We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, good grub.”
Review of The Buccaneer Inn

The Buccaneer Inn
Ranked #29 of 343 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A great Pub that does excellent value and quality 'Pub Food' with its own twist. Winner of St. Austell Brewery 'Cask Ale pub of the year 2012'. Recommended in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2014.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely views, good grub.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This pub sits just across the road from the cliffs, it has the most wonderful views. We sat outside, nice and clean. Inside is also clean. Ordered food which was tasty and just the right amount. Prices are good and staff friendly. Well done.
We would eat there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knocker874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    109
    27
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Snack”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great place to take the children. My son loved the pirate hate but I did think £78 for lunch and drinks a little steep

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fab pub.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

situated on the downs youcan be justsitting out enjoying a drink breathing in the atmosphere,a good range of beers to choose from,fab food at fantastic prices.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank angie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to relax”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Relaxed place , busy but still served with a smile and nice atmosphere , food ok would come back again when in the area

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Khdaota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Super, smashing, great !”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We called today after missing our lunch. The pub is in the main street with stunning veiws out to sea. We chose to sit inside. The menu was extensive, burgers, salads, steaks and traditional pub type food.
Our little boy ordered the cottage pie with peas, it was a large portion served with peas. The creamy mash was sat upon tasty beef, bursting with, dare I say it in a kids meal....vegetables.
My husband and I chose burgers a lamb burger with a mint and yogurt dressing and a beef burger with smoked cheese and bbq sauce. We cut them in half and shared. They came with chips and a lovely dressed salad. The bill for 3 meals with an extra portion of cheesy chips and coleslaw and 3 pints of diet coke was just less than £30.
The service was fine, the food very good, the location stunning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salamandaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buccaneer Inn also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing