We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great people ”
Review of Exton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Exton House
Ranked #56 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay, great people ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We had stayed for 3 nights on Exton house and we had a great time a great welcoming by John and Julie very friendly and helpful people ho are doing there best to make your visit more pleasant and enjoyable. Breakfast is great with a few variate of choices it cold be better it was a bit basic then other bed and breakfast we had stayed before. Overall we had a great stay we will recommend to our friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marcel i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A lovely warm and friendly welcome with coffee and a chat. John and Julie are excellent hosts and their attention to detail is sublime. Exton House is superb, clean and all round a great place to stay. Breakfast was awesome and even our daughter had cooked breakfast each morning (she says thank for the specially prepared crispy bacon Julie!) Would highly recommend it to anybody travelling to Torquay and needing somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We found this bed and breakfast on the internet and couldn't have been more impressed. We were picked up from the train station. The room was furnished to a very high standard as was the ensuite. There was a very good selection for breakfast which was very tasty. The owners were very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisonlee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portslade
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

wonderful hosts very friendly very clean and rooms colour co ordinated breakfast large for the big eaters to set you up for the day will be back next time we come down to torquay will tell family and friends

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claytonphc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A lovely welcome from Julie & John. This was are second stay with them & every bit as lovely as the first. Beautiful room,lovely breakfast & all the help you need to make a great break,nothing seems to be too much trouble for this lovely couple. A truely wonderful place to stay & I would recomend to to anyone. Will stay again if in Torquay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a welcome! Lovely couple who make you feel at home immediately. The house is lovely & clean & welcoming. All there enjoyed their breakfasts & we all got chatting over the superb coffee. Really lovely place to stay. Would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Located just 10 mins walk from the town centre & 20 mins from the beautiful harbour withh all it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FJS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishop auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just arrived home after a wonderful stay at the Exton. Julie and John are a lovely genuine couple who cant do enough for you during your time with them. The Hotel is spotless, comfortable, towels changed daily and the breakfast is gorgeous and sets you up for the day. We would not hesitate to stay again if we go back to Torquay. The only negative for us is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#58 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.0 mi away
The Baytree Hotel
The Baytree Hotel
#41 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#16 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#64 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#47 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exton House

Property: Exton House
Address: 12 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Exton House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exton House is a family friendly bed and breakfast with a 4 star rating,we are located in a quiet area yet within easy walking to beach and town,cleanliness and hospitality are our priority.We offer clean,stylish en-suite rooms,free wi-fi,parking residents bar and freeview tv,breakfast included,we welcome couples and families,great base to explore torbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exton Hotel Torquay
Exton House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing