We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Torquay.”
Review of Exton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exton House
Ranked #68 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We found the Exton House 6 months ago. We have stayed there twice now and Julie and John ( owners )are 1st class. Their hospitality is like none other we have EVER had at any other accommodations in the WORLD. The hotel is immaculately clean, the rooms are impeccable. Julia and John always go above and beyond to insure you feel as if you are staying in a home away from home. Julie's morning breakfast is admittedly better then my own.. I make a great breakfast ! My wife is hooked to Julie's breakfast. Very hot coffee, fresh OJ and always served with a smile and warm conversation by John. We will only stay at the Exton.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ghrechanyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have just stayed here, as a family of 4, whilst attending an event in Torquay.

We really enjoyed our stay and found the hotel to be very clean and tidy. John & Julie were very good hosts, and could not do enough for us.

Our family room was superb and our girls (12 & 10) really enjoyed having proper 'adult' size bunk beds, rather than having to sleep on 'sofa-beds' etc.

We all enjoyed a quiet & comfortable nights rest. The breakfast was superb, and we all left feeling refreshed, and set-up for the day ahead.

Thanks for a great stay, we will be back..!

Room Tip: The family room is spacious & comfortable, with 'adult size' bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We went to Exton House in September '13. Although we would have preferred a larger room, it was lovely and clean and nicely decorated. John and Julie were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. The breakfast was very nice. The place was excellent for walking to the attractions. Although we had our car with us we didn't need to use it. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flossydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very pleasant stay we had nice rooms beds were very comfortable lovely clean and breakfast very good you had a good choice to have nice stroll down to town centre 10 min walk John and Julie were very helpful and very welcoming and even there when we left for home

Room Tip: We had two rooms as there was four of us and both rooms were good I think room 3 the bathroom was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carolinenorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was a great find and is a perfect place to stay! John and Julie were very welcoming on arrival. The family room we stayed in was spotless, roomy and comfortable. Breakfast choice was brilliant and really set you up for the day.

Looking forward to our next stay in a couple of weeks time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked a family room at the last minute and travelled down the next day. We were met by John and Julie and had coffee in the lounge before being shown to our room. During coffee we were given some info about the area and told how to get into Torquay, which is within a 10 minute walk from Exton House. The room was very clean and tidy and really well laid out. We had a comfortable nights sleep and were greated the next day with a hearty breakfast with lots of choice. You could have whatever you fancied and it was all presented in an in formal and comfortable manor. Both John and Julie are wonderful hosts and fully deserve the glowing reviews that they have received. Well done, and many thanks.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I just stayed one night, but communication beforehand, cleanliness, appropriate friendliness and breakfast was all first class. They have free wifi and off road parking but there were also adjacent roads where you could park. The owners John and Julie were happy to help but also it didn't feel intrusive.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank LadyPSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#54 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exton House

Address: 12 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exton House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exton House is a family friendly bed and breakfast with a 4 star rating,we are located in a quiet area yet within easy walking to beach and town,cleanliness and hospitality are our priority.We offer clean,stylish en-suite rooms,free wi-fi,parking residents bar and freeview tv,breakfast included,we welcome couples and families,great base to explore torbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exton Hotel Torquay
Exton House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing