We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #42 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night break(Monday-Friday)at the Seascape with Caledonian travel. Everything was fine, our room(no 23)had everything we needed. It is a large room with a double and single bed and a large shower room with walk in shower (No seaview unfortunately but very nice, handy for the stairs and quiet)
The meals were all really good, full English breakfast and 3 choices of starter, main course and sweet on an evening. Our waiter Billy was brilliant, very helpful and pleasant at all times.All the staff were very nice, couldn't fault any of them.
It was our first visit to Torquay and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, there is plenty to do and see and the scenery is lovely

Room Tip: I would suggest a first floor room as I think they have been refurbished recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for posting such a postive and for uploading your photos. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed on your positive comments to the staff especially Billy.
We do hope that this was a first of many trips to Torquay & The Seascape Hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    124
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
41
151
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed at the hotel in september,room very good, floor boards did creaked but it is an old hotel very helpful staff could not do enough for you ,very helpful in the restaurant ,food very good.Bedroon nicely decorated.Would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 362RoseS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your review we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You are very right the floor boards creak as the building was built in 1800's, as i have said before we feel it adds character.
I have passed on your positive comments towards the food and staff on to all.
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and we shall look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

the hotel was very basic but very old fashoined we had to use the same towels for 4 days they only got changed when i went to reception to complain i was told if the cleaners thought your towels were clean they wouldnt change them i think when theyv been used for 4 days they are dirty floor boards very noisey on a positive note the food waiter billy was a gem and was very cheery but if i ever go back to tourquay i would not use this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review, however i am amazed that you have posted a comment about the floor boards being dirty? I would love to know how you have established this point as the hotel is carpeted throughout, unless in your spare time you manged to take up the carpet, and even if you did you would find that the floor boards are not dirty at all. The hotel is an old fashioned building as it was built in the 1800's but the interior is neutral and clean and compliments the character of the building.
The towels do get changed if they are dirty but we do follow the 'help the enviroment' scheme so they will not get changed unnecessarily.

Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the beach and shops, all downhill. All areas clean throughout, staff friendly & helpful. Alas very creaky floorboards, especially in hallways outside bedroom door. My bedroom was neat & clean & comfortable, compact but down stairs looking on to 3 walls!! So very little light and overlooked by other bedroom windows. Bathroom with shower also very clean.
Good selection of juices, cereals & cooked food for breakfast. Dinner menu is basic but adequate.
I was there with a coach trip, another larger coach trip there at the same time - in spite of this meals were timeously served.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rambler017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, unfortunately all the rooms do not have open views and large windows but we do make ensure all the rooms despite thier location are maintained to a high standard.
Thank you also for you comments towards the waiting staffs service, they do work very hard to provide an efficient and friendly service.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August 2012 the room was clean and comfortable all the staff were friendly and could not be more helpful,the food was good and so was the entertainment on the 2 nights.
Yes there was a few creaking floor boards but only in the passage ways not in our room.
We had a very enjoyable stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BikerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Reviewer

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on The Seascape Hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be clean and offering good food and service. It always makes our job worth while when we hear that our guests enjoy our hospitality.

Once again i would like to thank you for your review and we will look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed at the Seascape on a 5 day Urquhart tour. We found the hotel good value. We had two rooms on the 1st floor, near the lift.(dodgy knee) with a seaview. Our room had been nicely refurbished and had double glazing. Small bathroom with shower cabinet. Everywhere was spotless. Tea and coffee replenished daily.The famous creaking floorboards still there, hiding under the new carpet. As the front door is locked at 7p.m.,each room has a front door key. We enjoyed the meals, professionally served by Nula. The dining room has large windows with a great view of the sea. and is entered by steps down ,or a lift.The hotel is on a hill, with Torquay amenities about 10 mins. downhill.Harbour and large stores further on.We returned uphill ,by taxi,( £4.50). from the harbour.Smokers'Area is on the lounge balcony,with a good view of the sea. Non-smokers, sometimes joined the group to admire the view.The hotel bar opens at 5p.m.and was closed, when a large number our coachparty returned from Babbacome Theatre, about 11p.m. Shock! All the staff were friendly and hardworking. One said, when thanked," It's our job to look after you and see you enjoy your holiday".We certainly enjoyed our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alice183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful and hardworking. I have passed on your positive comments to Nula.
Im sorry that the bar was closed on your return from the theatre this is a very rare occurance but on your particular stay there was no guests in the bar from 7.45pm so on this occasion it was not cost effective to keep the bar manager on until 11pm.
Thank you also for you comments regading the hotels cleanliness and decor we work tirlessly to maintain the hotel to a high standard and the postive comments are always welcomed with open arms.
We do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel during August of 2012 and we found the hotel to be probably the best 2 star hotel we have stayed in. From the moment we walked in we felt at home as the entire staff team were warm and polite throughout our stay and or waitress Penny is a credit to the hotel (she deserves to do well in what ever she does). The entire hotel and our room (65) was exceptionally clean throughout. The menu whilst a little basic at times was adequate and the food was of a very high standard. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thecrooner503907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review, it always makes our job a little easier when our efforts are appreciated.
We do pride ourselves on the hotels cleanliness and we welcome any praise for this. Most of our team have been with us for along time which creates a warm family style atmosphere, along with the fact that the hotel is infact a family run establishment.
I have passed on your comments regarding the food and the service to the staff.

We do hope that you return to see us soon, thank you once again for a fantasic review.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing