We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cosy Stay”
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #56 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We booked here for 2 nights on the long holiday weekend. We reached Torquay around 3:00 pm and went straight to the hotel for check in. 

The parking bays at the hotel were full. So Debbie who was at the check-in, advised us to park in the long stay car park right infront of the Seascape Hotel. It is £4 for 24 hrs which is quite reasonable in Torquay. 

We had booked for a superior double room with ensuite bath along with breakfast. The sea-view room was beautiful & very spacious. 

The next day morning we got up early & got ready for breakfast. The breakfast time is from 8:15 am to 9:00 am which is a bit odd but was ok for us. The head waitress who came to take our order was very sweet (sorry, forgot to ask her name). My partner & I both ordered a full English breakfast (veggie version with eggs).  There was plenty of juice, cornflakes & tea/coffee to have, until our breakfast was served.

The hotel is at a walkable distance from town centre. But for pensioners & people with kids it may be a bit tiring, specially on the way back to the hotel coz it's quite a steep uphill. 

Overall... We found the hotel staff friendly & polite. Thank you for making our stay lovely. 

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LotusLakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and a very postive one at that. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The weekend you stayed was very busy with cars but as you said the parking facilities across the road is very reasonable at only £4.00 for 24hrs, when our car park is full.

The head waitress you mentioned is called Nula, i have passed on your positive comments to her! The reason with do 8.15-9.00 breafast is because we have coach tours in the hotel and they like to leave for thier trips between 9 -9.30am daily.

I am pleased that you found all our staff helpful & friendly.

We do hope that you come and visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five nights with full board in August 2013 as members of a coach group. We found the food first class, the hotel itself and our room very clean, beds comfortable, and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. It was just a few minutes walk from the centre of town and the pretty harbour and seaside gardens. When you add real value for money, what else could you ask for.? No hesitation in recommending it. (floorboards a bit squeaky, but the building is originally Victorian, after all).

Lots of places to visit from here - Torre Abbey, the south west coast path towards Babbacombe, Dartmouth, and of, course, Torquay's promenade were our favourites.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have really extensive views over the town and the whole bay and you can see al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SurferDaventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review.
It always makes our job worth while when we recieve such a glowing review, we work tirelessly to ensure the hotel is clean and its such a nice feeling when our hard work gets noticed. :))
Also im glad you found our staff friendly and helpful, i have passed on your positive coments to our team.
Im glad you appreciate that the hotel is victorian and our squeaky floorboards add its charactor too. ;)

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

like others we have just returned from a Just Go coach holiday. The Seascape is a regular hotel for Just Go and is stated as a 2* hotel. For the price paid for a four night break we didn't expect 5* accommodation and didn't get it. I think overall it could be classed as adiquate.
We had a second floor room with lift access to the floor.
The room itself was clean tidy and had everything that we could have asked for for the 4 night stay. However the materess on the double bed has seen better days and like the floor boards it was impossible to move without creating a lot of noise. (Everybody was appologising to everyone else for the noise lol) but the hotel is many years old and so this sort of problem will always exist unless it has a complete refurbishment, and then expect a huge jump in tarriffs.
The Onsuit was nice, clean and tidy. I personnally did not like the telephone cradle shower, which had to be hand held to actually use, but apart from that all facilities were provided and worked.
The restraunt was well staffed with very pleasant waiters/waitresses. The food was nice and adequate, but don't expect a 5* menu.
The entire staff were helpfull jolly and it was a pleasure to have them serve us.
The hotel is situated on a hill which at first glance looks daunting if you want to walk to the sea front, but by walking one block west and turning left the sea front access is much more gradual, as is the walk back.

Would I reccommend this hotel to others?
If you accept that is a budget hotel

Room Tip: Upgrades are available But I'm sure what you would get for the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review we appreciate your views.
Like you said based on the age of the building squeeky floor boards are to be expected.
The telephone showers are hand held showers that we have fitted in some of the rooms with baths.
Im pleased that the waiting staff provided at good and friendly service.

We have taken your comments onboard.

Thank you again

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

must agree with margeret d review,we found that breakfast time was inflexible for the coach tour,although staff did their best and rushed back and forth to the kitchen,so much easier if the breakfast time was not set in stone. found the bar prices over the top, apint of bass and a g and t cost £8,went to wetherspoons and got it for £5.We had entertainment on 4 nights and the reports on the meals and menus are spot on. my only criticism is that it is always grapefruit and those who are elderly and on statins should not eat grapefruit.Always got something to eat from the evening menu and the book exchange/library was handy.All in all ,you get what you pay for

Room Tip: room 35 has a balcony which is a plus,however the wash hand basin is not in the shower room but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.
The reason we have such set breakfast times is due to the coach trips that leave daily between 9.15 -9.45am, therofe we do breakfast between 8.00/8.15-9am to ensure everyone gets thier required breakfast.
The Bar prices are not that high considering this is a hotel it is reasonable some hotels in torquay charge alot more than we do, of course witherspoons is cheaper but this is obviously based on the fact that they are such a large brand we a just a independant hotel if we could buy our beer for what they could then we too would be cheaper unfortunately we cant.
We have taken into account that we only have grapefruit on the breakfast bar this has now been changed and a selection of different fruits are now available.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Rooms ok apart from sqeaky floor boards food not bad Happy with holiday but did not like the way we had 2 rush breakfast 2 get on coach 4 8 50 when we were the last people 2 b served breakfast in general not a bad holiday

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haziebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you had a good overall experience with us. Like i have said in my response to the above review the reason we do set breakfast times is due to your daily coach trips. I am sorry that you were served last one day, unfortunately some one always has to be last! ;)

Kindest Regards

M Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay with JustGo holidays. All staff were very helpful, kind and caring. Cleanliness excellent, cleaning staff do a wonderful job. Restaurant staff very attentive, my Mum is a disabled wheelchair user and every time we entered the dining room the table was ready for her, lovely waitress. It was great to have a groundfloor room. The only downside to our break was the bathroom. There was a toilet with shower cubicle, but to wash your hands you had to come out and use the vanity sink in the room, not very hygenic. I shared a room with my Mum, but i think i am a bit too old to have a wash in front her! So one had to use the shower while the other used the sink. When you put the light on in the toilet a very noisy extractor fan came on at the same time, so you get woken up in the night. The shower was no good for my mum as i could never have got her in there as there was a big step and nothing for her to sit on. We made do with our towels all week otherwise there was a 50p charge for a clean one, and 50p for a showercap, i don't think so! These have always been supplied free in all other hotels we have been in. The sliding toilet door didn't slide well it almost came off. Overall, ok for an overnight stay, but not longer.

Room Tip: Check out the bathroom first, if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauleenv345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review im pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and that the cleanliness was 'excellent'.
Just a few points i would like to make, we only charge for towels if you them changing everyday, if the towels are dirty etc the room attendant will automatically chage them for you all you have to do is follow the simple instructions on the wall and pop them into the bath or shower tray. As we are only a 2* hotel shower caps are not provided but are available at a small charge.
I am sorry that your mum had problems getting into the shower and had you mentioned that you would like her to have something to sit on during her shower we would have provided you with a seat.

Thank you again for your review, i have passed on your positive comments regarding the staff and cleanliness onto our team.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Just back from weekend With justgo holidays. Took 9hours to get to torquay ,picking up in cheshire ,gloucester,and worcester. hotel,Very clean and Good sized bathroom room(31).entertainment on friday night Only. Reception closed at 7pm.10 pounds deposit for remote control for t.v. 50 pence for towel change. 1pound for after dinner coffee or tea. Extra charge for more tea /coffee in bedroom. No shorts in dining room for dinner.Extra charge for soiling mattress.No bad language.Own drinks in lounge and you will Be asked to leave hotel. Set times for meals. No cheese and biscuits choice .Jelly,Ice cream or hot choice for sweet.meat or fish for main choice,no salad.
Cheapest bottle of wine 11.45. Beer 3.50. Small lemonade 1.70. Sun trap terrace at the back of the hotel but too many rules.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review i am pleased that your were happy with your room and the hotels cleanliness.
I would just like to comment on the following:
We do charge a £10 REFUNDABLE deposit for the remote controls this is because when we upgraded all our TVs we only had around 10 left of of 60 bedrooms!
50p towel charge is only charged if the towels do not need changing, again all you have to do is follow the simple 'help our enviroment' instructions on the wall. If they are dirty etc the room attendents will automatically change them.
The tea in coffee in the rooms also get replenished daily so there is no need to pay for them.
Im guessing that you didnt soil the mattress during your stay so again this point is irrelevant.
Bad lanuage towards any of my staff is not tolerated but this is general manners nobody wants to be swore at!!!!!!
We dont provide a stocked bar and bar person for you to bring your own drinks in, im pretty sure this is the rules in any bar/pub in the world!!!

Regards

M Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#59 of 85 in Torquay
889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#51 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#50 of 85 in Torquay
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing