We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four night stay”
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Four night stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I rated this hotel as excellent, because for value for money it could not be faulted, I have stayed in many hotels over the years, and believe me, have experience of more expensive hotels which were much inferior to the Seascape and mainly much more expensive. More recently my wife and I have experience of other hotels when on the same type of break, which again were much inferior to the Seascape.
We stayed here recently on a four day coach trip and to sum up, our room was very clean and spacious, with very comfortable beds, all the staff were very friendly, attentive and efficient and the food was good with a choice of menu.
We would happily stay there again and probably will.

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor may well come with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for posting your review and such a positive one at that! We are so pleased to read that you found the hotel be excellent based on value for money and also that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable with great staff. We have received a few bad reviews of late that do really upset us, especially as a family run business we look at the hotel not only as a hotel but also as our home and we really do take all the comments to heart. It’s so nice to see that what we do is appreciated.

Thank you once again and we do hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    128
    62
    27
    20
See reviews for
41
154
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the Seascape whilst on a coach trip. The room we had was clean but we had to walk from the reception area down lots of small flights of stairs to the end of the property. Too much for us oldies! The advertisement said it was to be menus from a different country each night but it was not very good food. We wouldn't go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the ground floor (unless you like a good hike!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Sorry to hear that you would not stay with us again. I would like to stress that there is a lift in the main building of the hotel, however not all rooms can be accessed by the lift, which is why we stress that all guests that require a low floor should request it whilst booking their holiday, we always do our utmost ensure that all low floor, special needs requirements are met.
The coach company itself does the holiday advertisement, but I am unaware of any advertisement stating different food from various countries daily. No coach company we use advertise this for Seascape as far as we are aware therefore I am not sure as to where you may have seen this?

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Before travelling we were concerned regarding the negative reviews however i am pleased to say we had no problems and enjoyed our stay very much. When travelling we have a bit of a checklist i.e. is the hotel clean - this hotel was spotlessly clean. Are the beds comfy - the beds are very comfy and we slept very well. Is there plenty of hot water - there was never a problem with hot water and the shower was very spacious and the bathroom very clean and bright. Are the meals ok - the food was very good with an evening meal selection of 3 starters, 3 mains and sweets. Breakfasts consisted of cereals, fruit juice, grapefruit, yoghurt, full english and toast and jam/marmalade. The dining room had marvelous views across the bay. Are the staff friendly - the staff are friendly and helpful, especially Steve who was our waiter and worked behind the bar he also helped out on reception out of hours - i consider this is good customer service that staff are willing to cover all areas (this does not necessarily mean the hotel is understaffed). The entertainment was quite good and enjoyed by a lot of the clientele particularly on Thursday when they were all dancing. We met some great people and i would not hesitate to go back. Overall the hotel is decorated in a traditional style although some may consider it dated. Our room did suffer from the squeaky floorboards but we did not have a problem with noise from other rooms and once residents were out of the corridors all was quiet. In summary we had a lovely few days in Torquay which didnt break the bank - the weather was great and sitting in the sunshine in the garden was bliss. i would advise anyone wanting 4 star to ensure they book 4 star. We were more than happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: some rooms do have a sea view and some superior rooms are available at an extra cost. we had a showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yorkshiremiss1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do have a number of staff that can multitask here but as you say we see it as good customer service not understaffing, in this trade you do find that most hotels have staff with these qualities.
Thank you also for you comments regarding the cleanliness, as I have said on my previous responses the cleaning staff work do work tirelessly to maintain the high standards of cleanliness, that we and the guests expect today.
We do hope that you keep to your word and do indeed come and stay with us again! :)

Thank you again for your review.

Kindest Regards

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is understaffed and as such we found it dirty, the showers too small you had to struggle to get in ,and woe betide you if you dropped the soap,I admit I am not skinny but even a normal built human would find it tight, and if you wanted clean towels they cost 50p each per day. The beds were not made up properly daily and only pulled up over a creased up bottom sheet and mattress cover even after I complained they still did not make the bed up. The floor in the shower /toilet is vynl and there is no bathmat to step out on and can be slippy The meals were adequate but nothing to write home about, as most of the veg came out of the freezer and the remainder came from a budget shop ,the serving staff seemed overworked and were rushing about, The rooms were hot and the floorboards creaked so loud even through the night that as a light sleeper I found it hard to get a good nights sleep. One good thing was that the entertainment in the evening was good and the trip to Babbecombe theatre was excellent, I expect I will get the textbook reply from the owners saying that if I am not happy do not come again, but if they are not willing to accept that improvements have to be made then no-one will go again. On a final note when the reception is closed at 6.30pm the only point of contact is the barman however this gentleman must be the pride of the hotel he is helpfuf and nothing is too much trouble for him WELL DONE TO THE BARMAN, Wake up the management

Room Tip: Book in to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ian186186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

The hotel is by no means under staffed. This is the only review that says the hotel is unclean?! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and the staff work hard to ensure the standards are maintained.
Bath mats just have to be requested, as stated in the blue folder within your room. The towel charge only gets charged if you insist on having your towels changed daily! This was not the case and you were NOT charged throughout your stay, so fail to see why you felt the need to pass comment?!
The showers are a standard size.
On the beds we have a mattress protector, 2 x flat sheets 1 x duvet and duvet cover along with pillowcases and a throw, and can not see how they are not made properly?!
The veg gets delivered throughout the week from our suppliers and does not come from the freezer.
The staff on the restaurant are busy because of customer demand they work on a certain number of covers per staff member, and with the amount of compliments that the waiting receive on trip advisor and in the restaurant itself proves that they are more than capable of doing their job to a very high standard.
No text book reply here other than the fact that you have once again reverted to trip advisor to voice your concerns - an easy way out, you didn’t give us the chance to rectify any of your issues during you stay, unfortunately I can not make people stay more enjoyable once they have returned home.

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very tired looking hotel,room 28,2nd floor,so small,you can't swing a cat! shower so small you can't move,food only adequate,Room so hot,window only opens about 2inches,on main road,casino 2 buildings away,never slept for 3days,the noise all night was unbearable,far too hot to shut window,awful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, unfortunately I can not do a great deal about the position of the hotel in terms or road positioning or the other buildings that surround the hotel!
The windows only have a small opening due to health and safety regulations that we have to abide by, we also can not help that the weather during your stay was really nice, hence the heat in the hotel/room/outside. So it seems most of your complaints about your stay were beyond our control and once again no comments were made during your stay??!!

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Seascape at Torquay. It was clean, the bedroom was adequate, the staff friendly and helpful but the restaurant staff and the food left a lot to be desired. The food was probably the worst quality and flavour I have ever had in my life and in my career I stayed at many hotels. The menus were the sort of thing provided in the 1960s with the ingredients almost certainly stored for sometime in a freezer. There was no fresh fruit or vegetables on the menu. By the end of the stay many guests, us included, ate our evening meals away from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review, im sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food during your stay. The food we provide is based on the type of clientele the hotel attracts, it seems good old traditional food is the preferred dishes, we have changed the menus over the years but the call to revert back to the traditional dishes is always required.
You were the only guests that did eat out that particular week and no complaints were made to your server during your stay? The fresh veg is delivered to us throughout the week, Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, so do not spend a lot of time in the freezer?!

Kindest Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was an exceptional holiday in as much as the coach driver, service staff,unseen cleaning staff and bar staff were each and every one a gem.
Management were on the ball and all went well.
Not being mobile uch it was great to use the lift.
Great value holiday . My wife and I would recommend and wish a return ....soon !!!

Room Tip: Room 5 1sr floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much, for your review and such a positive one at that. Thank you for comments about the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel, and the management.

We always appreciate your kind comments and it makes our job worthwhile, its nice to know that the hard work the staff put in is appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 87 in Torquay
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,749 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 87 in Torquay
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#33 of 87 in Torquay
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing