We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Great food, Great holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #42 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great food, Great holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend in June, all i can say is..........it was lovely. We went on a 3 night coach trip over a weekend and really enjoyed what Torquay has to offer. The hotel is in a great location, 2 minutes to town, 5 monutes to the seafront and 20 minutes to the marina.
We had a double room with a view of the gardens will were well manicured.
Our room was cleaned daily to a high standard, and the communial areas of the hotel were comfortable & well presented. Meals were great and service in the restaurant was second to none. We also met the hotel manager on several occasions, who was so professional, she even visited our table at breakfast to check we were enjoying our stay.
I cant believe visitors are moaning about smoking, Torquay or this hotel are not the only places to enforce smoking limitations - the whole of the U.k has !!!!
Enjoy your stay at the Seascape and Torquay - no need to worry, we'll be back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Globetrotter85186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to submit a great review, we do appreciate your comments regarding the staff and the high quality of food. We are also glad you enjoyed what the English Riviera has to offer!!

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    124
    60
    27
    20
See reviews for
41
151
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We had a wonderful time here. We were with a coach holiday. Our room had a lovely sea view. It was well decorated with colour co-ordinated cutains, bed spreads, chairs etc. It was very clean and was cleaned every day- one day before we had returned from breakfast. Bathroom was small but adequate and clean. Floorboards do squeak a bit but no more than in my home.
Breakfasts were plentiful and well cooked. Dinner was good plain cooking with a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian. The apple pie is to die for. Our waitress was very quick and friendly.
We could hear the entertainment in our room but that saved us going down. All the main parts of the hotel were clean and well decorated.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor at back have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SharonWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Rooms are below poor with cheap timber at back of headboard.
Staff can only do what they are told to do.
The meals are small and you have NO chance of seconds.
Soup of the day is what was left over from the night before, trust me.
It cost me £3.20 for 2 halves of guiness only to find out it from a can when there was a pump on the bar.
The floorboards well that is another story, squeek squeek squeek squeek every footstep.
This was in all the corridores, bedrooms, toilets even in the bed.
My last word is read all the reviews do not rely on there pictures

Room Tip: Don't think they have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pappy2149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Downham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

stayed at this hotel on a coach trip read previous remarks about smoking but they should be more concerned about three fire doors permently wedged open all the time we were there food was tasteless and small portions floorboards were a nightmare bathroom measured 29 inches depth take of toilet roll holder and towel rail left 21inches to sit down on the loo noise from the entertainment was so loud you could not hear your tv and you could hear next door snoring all night half hour journey to town which is empty after five thirty rooms not cleaned properly in all felt like an old peoples home and looked nothing like internet photos save your money and dont go

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blue670201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

hotel was really clean staff were really great especiallly una who was are waitress i am ceoliac and she really new what i could and could not eat nothing was to much trouble for her and the staff. hotel was near to town centre just ten minute walk, also plenty of places you can go to on local busses we used are bus passes.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lavent83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

I spent 5 days at the Seascape and enjoyed it immensely, room was spotless , the cleaner could not do enough for you, all the staff were friendly and very helpful, food was excellent, good entertainment at night.
It might be a 2 star hotel but the service is 5 star. Well done to the staff and management.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcpommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nothanks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

After reading the many reviews with regards to the Seacape Hotel, Torquay I was spurred to write one of my own. I and my husband stayed at this hotel in July 2010 with a large tour group organised by Newmarket Holidays. On arrival our bags were quickly taken to our rooms and at reception the staff gave us our keys. Dinner was at 18.30, and served downstairs, with seating arrangements of 2 or 4 people to a table. The service was fast and efficient.
The rooms at the hotel are comfortable, with tv, and en suite. We were lucky enough to have a sea view (albeit the sea was some way off). The hotel have a 'no smoking' policy in the rooms, which is an excellent idea. I understand they had a fire there some years ago and do not want a repetition! This does annoy some people especially smokers who now have to go outside. SHAME..
The hotel was built in 1856 so it is certainly not the Ritz, and does have some internal problems, as mentioned in some reviews. The squeeky floorboards, and many hallways and landings. However, firstly if you want to book your own hotel then DON'T GO ON A COACH TRIP, and secondly if you want the Hilton then pay Hilton prices.
Stop moaning and get on with your life... if you have one. Judging by some of the comments you don't have one!
The tour company we travelled with are good, not excellent. The price we paid for our holiday was fair. Even the entrance costs to the Eden Project and Heligan Gardens was included!!
On our holiday there were some downside to it, especially the coach which many found uncomfortable, with no toilet or drinks machine. The tour manager did a great job, and gave us plenty of stops to use the facilities and was very organised. He gave us loads of information about everything, so no moans there. The coach driver Terry, a gentleman who helped us enormously.
So, the Seascape Hotel, Torquay is good value for money, you must take the price into consideration for the benefits received. I have only one more gripe and that was we had to travel 2 hours to get to Cornwall....Mind you it was a pleasant trip. Thanks for reading my review. I will certainly use this hotel again if I go to Torquay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank honypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing