We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brampton Court Hotel

Brampton Court Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brampton Court Hotel
Ranked #141 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Staying 3 nights at end of July.

Pros:

Good food, good cheerful service.

Cons:

Decor is very tired
They allow stag/hen parties (OK if you're with them, irritating if you want a nice weekend with wife and kids)
Hard beds

The hotel is at the top of a big hill with lots of steps. Great if you want to burn some calories, not so great if you have limited mobility but to be fair, it does say so on the website.

We have room 2, a room for a family of 4 overlooking the beach. Unfortunately, it also overlooks the beer garden which was in use until the early hours. The en-suite bathroom is about 3' x 10'. It's basically one end of the room turned into a bathroom with some plasterboard walls and some plumbing. Still, it's functional but if you want to bend down to wash your face in the sink, you need to open the door. More amusing than problematic.

We would certainly stay here again through the week but would avoid it at weekends when you will be kept awake by drunks and then have to suffer them swearing all through breakfast. I think it would be ten times better if the landlord stopped trying to impress everyone with his questionable talent for comedy and focused on the comfort of all parties by asking guests to leave their rowdiness and language in the pub.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

we have just arrived back from a 2 night stay at the Brampton Court and must say we will return.
the hotel is on the top of very steep winding roads with brilliant views over Torquay and Paignton.
not the place to stay if you have walking difficuilties as the quickest route to the centre of Torquay can be reached by a very steep lane of approx 250 steps. the staff at the hotel are brilliant, very friendly and welcoming. we had some good laughs with Nigel, Graham aka Basil Fawlty, Phil,Sarah and their wonderful children. you will need to have a sense of humour if visiting the hotel as Graham, Nigel and Phil love a bit of banter with their guests and although some people in recent comments have felt insulted and offended there is no malice in what these guys have to say. the hotel bar is reasonably priced and we had a few laughs with other guests as Basil went about his antics. breakfast is great with a choice of fruit, cereals, full English with of course Basils favourite line do you want White, Brown or toast with green bits with your breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leighton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Nice friendly owners and staff, super accommodating and great food all at great prices, stayed twice for work with staff now and keeping it as a regular on our books!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PancakeBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel in second week of March. May I just say the room was exquisite. Extremely clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and helpful The breakfast was excellent. What more can you ask for for one night, a couple and only £40. Bargain!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Venetia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed for just a night here and basically got on fine.

The man who runs it can be a little over the top with the humour, but we were prepared for this having read the reviews and we took it in the spirit it was meant. Not the place to stay, though, if you are easily offended or after something very quiet and romantic.

The room was a double and was OK. It looked a little dated and at first I thought the bed was going to be too soft but I have to say I had the most fantastic night's sleep. If anything I slept even better than at home - not sure why but no complaints there! Bathroom was tiny but functional. TV was modern and had freeview and there were good tea and coffee making facilities. There is a great view over Torquay and the sea.

There was a hen night going on there but despite this, we weren't woken at all by any noise. I think the walls joining the rooms must be pretty thin, though, as we could hear the people in the room next door when they went into the bathroom - not so pleasant and a bit embarrassing!

Breakfast was fantastic and included in the price - we really couldn't complain at all. The fried bread was too greasy for me but the rest was lovely, well cooked and plentiful.

I probably wouldn't stay here for a main summer holiday, but all in all, for a short stay, we were very happy with it. If I wanted a night or two in Torquay I would be happy to return here, particularly for the price.

Room Tip: We were at the end of a corridor which I suspect is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

As the cheapest hotel I found in Torquay you will certainly get what you pay for.

The whole place is very tired, in need of more than just a lick of paint to get rid of the damp smell and the plumbing just about works.

The greasiest fried bread I have ever tasted.

The barman found it very hard to keep his disagreeable opinions to himself,

Room Tip: Best tip, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

i stayed here initially for a couple of days but felt so welcome i had to stay the rest of the week, great hosts, food to die for and a bloomin great time, well done all . i will be stayng ther from now on when i get to Torquay

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#30 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#100 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#98 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brampton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brampton Court Hotel

Property: Brampton Court Hotel
Address: St. Lukes Road South, Torquay TQ2 5NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:2 star — Brampton Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run hotel in a peaceful location overlooking Torbay. Just a short walk to all amenities but with the added benefit of a tranquil location and stunning views. All rooms are en-suite and non-smoking (smoking is permitted in designated areas of the hotel). The hotel bar is open throughout the day until late offering a relaxed, informal environment in which to make the most of your break. Set evening meals and bar snacks are available. Pre-book evening meals to receive a discounted rate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brampton Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing