We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never been so surprised”
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“never been so surprised”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just returned from the seascape as part of a coach holiday. Meals good for price paid. They even put on entertainment, even though it was later in the season. What really surprised me was the cleanliness of the hotel. It looked clean (this then made me look to try to find anything dirty in our room but could not) . We had a room at the front of the hotel and although I am a light sleeper the traffic did not disturb me as the double glazing is very efficient. All of the staff we met very pleasant. Overall a good time was had at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, we do have an excellent housekeeping team that work very hard to maintain the high cleanliness standards that people like to see these days. I have passed on your positive comments to a very grateful housekeeping team.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    129
    62
    28
    22
See reviews for
42
154
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I took a weekend break with Just Go which we now much regret although we must say the hotel is of an acceptable standard for 2 star accommodation. However rooms at the front tend to be quite noisy which we found disturbed our sleep at nights. Asking for a quieter room lead to a nasty and rude refusal which upset my wife and completely ruined our stay even our driver's intervention on our behalf led no were. I would recommend finding a nicer hotel there are plenty in our experience. Avoid

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clive725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am not surprised by your review however i am surprised by how you have reffered to our response to your room change as 'nasty and rude'. This was not the case at all. It was explained to you on numerous occasions that the reason a room change was not possible was because the hotel was full. You refused to accept this and was very rude and aggressive to my reception staff and told them that they could not do there job! You demanded to see management which was promptly arranged but again you refused to accept that the hotel was FULL, and you very rudely walked away from the conversation shouting that you were going to post a bad review on here.
We had numerous reports one of which was actually from your coach driver regarding your agressive manor. Infact the coach driver reported your behaviour to the coach company.

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We just had our first trip with National Holidays which use this Hotel, we read some reviews before we booked and must say some were not very nice but we thought we would try it anyway but not expecting much. We were really surprised when we arrived the staff handing out our room keys were well organised and cheerful, the hotel has only one lift and if you happen to be at the other end of the hotel you have plenty of stairs to tackle not good for older people , the staff did say if you need help just ask. Room was very basic but very clean we booked a double but got a twin, shower was nice and hot , you could have clean towels daily if needed ,its £10 for television remote which you get back you don't really need it just use control on television . The bar only opens at 5:30 , the food was nice with a basic choice nothing to rave about, for what we paid for 4 days we thought we did ok . The hotel is in a hilly position and can be a bit difficult for the infirm and on main road . The waiting staff in dinning room are friendly we were served by Billy who was very good and pleasant. over all we enjoyed our stay and would probably go on a trip there again .

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have sea view and some have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jill f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The coach comapnies are aware that there is only a lift in the main building and they should make people aware when booking that any low floor requests etc should be stated on the rooming lists, as we always ensure any special requests are catered for first. As you said we always do offer to help anyone who needs it all you have to do is ask and we are more than happy to help.

Torquay is notoriously built on 7 x hills but like you said the public transport in the area is very good and very frequent.

We do hope that you do come and stay with us again.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We booked here for 2 nights on the long holiday weekend. We reached Torquay around 3:00 pm and went straight to the hotel for check in. 

The parking bays at the hotel were full. So Debbie who was at the check-in, advised us to park in the long stay car park right infront of the Seascape Hotel. It is £4 for 24 hrs which is quite reasonable in Torquay. 

We had booked for a superior double room with ensuite bath along with breakfast. The sea-view room was beautiful & very spacious. 

The next day morning we got up early & got ready for breakfast. The breakfast time is from 8:15 am to 9:00 am which is a bit odd but was ok for us. The head waitress who came to take our order was very sweet (sorry, forgot to ask her name). My partner & I both ordered a full English breakfast (veggie version with eggs).  There was plenty of juice, cornflakes & tea/coffee to have, until our breakfast was served.

The hotel is at a walkable distance from town centre. But for pensioners & people with kids it may be a bit tiring, specially on the way back to the hotel coz it's quite a steep uphill. 

Overall... We found the hotel staff friendly & polite. Thank you for making our stay lovely. 

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LotusLakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and a very postive one at that. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The weekend you stayed was very busy with cars but as you said the parking facilities across the road is very reasonable at only £4.00 for 24hrs, when our car park is full.

The head waitress you mentioned is called Nula, i have passed on your positive comments to her! The reason with do 8.15-9.00 breafast is because we have coach tours in the hotel and they like to leave for thier trips between 9 -9.30am daily.

I am pleased that you found all our staff helpful & friendly.

We do hope that you come and visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry. United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five nights with full board in August 2013 as members of a coach group. We found the food first class, the hotel itself and our room very clean, beds comfortable, and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. It was just a few minutes walk from the centre of town and the pretty harbour and seaside gardens. When you add real value for money, what else could you ask for.? No hesitation in recommending it. (floorboards a bit squeaky, but the building is originally Victorian, after all).

Lots of places to visit from here - Torre Abbey, the south west coast path towards Babbacombe, Dartmouth, and of, course, Torquay's promenade were our favourites.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have really extensive views over the town and the whole bay and you can see al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SurferDaventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review.
It always makes our job worth while when we recieve such a glowing review, we work tirelessly to ensure the hotel is clean and its such a nice feeling when our hard work gets noticed. :))
Also im glad you found our staff friendly and helpful, i have passed on your positive coments to our team.
Im glad you appreciate that the hotel is victorian and our squeaky floorboards add its charactor too. ;)

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

like others we have just returned from a Just Go coach holiday. The Seascape is a regular hotel for Just Go and is stated as a 2* hotel. For the price paid for a four night break we didn't expect 5* accommodation and didn't get it. I think overall it could be classed as adiquate.
We had a second floor room with lift access to the floor.
The room itself was clean tidy and had everything that we could have asked for for the 4 night stay. However the materess on the double bed has seen better days and like the floor boards it was impossible to move without creating a lot of noise. (Everybody was appologising to everyone else for the noise lol) but the hotel is many years old and so this sort of problem will always exist unless it has a complete refurbishment, and then expect a huge jump in tarriffs.
The Onsuit was nice, clean and tidy. I personnally did not like the telephone cradle shower, which had to be hand held to actually use, but apart from that all facilities were provided and worked.
The restraunt was well staffed with very pleasant waiters/waitresses. The food was nice and adequate, but don't expect a 5* menu.
The entire staff were helpfull jolly and it was a pleasure to have them serve us.
The hotel is situated on a hill which at first glance looks daunting if you want to walk to the sea front, but by walking one block west and turning left the sea front access is much more gradual, as is the walk back.

Would I reccommend this hotel to others?
If you accept that is a budget hotel

Room Tip: Upgrades are available But I'm sure what you would get for the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review we appreciate your views.
Like you said based on the age of the building squeeky floor boards are to be expected.
The telephone showers are hand held showers that we have fitted in some of the rooms with baths.
Im pleased that the waiting staff provided at good and friendly service.

We have taken your comments onboard.

Thank you again

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

must agree with margeret d review,we found that breakfast time was inflexible for the coach tour,although staff did their best and rushed back and forth to the kitchen,so much easier if the breakfast time was not set in stone. found the bar prices over the top, apint of bass and a g and t cost £8,went to wetherspoons and got it for £5.We had entertainment on 4 nights and the reports on the meals and menus are spot on. my only criticism is that it is always grapefruit and those who are elderly and on statins should not eat grapefruit.Always got something to eat from the evening menu and the book exchange/library was handy.All in all ,you get what you pay for

Room Tip: room 35 has a balcony which is a plus,however the wash hand basin is not in the shower room but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.
The reason we have such set breakfast times is due to the coach trips that leave daily between 9.15 -9.45am, therofe we do breakfast between 8.00/8.15-9am to ensure everyone gets thier required breakfast.
The Bar prices are not that high considering this is a hotel it is reasonable some hotels in torquay charge alot more than we do, of course witherspoons is cheaper but this is obviously based on the fact that they are such a large brand we a just a independant hotel if we could buy our beer for what they could then we too would be cheaper unfortunately we cant.
We have taken into account that we only have grapefruit on the breakfast bar this has now been changed and a selection of different fruits are now available.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
934 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,803 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ashton Court
Ashton Court
#10 of 11 in Exmouth
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing