We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It aint alf ot mum!”
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It aint alf ot mum!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel with just-go on a long weekend. It was excellent value, the food was good. One of us is a coeliac and was very pleased with the food she was given. The waiting staff were polite and fast. We were not convinced about the manageresses attitude when we arrived but having lived in Devon know that the people can come across as abrupt.
Our room was too hot for us with no adjustment possible on the radiator, we kept the window open all the time even though it was very cold outside. There was not much pressure on the shower and the bathroom fan was noisier than is usual. The room and hotel were clean but the creaking floorboards were a problem at night! as was the daily roadsweeper at 5.30am! especially with the window open.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review the I am pleased that one of your party are happy with thier coeliac choices, and that you found the waiting staff to be polite & efficient.
I am sorry that you found the manager to be abrupt, however i would like to point out that the Manager (myself) is Northan so unless you got confussed with another member of staff? Again i am sorry that you felt this way about one of my team.
The reason that there is no option to turn down the radiators idividually is due to the boiler being a very large volume system and trvs are not compatable with them. However the heating does not go on throughout the night as at home it is on a timer.
Unfortunately i can not do alot about the road sweepers.
Thank you again for your report and please that you found the hotel to be 'excellent value & good food'.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    132
    62
    28
    23
See reviews for
42
157
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just got back from windy Torquay, on a just-go coach trip. Room was spotlessly clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, really could not have done more for us. If forced to find fault I'd have preferred to have a cheese course option with dinner, but you can't have everything ;-)
Thanks for a lovely weekend, pound for pound you cannot go wrong.
Suspect the comments logged earlier may be from our disgruntled coach driver.....all I can say us that does not reflect our experience if this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Coachtripper001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. I am so pleased that you found the hotel 'great value & our team of staff to be fantastic'. I have passed on your review to all the staff and told them to keep up the good work! :)
Thank you also for supporting us with the below review from the coach driver, since my response to his post i have since learnt that he has been dismissed from his duties within the company.

We do hope that if you return to Torquay again that you will come and stay with us.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

my husband sister brother inlaw and i have just been to torquy with just go holidays staying at the seascape hotel we stayed in soon 4 we had a lovely sea view the room was warm and comfortable yes the floor boards creak but what do you expect from an old building the staff are very friendly and helpful my brother inlaw needs gluten free food no problem just mention to staff we had brilliant entertainment thursday we danced had a raffle and a lot of fun all round a great time was had thanks seascape

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t1l2t3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you very much for you review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed our entertaiment and you found the hotel clean, comfortable and warm.

We do hope that you will be coming to stay with us again in the near future.

Thanks again

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We have returned home from seascape hotel, room5 & it was wonderful holiday, the room was clean & warm with a sea view. The staff couldn,t do enough four u, very friendly, our waitress was greek & full of fun & my husband has 2 have wheat & gluten free food & this was provided by the hotel. I would go back tomorrow. Well done seascape staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shalaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you very much for such a fantastic review its ones like this that make our job worthwhile.

I have passed on your postive coments to Nula (your waitress) and the rest of the staff.

We do hope that you do return very soon!

Thanks Again

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at Seascape last week and found it to be excellent value for money.It may only be a 2star hotel, but the staff were way above that level,we felt that customer satisfaction was very high on there list.Michelle and Penny at reception and Nula in the restaurant being particular in this aspect.When we returned home and unpacked on Friday aftrnoon i realised i had left a book i was reading at the hotel ,on Satuday morning i phoned to see if it had been found, and on Monday morning it arrived in the post.Top marks to all at this well run family hotel.
Margery and Eddie

.

Room Tip: Room 31 good size room ample size bathroom very close to dining room reception and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edmund c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for review Margery & Eddie i am glad you had such a great stay with us and found our staff helpful and friendly and that the hotel to be 'well ran'.

I have passed on your positive coments to all the staff mentioned. Thank you again and we do hope that you will return to see us soon!

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This hotel was one of the best I've been in for a while. Spotlessly clean, great service, the young girl in the restaurant couldn't do enough for us (sorry don't know her name..think it was the daughter). The food was lovely. Mum and Dads room (40) had a very small toilet/shower but otherwise no complaints whatsoever...my room (9) was fantastic split level with bed and wardrobe etc on one level and my bathroom on the next. Great 4 day holiday and we would visit again. Thankyou to everyone for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank doesnamematter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review we are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel was 'spotlessly clean' we do work continously round the clock to ensure the hotel is kept to a high standard and it reviews like this that prove all the hard work is worth while!

We do hope to see you agin in the future.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

we have stayed at this hotel with a coach trip and with friends and on both occasions found it great value for money.The rooms were spotless the food was excellent and we also had evening entertainment.How do they do it?Some reviews i have read makes me wonder what some people expect for the price they pay .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terence r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your review, it is aways nice to see reviews that have been posted by guests that have visited the hotel on more than one occassion this proves we must be doing our job right! :)
I have passed on your positive comments towards the food and cleanliness to the appropriate departments.

Thanks you once again we hope that you keep coming back.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
942 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#56 of 87 in Torquay
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#85 of 87 in Torquay
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#74 of 87 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing