We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rutland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Belmont(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
35
21
10
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
21
10
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Iam hopfuly back end of feb for 5 days looking forward to going back to se them all as friends same room as last time know the food will be very good again to se tom and eve and les the very good coach driver lets hope for better weather than last time cold and rain but the main think wes the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnwithernwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve W, Manager at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thanks John for your continued support always a pleasure to see you EVE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

just got back home from the best holiday les our driver as soon I had meet him know it was going be a great holiday we did not eat at moter way services chose some very good places and the best was yet come when we arrived at the hotel meet eve and tom made you feel at home on first names .and the loverly bed room now the food just fabulous none this frozen veg and all loverly cooked and tom came round each tableto make sure you were happy with the meals I will be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank johnwithernwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve W, Manager at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thankyou so much for your lovely review John we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you next year EVE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Surprised at smallness of the room. The meals were disappointing, no fresh veg and most meals not up to acceptable standard' . would not recommend to any of my friends. The manager did not give a good impression, as he was always dressed in a football top and jeans.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank victor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve W, Manager at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Sorry that you considered your room small, most single rooms in hotels do tend to be on the small side well in older building anyway and unlike most hotels we do not charge a supplement for them, as for your comments about food maybe you would like to read the comments that I have put on your friends review. My husband Tom does often does wear jeans and football shirts mainly because some of the time he isn't actually supposed to be on duty, or he is doing maintenance work in the hotel. When he is in the dining room or bar or in the evening he changes into something more appropriate. EVE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Arrived in the hotel looking forward to dinner. Had chosen Ham with parsley sauce.
Ham was overcooked, parsley sauce had congealed, veg was out of a packet, so not a good start.
By the fourth day had decided to eat out as no meals had been served with fresh veg and none were particularly appetising.
Supposed to have a FULL English breakfast on a morning. I do not call 1 rasher ob bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg, half a slice of fried bread and 1 portion of the day's additional item a full English.
Manager complained we had kept him up late when having a drink in the bar.
Basil Fawlty did a better job.
Just want to erase this experience from my memory!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jarr0wlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve W, Manager at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi, We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us at the Rutland, but I would like to answer a few things in our defence. We definitely are a "Hotel" and have been for many years, we tick all the boxes. We provide bed, breakfast and evening meals. Our rooms are en-suite, comfortable with TV, hair dyers, and tea/coffee facilities. We provide trips out on our lovely 1 year old coach and we have some of the best entertainers on the bay.
Our ham is cooked here at the Hotel, and we often get compliments, some of our veg is frozen ie;- peas, sweetcorn, green beans and brussels, but carrots, swede, broccoli and cabbage ect are fresh each day as are our salad and fruit.
Our breakfast consists of fruit juice, various cereals, porridge, grapefruit and prunes. Then bacon, sausage and fried bread with a choice of fried, poached or scrambled eggs plus a garnish each day of beans, hash browns, tomatoes, black pudding or mushrooms. as an alternative any of these can be served on toast or we will cook kippers to order. This is followed by toast with jam and marmalade. If anyone wishes to double up on any of these they only have to ask.
As for our bar we kept it open each evening for you until 1am despite the fact that you went out each evening until almost midnight, Friday night being the exception when all the other guests had gone to bed at 11pm and we sat up and waited until nearly 12 for you to come back.
At no time during your stay did you approach us with any of your problems. EVE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just returned from our "annual" trip to the Rutland; the drive down with Les and Gwen set the scene for what we hoped would be a repeat of our previous visits, lively banter on the coach, meeting old friends and (as Les says) new friends we have yet to meet! Parting after our return home always hurts!
The atmosphere at the Rutland is always good(excellent) because of the great staff they have, I mention all of them because they do deserve it, Vicky (incredibly helpful at all times); Duncan (been there so long he is almost a permanent and very welcome fixture); Rushelle and Gavin, a really nice pair in the dining room with Graig (Chef) and Kevin (his helper) producing excellent breakfasts and dinners daily); last but not least although this time we were to see very little of Eve and Tom, the managers or Carol the owner.
Entertainment is provided every night and of course one night was a trip to Babbacombe Theatre for the very excellent summer show - don't miss it.
I have said before that the hotel is tired, our room (27) has a bath and balcony with sea views over Torbay, a superb bed and bedding but.... The carpet was burnt by a careless guest's improper use of an iron before the first time we ever stayed - the scorch mark is still there and the carpet itself is extremely worn and dirty. Another guest has detailed the work needed in showers and baths and bathroom fittings and it really seems that some investment now really needs to be made to remedy some of the more obvious failings - please.
We love the place and it's people, and we would/will be prepared to pay a little more per week for these "repairs" and replacements to be effected, and "dear reader" do not be put off, the Rutland family are perfect hosts not just for us "oldies" but for families too.

Room Tip: All are good, some are better than average
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve W, Manager at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi John Thankyou for your wonderful feedback, sorry Tom and I were not here for part of your stay, but as you say you were in good hands, it is because Duncan and Vicky are so good at their jobs that we are able to leave the Rutland in their capable hands. We do realise that hotel is looking tired this year but the recession has had this effect on most establishments such as ours. I'm afraid when money is tight it is peoples leisure time that suffers most and that includes holidays. However with the sunshine summer we have had this year an a slight upturn in business this season we are hoping that better times are ahead and we can get back on track in the near future. Look forward to seeing you next time EVE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews