We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOULD NOT RECOMMENT THIS HOTEL”
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #45 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“WOULD NOT RECOMMENT THIS HOTEL”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We recently stayed in this hotel as part of a coach trip. Most of the review we read before we went were absolutely correct. We have never had to walk so far to get to our room, up and downstairs etc. Not to mention the squeaky floorboards!!! We were supposed to have a twin room en-suite, I think they should have said "twin room with cupboard", as it was about 2" wider than the wardrope. You could not shut the door if you wanted to bend over at the sink if you wanted to brush your teeth or rinse your face. As for the food, not worth mentioning, very sparse and basic, seasonal veg was frozen or tinned, dont ask for the cheese and biscuits. We will not be returning to this hotel. Advised our tour operator to seriously think about a different hotel as the rest of the holday was very enjoyable. The one redeaming factor was that the hotel was clean.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chesterholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    127
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
41
152
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We stayed in the hotel over Easter booked by Newmarket coach tours.The hotel was very clean and the service was good.Our room, however,was ground floor, street level and the lack of double glazing made it very noisy, not to mention the condensation in the morning.But the creeking floorboards were a nightmare! Someone only had to walk down the corridor or move around in the next rooms or those above and the creeking would either wake us up or stop us nodding off .The moral of the story is have a room at the back of the hotel on the top floor or take ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Hotel was very clean but endless stairs and corridors and no lifts, they like to have a different theme each evening at dinner ie. Irish night was Irish stew and... CHIPS! yes i did say chips, and the cheese board consisted of a choice of Cheddar or you could have Cheddar and if you didnt want that then you could have cheddar and lets not forget the three biscuits you were given! to go with your cheddar, we left the table hungry most evenings, needless to say wont be going back or recommending to anyone

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-in-Makerfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

The hotel itself is kept very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff on reception, and in the dining room there was excellent service, especially from our own waitress Nula. They catered for my special diet on request, which I was very surprised. Most hotels don't. Absolutely lovely views from front of hotel across the bay. A little out of town from the harbour, but only a five minute walk to shops. Must mention the squeaky floorboards, you expect it though from old buildings such as this, it wasnt a problem though. Overall it was a pleasant stay. comfy rooms and good food. If travelling by own car prebook the hotel underground secure car park. It is worth it. A few cars was reported to have been broken into.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saint49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

well just got back from the seascape,was expecting it to be a bit like fawlty towers how wrong i was,after reading some of the comments left on here,we went on a coach trip we are both in our late forties,yes there were alot of older people on the bus,what a jolly bunch,we were met by the recipionist at the desk a very friendly lady,went up to the rooms yes the floorboards do creek,but the rooms were very clean and brightly decorated,the food was very good quality,the serving staff were excellent nothing was to much trouble,the entertainment was good,generally a lovely hotel great food,friendly staff,and only a 10 mins from the town,

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gobccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

If you want good value for money,hot tasty choice of food,service with a smile,then look no further.As experienced coach tour travellers this is by no means the worst - top 80% in our opinion

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groundsman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, Co Antrim,Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed here in June 2009 with a coach trip. Hotel was very dated and could do with a good facelift. The floorboards squeaked in the bedrooms and the hallways and the nightly entertainment left a lot to be desired. The food was basic - you never left the table feeling too full! Posters adorned the walls in the hallways, rooms (in fact everywhere) threatening fines for those who dared to smoke in the hotel. The only plus staying in this hotel was that it was clean!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smokey066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#53 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ashton Court
Ashton Court
#10 of 11 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing