We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel on a shoestring???” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“hotel on a shoestring???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is understaffed and as such we found it dirty, the showers too small you had to struggle to get in ,and woe betide you if you dropped the soap,I admit I am not skinny but even a normal built human would find it tight, and if you wanted clean towels they cost 50p each per day. The beds were not made up properly daily and only pulled up over a creased up bottom sheet and mattress cover even after I complained they still did not make the bed up. The floor in the shower /toilet is vynl and there is no bathmat to step out on and can be slippy The meals were adequate but nothing to write home about, as most of the veg came out of the freezer and the remainder came from a budget shop ,the serving staff seemed overworked and were rushing about, The rooms were hot and the floorboards creaked so loud even through the night that as a light sleeper I found it hard to get a good nights sleep. One good thing was that the entertainment in the evening was good and the trip to Babbecombe theatre was excellent, I expect I will get the textbook reply from the owners saying that if I am not happy do not come again, but if they are not willing to accept that improvements have to be made then no-one will go again. On a final note when the reception is closed at 6.30pm the only point of contact is the barman however this gentleman must be the pride of the hotel he is helpfuf and nothing is too much trouble for him WELL DONE TO THE BARMAN, Wake up the management

Room Tip: Book in to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ian186186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

The hotel is by no means under staffed. This is the only review that says the hotel is unclean?! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and the staff work hard to ensure the standards are maintained.
Bath mats just have to be requested, as stated in the blue folder within your room. The towel charge only gets charged if you insist on having your towels changed daily! This was not the case and you were NOT charged throughout your stay, so fail to see why you felt the need to pass comment?!
The showers are a standard size.
On the beds we have a mattress protector, 2 x flat sheets 1 x duvet and duvet cover along with pillowcases and a throw, and can not see how they are not made properly?!
The veg gets delivered throughout the week from our suppliers and does not come from the freezer.
The staff on the restaurant are busy because of customer demand they work on a certain number of covers per staff member, and with the amount of compliments that the waiting receive on trip advisor and in the restaurant itself proves that they are more than capable of doing their job to a very high standard.
No text book reply here other than the fact that you have once again reverted to trip advisor to voice your concerns - an easy way out, you didn’t give us the chance to rectify any of your issues during you stay, unfortunately I can not make people stay more enjoyable once they have returned home.

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    124
    60
    27
    20
See reviews for
41
151
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very tired looking hotel,room 28,2nd floor,so small,you can't swing a cat! shower so small you can't move,food only adequate,Room so hot,window only opens about 2inches,on main road,casino 2 buildings away,never slept for 3days,the noise all night was unbearable,far too hot to shut window,awful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, unfortunately I can not do a great deal about the position of the hotel in terms or road positioning or the other buildings that surround the hotel!
The windows only have a small opening due to health and safety regulations that we have to abide by, we also can not help that the weather during your stay was really nice, hence the heat in the hotel/room/outside. So it seems most of your complaints about your stay were beyond our control and once again no comments were made during your stay??!!

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Seascape at Torquay. It was clean, the bedroom was adequate, the staff friendly and helpful but the restaurant staff and the food left a lot to be desired. The food was probably the worst quality and flavour I have ever had in my life and in my career I stayed at many hotels. The menus were the sort of thing provided in the 1960s with the ingredients almost certainly stored for sometime in a freezer. There was no fresh fruit or vegetables on the menu. By the end of the stay many guests, us included, ate our evening meals away from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review, im sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food during your stay. The food we provide is based on the type of clientele the hotel attracts, it seems good old traditional food is the preferred dishes, we have changed the menus over the years but the call to revert back to the traditional dishes is always required.
You were the only guests that did eat out that particular week and no complaints were made to your server during your stay? The fresh veg is delivered to us throughout the week, Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, so do not spend a lot of time in the freezer?!

Kindest Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was an exceptional holiday in as much as the coach driver, service staff,unseen cleaning staff and bar staff were each and every one a gem.
Management were on the ball and all went well.
Not being mobile uch it was great to use the lift.
Great value holiday . My wife and I would recommend and wish a return ....soon !!!

Room Tip: Room 5 1sr floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much, for your review and such a positive one at that. Thank you for comments about the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel, and the management.

We always appreciate your kind comments and it makes our job worthwhile, its nice to know that the hard work the staff put in is appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was booked into via a coach holiday. When my daughter read the reviews here about the hotel she was very concerned about the quality and conditions. If you are after 5 star top end quality please do not book here, you will be disappointed. Yes there are “defects” with the hotel but it is an old building and if you want The Dorchester then you would need to pay The Dorchester prices. If you are after friendly staff and a hotel with a family / homely feel then you have come to the right place. I can only speak as I find, I certainly had no problems with the dinner, breakfast or the room during my stay. The coach arrived late on the first evening and i found all the staff very accommodating and willing to go the extra mile. I would welcome a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank i_am_a_grockle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you are very right if you want 5* then 5* prices will need to be paid. We do not profess to be a 5 star hotel but we do provide excellent quality and service for our standard of hotel.
I am glad that you found the staff to be accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

lovely 3 nights stay ,food spot on am and pm .staff work hard looked after us thank you very much for the nights we stayed d day week end, ps the man who sing sat night was a bit dated. would we go back yes

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodyumyum28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the food to the staff to be very good.

We do hope that you will return.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel was clean and staff friendly, meals on the basic side, no salads but on the whole okay. The hotel itself is a bit of a warren with lots of stairs and corridors but that all added to the atmosphere, the staff on the other hand were very friendly, we had a waiter named Ryan who was very helpful. I had a twin room, one bed was rock hard the other you could feel the springs so ended up sleeping on top of the duvet, the room it's self was spotless, the en suite was fine, hot shower and again spotlessly clean. Tea and coffee in the room. One item usually when I've stopped at other hotels have been served tea or coffee after dinner, if you wanted drinks they were served in bar you had to pay for them. The entertainment was murder mystery by the Candle light theatre group, they were fantastic great evening. On the whole had a great time except for the bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayesha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you found the bed to be uncomfortable; until this is brought to our attention we are not aware if there is any problems with the beds. As soon as we know there is an issue we do our utmost to resolve it, by turning the mattress or infact replacing it should it need it.
Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness we do have an excellent housekeeping team that work tirelessly to maintain the high standards.
We do serve tea and coffee in the bar at a small charge of £1.00 per cup as the coach companies now only request a 3 x course dinner. On a murder mystery weekends we also find that this is very beneficial to get the theatre company to carry on the plot in the main bar.

Kindest Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing