We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

hotel was really clean staff were really great especiallly una who was are waitress i am ceoliac and she really new what i could and could not eat nothing was to much trouble for her and the staff. hotel was near to town centre just ten minute walk, also plenty of places you can go to on local busses we used are bus passes.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lavent83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    128
    62
    27
    20
See reviews for
41
154
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I spent 5 days at the Seascape and enjoyed it immensely, room was spotless , the cleaner could not do enough for you, all the staff were friendly and very helpful, food was excellent, good entertainment at night.
It might be a 2 star hotel but the service is 5 star. Well done to the staff and management.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcpommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nothanks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

After reading the many reviews with regards to the Seacape Hotel, Torquay I was spurred to write one of my own. I and my husband stayed at this hotel in July 2010 with a large tour group organised by Newmarket Holidays. On arrival our bags were quickly taken to our rooms and at reception the staff gave us our keys. Dinner was at 18.30, and served downstairs, with seating arrangements of 2 or 4 people to a table. The service was fast and efficient.
The rooms at the hotel are comfortable, with tv, and en suite. We were lucky enough to have a sea view (albeit the sea was some way off). The hotel have a 'no smoking' policy in the rooms, which is an excellent idea. I understand they had a fire there some years ago and do not want a repetition! This does annoy some people especially smokers who now have to go outside. SHAME..
The hotel was built in 1856 so it is certainly not the Ritz, and does have some internal problems, as mentioned in some reviews. The squeeky floorboards, and many hallways and landings. However, firstly if you want to book your own hotel then DON'T GO ON A COACH TRIP, and secondly if you want the Hilton then pay Hilton prices.
Stop moaning and get on with your life... if you have one. Judging by some of the comments you don't have one!
The tour company we travelled with are good, not excellent. The price we paid for our holiday was fair. Even the entrance costs to the Eden Project and Heligan Gardens was included!!
On our holiday there were some downside to it, especially the coach which many found uncomfortable, with no toilet or drinks machine. The tour manager did a great job, and gave us plenty of stops to use the facilities and was very organised. He gave us loads of information about everything, so no moans there. The coach driver Terry, a gentleman who helped us enormously.
So, the Seascape Hotel, Torquay is good value for money, you must take the price into consideration for the benefits received. I have only one more gripe and that was we had to travel 2 hours to get to Cornwall....Mind you it was a pleasant trip. Thanks for reading my review. I will certainly use this hotel again if I go to Torquay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank honypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

A very clean hotel but so very cold, there was heating but it wasn't put on early enough. The resturant was freezing, looking forward to a full English breakfast, we were told no tomatoes or mushrooms on the menu !!! next day no baked beans either, egg bacon and fried bread was what you got. Squeaky floor boards were so bad we were very glad to leave after two nights. Staff were very pleasant. Not a lot to do except shopping in the Winter months as the attractions were closed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boffity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We found the Staff including the Owners of the hotel to be very eager to fulfill all of our requests . The accomodation was warm very clean and comfy , meals where home cooked and all of a good quality .
There was entertainment provided each afternoon /evening during our stay over Christmas .
We would certainly recommend it to friends and hope to visit again .

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddie1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2010

i visited this hotel as a mystery trip by a coach company from northampton with my mum .when we arrived we was met by the staff who gave us our key all seemed friendly we had dinner which was very nice and plenty of it entertainment was on most evenings which was good we had tea and coffe making in the room and a hair dryer a shower all of which was very clean the room was kept clean daily all in all would recommend it to anyone .Excellent value for money will visit again next year.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

we had a bad journey by coach thats another story ?::~~hotel was clean and warm staff was friendly the views from dining area and bar was good the food breakfast was very good and plentyful but evening meal ?? small portion of meat , chicken ; fish, veg and pots were not enough to feed a toddler . entertainment at night was good but on last night there was nothing on, we will stay again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nifty50wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#53 of 87 in Torquay
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,747 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 87 in Torquay
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing