We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Exton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exton House
Ranked #70 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2007

good quiet hotel
Friendly couple run it
About 15 min walk to middle of Torquay
Nice bedrooms, very clean
Good breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank septemberBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2007

We have just returned from our stay at the Exton Hotel and we could not fault it. From the minute we walked through the door we felt totally at home,Julie and John made us tea and got drinks for the children they too were made very welcome.The rooms were spotlessly clean and roomy, as was the rest of the hotel.The breakfasts kept us all going through the day ,they were wonderful and Julie was happy to make the children what they fancied. Julie and John had lots of local knowledge and took the time to tell us about some nice days out. They also have two lovely children and our girls were very sad to leave them,we will be visiting Torquay again and we would not stop any where else. We are all looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank buckaroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We stayed at The Exton Hotel Friday 22nd June, we had just had a fantastic week in the South Hams where we'd hired a cotage and we just were not quite ready to go home. We found the Tourist Information office in Torquay and requested information with family rooms still available (we had our 2yr 8mth old son with us). The tourist office booked on our behalf after giving us some hotels to choose from and we chose The Exton. This was the first time I'd booked anywhere without researching thoroughly first and was feeling rather nervous, I have to say we were delighted!

Three very damp travellers were greeted 10 minutes after the booking was made at the door by John and Julie, we were shown in to the lounge and offered coffee and we chatted about our week and why we had come to Torquay - a lovely warm welcome. We also met Callum, their 19 mth old son who Finn loved playing with. After coffee we were shown to our room which was fantastic. We had the family room which consisted of a double and a bunk bed, plenty of storage space and a beautiful large window. The ensuite was compact and clean. The room was spacious, bright, clean and very comfortable.

When we returned from dinner that evening Julie and John lent us a baby monitor so once our son was asleep we could enjoy a drink in the bar. We chatted with the owners and two of the other guest over a few drinks. I then went to bed (2am at this point!), but my husband stayed up chatting into the wee small hours with Julie and John! The hotel is in a quiet area, so we were not disturbed by any noise, the beds were very comfortable, our son even slept until just after 9am - amazing!

Breakfast was served at 9am and there was a good selection of cereals, grapefruit and yogurt and of course a good cooked breakfast, with plenty of orange juice and coffee. Julie was very sweet and entertained my son with Callum while I finished my breakfast.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would call the Exton first if ever we were to stay in Torquay again (if they'd have us after my hubby kept them up so late!).

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank missusmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2007

My sister, A friend and I decided to have a girly weekend away, after ringing many hotels I decided i like the sound of this one because the lady on the phone was happy and others had sounded rude - we all got the train to torquey and the owner of the hotel kindly picked us up, we had an amazing stay here and i would go back - It was so friendly they didnt mind us doing girly things like walking round with face packs and hair dyes on! And the breakfasts were lovely and we were given as much as we could eat especially after a night out!The rooms were clean and there was no fault!
I would highly recomend this hotel - its only a walk away from the beach and town and a happy friendly atmosphier and very good value for money 10/10! Many Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luvablecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New Forest
13
Reviewed 17 July 2005

Booked this hotel from an internet search. When we arrived we were met by John & Julie and immediately offered some refreshement We all chatted for a while and to be honest we felt more like we were visiting friends rather than staying in a hotel. Rooms were great and the food was excellent and plentiful. Julie is a great cook. Oh! mustn't forget their lovely little daughter Lydia who always seemed so very cheerful !! I can honestly say we were sad to leave but hope to return in the future. We al though that Julie reminded of us of a young Barbara Windsow with her great bubbly personality.!! Who needs large impersonal hotels when there are little gems like this in Torquay

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2004

We just got back from a four night stay at the Exton Hotel (we are 2 adults and three children under 10). This is a small hotel, the standards were much higher than we would normally expect and we were very pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent, the couple who run the hotel are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms were spotlessly clean and well maintained. Would definitely return here again.

7  Thank EJP_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank JCSlaterWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 150 in Torquay
423 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#28 of 86 in Torquay
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#56 of 150 in Torquay
70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 86 in Torquay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exton House

Address: 12 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £51 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exton House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exton House is a family friendly bed and breakfast with a 4 star rating,we are located in a quiet area yet within easy walking to beach and town,cleanliness and hospitality are our priority.We offer clean,stylish en-suite rooms,free wi-fi,parking residents bar and freeview tv,breakfast included,we welcome couples and families,great base to explore torbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exton Hotel Torquay
Exton House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing