We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts and value”
Review of Exton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Exton House
Ranked #66 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night, impressive welcome with tea/coffee. Julie and John were very friendly and professional. Good location for local bus route and parking. For the money we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodland_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed over a weekend with family & in-laws, thoroughly recommend the hotel. Julie and John were very friendly & the hospitality was great..
The hotel was spotlessly clean and our three person room was ideal for us & our adult daughter as she had a changing/sleeping room of her own. The room was well equipped, everything was thought of!
The "Full English" breakfast was cooked to order & was delicious.
Would definitely recommend it and we will return when we go back to Torquay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andybx55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at the Exton on 21st september, last minute night away. Absolutely gorgeous, cant fault it. Spotlessly clean, fantastic location.
We arrived around 6pm, Greeted by John and Julie, offered coffee/tea in the lounge. We were then shown to our room. Julie ordered our taxi for us. My straighteners gave up, she lent me a new pair! Thats service!! Saved my life :-) Everything you need for a little bit of luxury. Breakfast was fantastic - it beat me!
We cant wait to return, Wouldnt stay anywhere else now we've found this hotel :-) Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Our room had a very small en-suite, clean and ample though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

From the moment we set foot in Exton House, our hosts could not be more welcoming or helpful. We were greeted at the door on arrival and offered tea/coffee in the lounge which was most welcome after driving from Bristol airport. We were given lots of very helpful leaflets and advice on what to do during our 4 night stay and even money off vouchers. We travelled with our 11 month old daughter and there was a travel cot, sheet & blankets set up in our room and also a baby bath and jug in the bathroom (these were kindly offered to us when I phoned to make the booking two months ago). Breakfast was excellent and speedily served. There were even petit filous laid out for our daughter. Our room was spotless and even though there were two other young babies staying at Exton House at the same time, we didn't hear any noise during the night. All in all a fantastic base for a holiday in Torquay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AThompson1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Picked this bed and breakfast by looking at different sites,to read reviews..This one kept cropping up, so booked for 6 nights.
Can guarantee that the review's you read about this place,and the couple that run it are not wrong.
From the moment we arrived and had a coffee and chat with John and Julie you could tell this wasn't the normal B&B. Lovely couple and clean house with homely feel to it. Ten minutes walk to the front.. Would highly recommend,and would book again if in the area..........Oh and fantastic breakfast.......
Phillip &Allison

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 335phil335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed at the Exton hotel for 5 nights in their family room. Can't say enough about our stay apart from excellent. The breakfasts were to die for, clean rooms, good location. the hosts John and Julie could not have been bettered, very friendly and would help you in any way shape or form.
We shall be staying here again and I would highly recommend anyone reading this to do the same. Best guest house I have stopped in by far. Thanks again John and Julie, and of course the kids.

Room Tip: Family room big enough for 4, we had 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 and 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyBelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed a couple of nights at this small hotel in July 2012. The high quality of the furnishings and cleanliness were obvious straight away. Whilst great attributes, the thing that prompted me to write this review was the friendliness of John and Julie. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Breakfast was really good too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,239 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#45 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exton House

Address: 12 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exton House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exton House is a family friendly bed and breakfast with a 4 star rating,we are located in a quiet area yet within easy walking to beach and town,cleanliness and hospitality are our priority.We offer clean,stylish en-suite rooms,free wi-fi,parking residents bar and freeview tv,breakfast included,we welcome couples and families,great base to explore torbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exton Hotel Torquay
Exton House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing