We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A family run economy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brampton Court Hotel

Brampton Court Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brampton Court Hotel
Ranked #141 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A family run economy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Brampton court is a economy hotel situated about a mile from Torquay harbourside. I requested for the sea view room and got one in the loft. The room was very clean with comfortable beds,a chair,a table,a wall cupboard,and a chest drawer. A part of the room was converted into bathroom.The hotel had communal iron and iron board and ,ladies you need to take your own hair dryer as its not provided in the room.Honestly i booked this hotel as it was quite cheap and considering that I got impressed with the room and the service.The managers are very friendly and jolly. For one night ,the central heating was not working due to any fault but the managers sorted the issue asap. The hotel is uphill from the harbour and most of the times we walked down and took taxi to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in second or first floor preferably a sea view room,if you like to have a good view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puneet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I went to this hotel with my boyfriend as a one night stop over after a few weeks on mainland England before travelling back to the Isle of Wight.

The first thing I will say is; this is a 2* hotel. If you are looking for luxury or "bows and whistles" then this isn't the place for you.

The hotel is set high above the town centre of Torquay with beautiful veiws of the harbour down the hillside which you are able to veiw from the dining room & lounge which is fantastic to watch as you feast on a sumptuous breakfast cooked to (in my eyes) perfection. Most 3* hotels and B&B's only offer a full english. Here we had a choice of plenty of other lighter options including the usual fruit & cereal as well as boiled eggs, beans on toast plus a few other alternatives. The tea, coffee and orange is plentiful and very nice.

The rooms, although basic, were comfortable, clean and contained everything you need including freeveiw TV (which some B&B's are still not offering).

The staff were all very friendly and gave a warm welcome upon arrival and a lovely fond farewell on departure too. It made us feel like one of the family which really helps make you feel more comfortable.

All in all, a great hotel with character and we will definitely be back for stop overs on route through mainland again. Thank you for your great service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just returned home from a lovely long weekend away at this wonderful hotel. The staff were really friendly and accommodating and the breakfast and the room was very good. The location is ideal as it is fairly quiet but with some wonderful views over the harbour. Shopping, restaurantsand the harbour are nearby. Will certainly be returning again. Thank you Phil and Sarah for a lovely visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is the second time I have booked this hotel for a one night stay and I have to say felt welcome from the moment we stepped into the door. Obviously you get what you pay for, room was clean and tidy, staff were present and breakfast was fresh. We defiantly book again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Lee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Had a fantastic stay and the hosts Phil & Sarah were first class. Lovely choice of breakfast everyday and nice bar with a good selection of drinks. If you don`t mind walking up and down a few hilly roads this is an ideal hotel to stay with. Close to the harbour and shopping nearby. Will come back again as they make you feel at home.Thanks for agreat 4 days me and my family had. Steve & Jane Olloman

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed for just a night here and basically got on fine
Breakfast was fantastic and included in the price - we really couldn't complain at all. The fried bread was too greasy for me but the rest was lovely, well cooked and plentiful.
Nice friendly owners and staff,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My brother and I both stayed here for two nights on a little Jolly boys outing. Brampton court was only intended to be a place to lay our head, but we found the staff and building to be so friendly and accommodating that we found ourselves spending most of our time there.
We are both in the trade and each run our own hotels, therefore we can fully appreciate the levels that all of the staff/owners go to and hospitality shown.

Thank you all for the warmth, humour and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.0 mi away
Court Prior
Court Prior
#64 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#32 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#106 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brampton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brampton Court Hotel

Property: Brampton Court Hotel
Address: St. Lukes Road South, Torquay TQ2 5NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:2 star — Brampton Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run hotel in a peaceful location overlooking Torbay. Just a short walk to all amenities but with the added benefit of a tranquil location and stunning views. All rooms are en-suite and non-smoking (smoking is permitted in designated areas of the hotel). The hotel bar is open throughout the day until late offering a relaxed, informal environment in which to make the most of your break. Set evening meals and bar snacks are available. Pre-book evening meals to receive a discounted rate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brampton Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing