We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for a lovely break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #42 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanks for a lovely break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at The Seascape the first week in March on a Just Go break. We were made to feel very welcome from the start. Our room, at the back of the hotel with a sea view, was lovely, clean and comfortable, the food and service very good and the entertainment each night kept us well entertained. Yes, the floorboards creaked but it's an old building and that's what happens in old buildings! My husband, his brother and wife and myself would like to extend a very big thank you to all the staff there for making our break so enjoyable.
Sue M

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Sue

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, and also thank you for the lovely card that you gave us on your departure day.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found all aspects of the hotel to be very good including the food and cleanliness etc.

We do hope that you and your family come and stay with us again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    124
    60
    27
    20
See reviews for
41
151
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed last week with my friend, we had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly especially our waitress. Our room (6) had lovely views of the bay and our cleaner did fantastic job, the decor was clean and fresh.
Our trips were very enjoyable and our coach driver Colin was also fantastic.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and such a lovely one at that. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have passed on your positive comments to the waiting staff and room attendant.

We do hope that you will be returning to see us again in the near future.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I felt compelled to write a review based on the last few reviews. I went to stay with my wife on a coach trip returning home last Friday and I don't have a bad word to say about the hotel. The staff were very welcoming and my wife's mobility issues were quickly resolved, we were moved to a ground floor room immediately as soon I went to reception. The hotel was warm and spotlessly clean and the food was plentiful, we also very much enjoyed the entertainment. I will definitely be returning we felt we received great value for money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OAP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review, i am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your comments regarding the cleanliness we do work hard to ensure the hotel is clean and comfortable for everyone to enjoy.
We do also do our utmost to ensure that the guests needs are met the best we can, of course we want to resolve any issues to ensure your stay is enjoyable.

We do hope to see you again very soon.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We also spent Valentine weekend at this hotel, we were shocked at your response to other guests comments, it was extremely cold in this hotel ,nothing to do with extreme weather, more to do more with the hotel being closed since December and opened the day of our arrival, there was no heating in corridors outside on the bedroom hallways, reception, each day we tested the radiators, barely on in other areas, in fact our first evening we sat in the bar with coats on supporting your singer, stairs to the dining room smelled musty, the dining room was extremely cold ate in sweaters. We did complain to reception about the heating we were told maintenance were looking at boiler, nothing changed, so no point in complaining about the food, of which some meals were Luke warm.The waitress was excellent and very welcoming, unlike some of your other staff, we more of an inconvenience, if you didn't want to open why do it? The only losers were your guests who paid for the privilege. A member of your staff Saturday evening, was asked to put the heating on in the bar, he opened the patio door, and exclaimed it was positively balmy and walked away grinning. We spent the rest of the weekend in the hotel majestic, next door whose heating was not affected by the extreme weather. We didn't see Michelle over the weekend , unless she was at breakfast with children, dressed in a quilted jacket, "wish we had taken one" I have complained to highcliff coaches but to date have had no response, maybe you should have all considered the consequences before opening that weekend there were 20 people on our coach who may not complain, but we all know in business, "word of mouth can be the best or the worst advertisement.

Room Tip: Go in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justus50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

I did not respond badly to the other reviews I have simply responded to thier coments. As I explained in my previous responses the hotel did open for your tour but the heating was turned on 2 x days prior to your arrival.

I was around during your stay as I live in the hotel I was in the kitchens on Friday night where Nula your waitress informed me that the guests were very happy and infact sent compliments to the chef? I was also on reception Saturday afternoon with Steve and no problems were reported. I am on call 24hrs a day to deal with any problems not of which simply were not reported to me as, as far i was concerned there were not any as none had been made.

We always to our utmost to ensure that the guests enjoy thier stay with us and address any issues immediately, like i said before im sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but had any issues been raised during your stay they could have been or at least tried to have been resolved, however i can not resolve any issues after your departure.

Although it was Valentines day on your arrival day it was at no point adverised as a 'Velentines Tour' we simply put up a few decorations as a gesture.

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Went down to the seascape for Valentine weekend, Friday I was so cold I got a chill so I was ill most of Saturday,
The entertainment was good but we couldn't stay there because it was so cold in the hotel, Poor singer had 7 people watching him all sat in big coats and wooly jumpers

This hotel could really do with a revamp, its old, very dated, single glazed in the lower floor dining area, drafty and all together not what I would expect from a hotel, windows in the upper floors don't fit well and the curtains blow around to prove it

Staff are as cold as the hotel with the exception of the cleaners and the lady that serves the food at meal times, where incidentally we were given two choices of dinner that had to be ordered at breakfast, indeed on the coach on the way down we were given a choice of Ham egg (one) and chips or fish and chips not what I would expect on a valentine weekend , They did put a banner up though but the food was poor, sweets were a soggy crumble or ice cream and jelly, just the sort of thing I love on a cold day in a cold place.

All together I never want to see the place again EVER, if it wasn't for the lovely hotel next door my weekend would have been very short as I wanted to get home, really it was that bad,

Room Tip: Don't bother wasting your hard earned money until the weather warms up again.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick9449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Reviewer

Im sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. You did get told upon arrival that unfortunately the other coach that was due to be in with you had cancelled and that we were sorry that you were the only coach party in, this was beyond our control, it was highcliffes choice to still bring your tour, we did tell them that you would be the only party in.

The windows on the upper floors are all double glazed and not misfitted at all, the cold was due to the extreme weather that was experienced over that particular weekend, throughout the country not just the south west. We had the heating on full and it had been on full for 2 x days prior to your arrival.

Granted the hotel is old it was built in the 1800s but it must be a matter of opion that a revamp is needed as we have spent January once again redecorating the rooms!

I would like to say that no problems about the food were reported to any of the staff during your stay, infact the waitress - which you complimented told us that the guests were commenting on the food and how good it was?!

Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Arrived on Valentines day freezing cold due to the bad weather. To an even colder reception. Think the heating had only just been put on after being closed since Christmas so Hotel was extremely cold. Most of the people on our coach trip also complained about how cold it was. Our meal for Valentines was either ham, egg and chips or fish and chips. Never have had that for Valentines before! Dessert was very basic something stodgy with custard or ice cream or jelly and ice cream. If you did'nt want ice cream with jelly why would you want ice cream alone? Although the waitress was very nice and friendly and service for this basic food was very efficient. Tried to watch the evening entertainment but had to watch in our coats as we were so cold. Nothing was done when we asked for radiators to be switched on in the hallways. After the first evening found a nice warm friendly hotel locally to spend time in. If you can hardly pick up the knives and forks for breakfast because they are so cold there is a problem. If you have to wear your coat to go to dinner or watch the entertainment there is a problem. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Try a room in summer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyob58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Reviewer

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We had turned the heating on 2 x days prior to your arrival the cold was caused by the extreme weather experienced throughout the whole of the country that particular weekend.

The heating in the hallways was reduced to ensure the heat was mainly in the rooms as you do not spend alot of time in the hallways.

No problems with the food was reported to any member of the staff infact compliments were given?!

I feel it is unfair to write a review on here when no problems had been reported to the hotel, how can we improve our service when we are no aware of any problems until after departure?

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

An enjoyable weekend break as part of coach party. No portering available, except for disabled. Lift to all floors. Room comfortable and ensuit, creaky squeaky floorboards very noticeable.
Restaurant service good, food average but plentiful.
Entertainment was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, adjacent to lift. However, be aware that noise from entertainment ethos up the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francish656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the hotel rooms comfortable and clean.

I have passed on your positive comments to the entertainment and restuarant staff.

As i have siad before we are aware of the creaky floor boards but we like to think it adds to the hotels character.

We do hope you will return to see us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing