around the area. Nothing was any trouble for them. Rooms and the guest house were very very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. I would stay here again without hesitation and recommend it to all. Please disregard the mention of the fitness centre I mistakenly clicked on it and could remove mention of it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

It was a pleasure having you stay with us from so far away.
Thank you for all your lovely comments on the guest house, it is always appreciated, no trouble at all passing on our knowledge of the local area.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife & I have recently returned from a 3 night stay at Tyndale. On arrival we were greeted by Andy, who greeted us in a warm , friendly and welcoming way.
Room was excellent, furnished to a very high standard with a lot of thought taken into its recent refurbishment.
At breakfast we were welcomed by Daniel in a warm friendly manner. Daniel who does the cooking of breakfast uses good quality ingredients and it was cooked to perfection, it really set us up for the day.
Andy was front of house at breakfast and has a good local knowledge and was very informative.
We cannot fault our stay at the Tyndale and will definitely return. Hope this review will not prevent us staying when we want to as I am sure that the Tyndale will become an even more popular place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REME6347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for writing the lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the newly refurbished room, we really appreciate your kind words on our breakfast, it was nice being able to pass on my local knowledge of the area at breakfast time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in this wonderful B and B. We were welcomed by Daniel who was everything a host should be, friendly, welcoming, helpful and informative. The room was spotlessly clean and really comfortable, with a lovely en suite and a very comfortable bed. The whole guest house is very tastefully decorated and we felt completely at home from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was delicious and very large portions, you won't leave hungry.
We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirteLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your lovely comments on our guest house.
Its always great to hear that our guests have the home from home fill here, thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We recently stayed at this B and B as our daughter had an overnight stay at the nearby hospital. We just needed something cheap for overnight. Wow what a pleasent surprise. The accommodation was emaculately clean and tastefully decorated. The rooms were well equipped and breakfast lovely. And the hosts friendly and accommodating. We have stayed at many expensive hotels that have not been as niceas this guesthouse. We strolled down to the sea front and Torre Abbey inbetween visiting hours a lovely location. We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone and would certainly revisit it next time we need to stay in the area.

Room Tip: We were at the front near quite a busy junction but found traffic noise minimal. The larger rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Very much appreciated for your lovely review, glad you found our b&b great value for money.
As always we do our best to keep the b&b up to a high and clean standard as possible, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just returned from our 1st Anniversary break away in Torquay. I am so glad that I picked Tyndale Guest House. The hotel is easy to find, it is just off Avenue Road. The Guest House is a ten minute walk to the front. However, we had to get taxis this weekend due to the weather. A taxi to the front is £4.60 and return later in the evening £5.60; we used the taxis Daniel recommended.

From the moment I booked I knew that we were going to have a great stay. Superb communication before the stay and we asked about places to eat they took the time to reply to my email. I asked if my room could be ready at 12pm, as we were going to watch the football. Daniel made sure that the room was ready on arrival.

We received a warm welcome from Daniel and he went through everything we needed to know and more. I like that they put a sign out to say when they are away from the Guest House with numbers on, very dedicated to their job!

Room: We stayed in Room 3, the superior room with King-size bed, sofa, large television, hairdryer, kettle, fridge (you can get fresh milk) and en-suite compromising a shower, basin and toilet. The room was immaculate and was the cleanest room we have ever stayed in. We had a great night’s sleep. The furnishing in the room was of a high standard. We heard no noise from the busy road outside and the curtains blocked out all light.

Breakfast: Excellent choice at breakfast. Fruit juices, cereals, fruit, jams, sauces. We opted for the full English both days. You can tell they use the best quality ingredients. I especially liked the crisp bread. An option of bread toasted, brown and white or you can have a mixture of both and noticed that they have a very good vegetarian breakfast. Breakfast is served by Andy. Great conversation over breakfast and recommended places to go and a fish shop to try, unfortunately it was shut on the Sunday.

If you are planning a visit to Torquay, there is no other place to stay. We are already planning our next visit. I just hope that it is not fully booked! Oh forgot to mention, very good prices and deals.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the superior room. We liked to sit down and have a coffee and tea in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

What can we say other than thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review out lining all of our furnishings etc we have on offer for our guests.
Its great that you have highlighted how close we are to the sea and as it was a bit wet the reasonably priced taxis to get you down to the harbour where there are a number of excellent restaurants.
We are always happy to assist our guests in which ever way we can from helpful information to for filling there requirements.
Thank you again, was a pleasure to meet you both, look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#18 of 150 in Torquay
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 150 in Torquay
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#13 of 150 in Torquay
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyndale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyndale B&B

Address: 68 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £81 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyndale B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star bed & breakfast offering boutique accommodation in the Heart of the English Riviera Torquay Situated within easy walking distance from Torquay sea front, harbour, town centre and Riviera Conference Centre. Tyndale is a beautiful Victorian house built around 1900 offering 4 elegant boutique double rooms for you to relax in an informal and friendly environment. All our rooms are recently refurbished to a high standard offering quality & luxurious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tyndale B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyndale B&B Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing