We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasue at the seaside!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ansteys Lea Hotel
Ranked #126 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Torquay is a vibrant seaside resort with so much to do, regardless of the weather. We stayed at Anstey Lea in Wells wood which is a lovely area and much sort after. The hotel is close to Anstey Cove, Kent's Cavern and the next road down has a number of shops and restaurants.
The hotel is an old Victorian build and is lovely from the outside. On entering the building it is rather tired, however the family suite we stayed in was unbelievable! Recently refurbished, it has two rooms each with a bathroom on suite. One room sleeps two and the other sleeps three. One bathroom has a bath and shower, and the other a shower. There is a small diningroom and a fair size lounge and small kitchenette.

The rate is extremely reasonable for what you are getting. It is modern and fresh and my teenage daughter loved it. I can highly recommend the self catering apartment.

The owner was away, however his mother and daughter were very friendly and went out of their way to assist.

Room Tip: Request family suite 1- large and sunny with high ceilings.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvetteStembridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for The Ansteys Lea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

Sorry, but in these modern times when one books a couple of rooms over the web one does not expect an e-mail three days before you are scheduled to arrive that advises you they have had a request to increase the size of a party and they are palming you off somewhere else. Does one get a say in it - simple answer no!

Added to this the hotel's own website is now SIX years out of date that s-i-x and shows that they have a pool - this they do not! I am glad they cannot accommodate us as I would have been making a swift departure as really the hotels website seem to me to fail to describe the product exactly.

I am aggrieved but have found a suitable alternative that I will report on later. Just to reitterate don't judge this hotel on its website www.ansteyslea.co.uk or you may de disappointed (even the owner admits that its way out of date) but he cannot get it updated.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank paulnpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I recently stayed at The Ansteys Lea Hotel and thought it was great. Lovely spacious room, freshly decorated complete with a great view. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Wonderful loction with shops, restaraunts, beaches, leisure complex etc all well within a ten minute walk. Will definitely stay again next time we're down!

Thankyou so much for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Confirm whether you want to opt for self cartering or not as these are both available.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlefootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We had a friends wedding in Teignmouth at the weekend and having looked at Travelodges etc in the area and not being impressed with the prices for what are basic rooms, we decided to search for something more useful for 9 people (4 adults, 3 teenagers, 1 child and a baby). We found the Ansteys Lea by chance and decided that the family rooms with breakfast would be OK. Phoned up and spoke to the owner to book 2 rooms for Friday and Saturday nights. £100.00 per room per night was a little more than we had hoped to pay, but the recent TripAdvisor reports were very favourable, so we bit the bullet.

Arriving on the Friday evening were greeted and shown to our 'room'. The only thing I could think of was WOW. The 'room' consisted of a lounge area with large flat screen TV, two leather sofas, a small dining table and a fairly generous kitchenette with oven, microwave,fridge and kettle. Adjoining this was a twin bedded room with it's own en-suite and another TV. Just off the main living area was another room, this time the double, again with en-suite and yet another TV. All of the suite was very clean and tidy and very well presented. After our evening out with friends it was a pleasure to return to our rooms.
Breakfast was included and there was ample choice of cereals, nicely cooked breakfasts and a seemingly unlimited amount of toast.

It is apparant that there has been a lot of recent work on the hotel and it shows. Our daughter and son in law who were the other half of our party, have already changed their plans for their wedding anniversay trip and are returning instead to the Ansteys Lea.

Photos are of the two bedrooms in the suite.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilsalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I've stayed here a few times. It's great value and the staff are very friendly. They have also recently renovated the hotel and the rooms are now top notch. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

stayed in self catering appartments,like brand new flat,nicely decorated and very practical,quiet location,booked again for next easter.we are a family with children

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChertseyCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed here with friends, had a great stay. The hotel had been refurbished since my last stay we had a lovely new bathroom and a great home cooked breakfast. Have booked for the summer the new self-catering apartment which is very luxurious and spacious and looking forward to another stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexdel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,946 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 87 in Torquay
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#103 of 149 in Torquay
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cary Arms & Spa
Cary Arms & Spa
#23 of 149 in Torquay
814 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ansteys Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ansteys Lea Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ansteys Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ansteys Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ansteys Lea Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing