We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay.”
Review of Exton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exton House
Ranked #68 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. So glad we did. I booked our room over the phone with Julie as I wanted to request a vegetarian breakfast. Breakfast was amazing. I had cereal, toast and a cooked breakfast which consisited of vegetarian sauasges and the usual hash browns etc. There was so much of it. I loved her scrambled eggs. She also supplied decaff coffe which I was really chuffed about. We were so full up that we didn't need lunch. They also supplied fruit and yoghurt if you could fit it in.
Our room was lovely. The decor was tastefully done. Julie did warn me that the ensuite was small in our room but I couldn't find fault with it. The room had all the facilities that you could wish for. There was even a box of chocolates when we arrived which was fantastic for two chocoholics!
The room and the house were spotlessly clean. There is nothing negative that we can say about our stay. John and Julie were fantastic and welcoming. They were very professional. It was my first trip to Torquay. We will definitely stay with them again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

A midweek break at a great price with a comfortable room, great hosts,John & Julie, and a Breakfast that keeps you going untill Dinner.Spacious and clean, and lovely and quiet ,who could ask for more.Easy access to Town & Harbour and to some good eateries.If you like a glass of Beer try the Green Ginger (Wetherspoons) and sample the Jail Ale.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidneySeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night, impressive welcome with tea/coffee. Julie and John were very friendly and professional. Good location for local bus route and parking. For the money we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodland_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed over a weekend with family & in-laws, thoroughly recommend the hotel. Julie and John were very friendly & the hospitality was great..
The hotel was spotlessly clean and our three person room was ideal for us & our adult daughter as she had a changing/sleeping room of her own. The room was well equipped, everything was thought of!
The "Full English" breakfast was cooked to order & was delicious.
Would definitely recommend it and we will return when we go back to Torquay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andybx55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at the Exton on 21st september, last minute night away. Absolutely gorgeous, cant fault it. Spotlessly clean, fantastic location.
We arrived around 6pm, Greeted by John and Julie, offered coffee/tea in the lounge. We were then shown to our room. Julie ordered our taxi for us. My straighteners gave up, she lent me a new pair! Thats service!! Saved my life :-) Everything you need for a little bit of luxury. Breakfast was fantastic - it beat me!
We cant wait to return, Wouldnt stay anywhere else now we've found this hotel :-) Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Our room had a very small en-suite, clean and ample though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

From the moment we set foot in Exton House, our hosts could not be more welcoming or helpful. We were greeted at the door on arrival and offered tea/coffee in the lounge which was most welcome after driving from Bristol airport. We were given lots of very helpful leaflets and advice on what to do during our 4 night stay and even money off vouchers. We travelled with our 11 month old daughter and there was a travel cot, sheet & blankets set up in our room and also a baby bath and jug in the bathroom (these were kindly offered to us when I phoned to make the booking two months ago). Breakfast was excellent and speedily served. There were even petit filous laid out for our daughter. Our room was spotless and even though there were two other young babies staying at Exton House at the same time, we didn't hear any noise during the night. All in all a fantastic base for a holiday in Torquay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AThompson1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Picked this bed and breakfast by looking at different sites,to read reviews..This one kept cropping up, so booked for 6 nights.
Can guarantee that the review's you read about this place,and the couple that run it are not wrong.
From the moment we arrived and had a coffee and chat with John and Julie you could tell this wasn't the normal B&B. Lovely couple and clean house with homely feel to it. Ten minutes walk to the front.. Would highly recommend,and would book again if in the area..........Oh and fantastic breakfast.......
Phillip &Allison

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 335phil335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#54 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exton House

Address: 12 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exton House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exton House is a family friendly bed and breakfast with a 4 star rating,we are located in a quiet area yet within easy walking to beach and town,cleanliness and hospitality are our priority.We offer clean,stylish en-suite rooms,free wi-fi,parking residents bar and freeview tv,breakfast included,we welcome couples and families,great base to explore torbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exton Hotel Torquay
Exton House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing