We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“down in the crypt”
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
herts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“down in the crypt”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Well we have just come back from this appalling holiday,we were given room 69, well it was in the bowels of the earth,four floors down and 35 steps to get to the room had a window that was high up so we couldn't open it or see out of it and when we got on the bed to see what we were looking at we were well below ground level with a brick wall a few feet away from us we could see the backs of the coaches that were parked at the back of the hotel high above us what a dump, dreadful place avoid rooms 69 to 76 you think that you have been buried alive,we had to get up to the meal with all our coats and key because of the distance you had to walk Fancy putting two 80 years olds down there !!!!! where is the sense in that ? we shall never go back,the food was so-so the toilet rolls were 4" wide and was in a machine that gave you about 3 sheets at a time (false economy) but then again the hotel was run on that.
Tv you had to pay £10 deposit for the remote, rubber mat for the shower you had to ask for but we couldn't as we couldn't keep running up and down the floors and steps. Going down to the crypt we had to take our case down there ourselves we couldn't believe it as the bannister ran out and we had to carry the case and bags on our own down there it was so dangerous, how these owners have run that hotel without there being some accidents I dont know, take your own teabags as there wont be enough in your room and boy you need a cup after the trek getting down there, we didn't know until the night before we came home that it was supposed to be a Tinsel and Turkey what a laugh not much diffence from the rest of the nights.Shame as we love Torquay still there are plenty of hotels there that would be glad of your business steer clear of this one . RUBBISH

Room Tip: dont take any rooms that start from 69.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debrapaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

I apologise that you were given a room with steps to your room, however the coach operater you booked with is fully aware that any low floor requests should be stated on the rooming list and that the hotel only has a lift in the main building. Unfortunately we do not know from a rooming list the age of the guests.
If this problem had been brought to our attantion during your stay with us we would our upmost to resolve the problem and relocate you to a room with lift access. We do also take cases to the rooms on the request of the guest which you are told on your greeting speech on the coach!!
We do charge a £10.00 REFUNDABLE deposit for the remotes as when we upgraded our TVs we only had approx 10 left from the 60 bedrooms!! We do not keep the rubber matts within the rooms as we disinfect them all after each use, and walking to the reception to request one is not required as you can contact reception from the telephone within your room.
The tea & coffee facilities are replenished on a daily basis by the room attendants.
I do not feel you had a candlelit dinner with all the trimmings everyday throught your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    129
    62
    28
    22
See reviews for
42
154
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Clean, friendly, warm hotel. Good home cooked food - plenty of food. Good holiday, thank you

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hitchinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

I would like to that you for taking the time to write a positive review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have just returned from Seascape Hotel on a holiday with Just Go.We couldn't fault the travel arrangements or the hotel. The staff were helpful and very cheerful, the food was excellent and if one wanted more it was given willingly. They catered for a man sitting at our table who had special dietary needs without any problem.I couldn't fault the organisation at meal times, there was plenty of space and the waitresses were quick and very pleasant.Would certainly be our choice for another holiday in Torquay.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor was very good, quiet and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thhank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy that you found the staff to be efficient and the food to a high standard. We always try to ensure our guests have a lovely holiday and its always nice to have a positive review.

We hope that you come & visit us agian soon.

Many thanks & Kind Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The hotel was within walking distance of the sea front, 15 mins walk, we are pensioners and it took us 40mins to return to the hotel, we could have got on a bus and traveled free with our passes.
About 10mins walk to the shops.
The hotel did have creaking floorboards but it wasn't a problem.
It was clean and nicely decorated, the staff helpful.

At breakfast we had to order the evening meal, this caused much merriment on our table, we were sharing with two women who enlivened our meal times, the soup was the only awful course, it was powdered and not mixed in properly, I only had that once.

The other starters were good, the vegetables were fresh and tasty, as were the potatoes and chips. I ate mainly salads, they were crisp and fresh.
The puddings were usually served with custard, lovely sponges. I had gateau one evening and the waitress got me icecream, so we could get variations.

The entertainment in the evenings wasn't very good, but we did have a coach trip to the theatre at Babbacombe to see 'Heatwave'.... it was Excellent... I have never laughed so much, thoroughly enjoyed that.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 53 very very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank appletree80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review. We do our best to ensure our guests enjoy thier stay with us.
We always try to improve the hotel where needed the soup is now only made from from fresh produce and we have also had a few new entertainers performing for us.

Thanks again we hope to see you again.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I am not sure that we were staying at the same hotel as others who had previously stayed at the Seascape Hotel because we found that our 4 night stay here last week was real value for money.
The breakfast and 4 course dinners were more than adequate, from both the quality and quantity aspect (and I am big guy who enjoys his food!!!).
The service in the dining room was excellent and I found all the staff to be polite and efficient.
With regards to squeaking floorboards, yes they were evident but if you want to avoid these then expect to pay considerably more for your stay in a 4 star hotel or a solid floor in more modern hotels.
We were on a coach tour operated by Urquart Travel and we would certainly travel with them to this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HofIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate that you took the time to review the hotel.

We hope to see you on an Urquharts tour again in the near future

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

the bathroom only contained a toilet and a shower and my husband said where do i shave oh well look over there at the bottom of the bed oh my its a sink to wash in and to also wash your coffee cups in not good as for dinner 1st night i had what sounded nice steak and ale pie NOT it was soggey pastry and tined meat and my husband had a quarter of a mackrel fillet next day you could only have tom and mushroons every other day and for dinner fishpie was so dry and sunday was beef or pasta which was also dry. and the pillows on the bed were so hard i had to go and buy my own make what you want of these comments the barman only spoke on the last day as he thought he would get a tip

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however i would like to take this oppertunity to stress that NO tinned meat is used within this establishment we have all our FRESH meat delibvered daily by our local butcher (LG Palk).
As for the breakfast choices it does clearly state on the bottom of the menu that the extras of the day are the chefs choice, which we alternate as not every guest wants to eat tomatoes or mushrooms daily.
If you had reported any problems with your pillows to either the recption or your room attendant they would have gladly changed them for you.

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

stayed for 5 nights with just go holidays room very clean if a little small, food was good first 2 nights then went downhill every thing was served using all the leftovers I know they cant afford to waste food but you could predict what would be on the menu with what was left over the bathroom was very tiny know where to put anything , I could understand what people meant about squeking floorboards ,reception /management a bit dffhand.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank yellow2947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for you review I am sad to hear that you found the food to be poor towards the end of your stay, however we do not use left overs and the food is cooked fresh by chefs on a daily basis.
I do understand the floor boards creak but you do have to appreciate that the building is over 100yrs old.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
934 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ashton Court
Ashton Court
#10 of 11 in Exmouth
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing