We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, stunning building.”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, stunning building.”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed for a long weekend with my wife recently in one of the timeshare apartments. Very spacious, sleep family very comfortably. Decor - shabby chic, however unspoilt sea views could not be beaten.
Loved the setting and scenery.
Hotel staff were very busy and although they did their best it showed in the food service.
Timeshare reception was a bit odd - in the basement/cellar but you get used to that. Initial welcome from "hall porter" was dissappointing as he assumed knowledge and was obviously comfortable in his position. Too casual for me, however, managers were much better.
Would recommend this break to families in Summer months and couples in colder seasons.

Room Tip: Go top floor front of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alextsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    186
    70
    53
    17
See reviews for
100
297
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The weather was superb so we had drinks reception on the terrace with fabulous sea views. We then had a 3 course lunch for 40 guests aged 2 to 90 and everybody was exceptionally well catered for. The food and service were both outstanding. A huge thank you to lionel and his staff for a wonderful day.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anngeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We booked a sea facing room at the Osborne Hotel and enjoyed our experience. The room (on the 3rd floor) was large, clean and comfortable. We decided against a rear facing room and paid an extra £20 per night which was well worth it.
If booking, I would suggest you ring the hotel direct and check prices as these vary depending on occupancy. Ideally, a junior suite with balcony on the forst floor would be our preference.
Food wise. Breakfasts are included in the rate and offer the usual "English breakfast" with options of kippers or haddock for a little extra. We ate in the main restaurant one evening and the food was fine - and service very good. The Brasserie adjoining the hotel was disappointing - closed for cooking after 2:30 until 6pm and closed quite early. However, it was very pleasant supping your drink etc on the outdoor terrace weather permitting.
Overall, a good experience and better than other 4 start hotels we have tried in Torquay. We will definitely stay again. But beware, whilst the hotel looks large, it only has 32 rooms - the rest of the building seems to comprise of time-shares.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea facing suite with balcony; only choose a rear facing room if price is the main con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fawazgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My husband and I went to The Osborne for our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed from Monday to Friday in a room called Ilsham. The room was at the back of the hotel over looking a car park. The decor was dated and in some parts the wallpaper looked to be lifting off the wall. The bathroom was dull, dark and the shower had mildew, some tiles were also cracked. On the first night we had to listen to an extractor fan in another part of the hotel buzzing all night. My husband advised the hotel it was a special occasion but we felt unloved. Breakfast was nice. We did not use indoor/outdoor pool or gym. The staff we spoke to were very nice and friendly, apart from the two bar men who giggled like two school boys when we asked for cocktails, which they spilt. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Britain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We had just had a week in Cornwall and on our way back were planning to stay in Devon for a night but had no idea where, we didn't fancy any on the main stretch of Torquay, so we turned off the main drag and there was a sign for a 4/5 star hotel, which we found on a nice residential looking road, but thankfully they were full and pointed us in the direction of other hotels, we went to the end of the road and entered a car park and what we were presented with was simply gorgeous, it reminds you of a posh hotel in a period drama where the posh families go for their annual seaside break! I immediately thought, this will be too pricey!
I left my family in the car to check how much it was and what the rooms were like, as we needed to make sure our 2 year old daughter would have a suitable bed etc, the lady on the desk was so nice, she took me up to the room, and said would this be alright - it was a 2 bedroom suite with a small lounge and looked out over the beautiful bay, you could hear the waves hitting the cliffs at the bottom of the hill! She told me the price, which was really good and I said we'll take it for 2 nights - very helpful front desk and lovely welcome! Seriously, the room was amazing and the hotel is just so classic.

The location was beautiful, the hotel is in the middle of a regency crescent and overlooks the beach below, the views are just gorgeous and look out across the English Riviera. Whilst it is within walking distance of the town, I think a car is needed, although the beach is walking distance and the car park is free!

We ordered Room Service from the restaurant the first night, and we have never had room service like it, it was amazing, they had a special menu on each evening, which you could take a copy of from the front desk throughout the day and the extra for room service was reasonable, we called up and had 2 three course meals and a childrens meal, and they bring them to your room course by course, the food was amazing, we'd been to Rick Stein's restaurant the week before and it was almost as good!!

It's difficult to choose what we liked best at the hotel, as we had such a positive experince there.

There was one thing that wasn't great, but I am not sure if it's the same company as the hotel or not, the small cafe/bistro on the front, we arrived and went in for late lunch (hot food), and we were within the time it advertised on the 'wrote that day' black board outside and the 2 waiting staff said they would only serve us a small selection of cold sandwiches, so we gave it a miss, they were quite abrupt - apart from that everything excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room near the top at the front of the hotel, gorgeous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippip80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just spent a great week in one of the two-bed apartments at the Osborne. Overall it was very comfortable, clean and well equipped although the building itself is old style but that seems to be the case in Torquay in general. Other than the bedrooms which were fine,the living space was a bit tight as we were three adults and three children so didn't really lend itself to comfortable cooking in and this did mean eating out twice a day which added to the expense of the holiday. However, we had a beautiful sea view and were lucky to have had mainly lovely sunny weather. As Meadfoot Beach is directly across the road we could hear the waves crashing at night and it's a great small beach for young children.

We were on the third floor which was up 6 half-flights of stairs. Before I booked I noted that there was a lift as my mother-in-law was joining us and we would have a lot of bags. However the lift was described by my misfortunate husband who ended up hauling all the bags up the stairs as 'a verticle coffin'. It was tiny and very oppressive and I feel this should be pointed out by the hotel. Just a note also to those travelling with small children - there were a few things that needed extra supervision e.g the landing railing outside the apt door was quite low and dangerous, we needed to open the windows in the lounge as it was very hot being the third floor but my 4yr old thought he would admire the view by attempting to climb out the window! Also the internal doors are all heavy fire doors which swing shut and are lethal for small fingers. As a result we couldn't really relax in the apartment but this was because of the ages of our kids.

The facilities in the hotel are great, especially the outdoor heated pool which was beautiful, warm and what a view. The health club got a big thumbs up from a fitness enthusiast but the indoor pool was a dissapointment. I could only describe the changing room and the area around the pool as grotty. It was lovely and warm though. There is a little play area for children outside as well as tennis courts, mini golf, giant chess and table tennis all set in lovely gardens. The whole setting was very quiet particularly at night which was great.

We only had lunch once on the terrace restaurant which is lovely but it did take a very long time for a few sandwiches to arrive.There are two restaurants on site, one more formal and the other less so.

The hotel is a brisk 10mins walk into Torquay and is very hilly so would recommend a taxi back. The town has plenty to offer in terms of restaurants, bars, shops and activities for families. We all enjoyed it immensely especially the long walks on the prom and we may well return some day. Overall I would recommend it as a great base with stunning views and good facilities.

Room Tip: While top floor apartments can be warm in summer, they are probably quieter as noone moving around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed just one night visiting on business. Very reasonable rate negotiated by local colleagues got a room with no view. Oh but what a view from the front of this lovely old hotel. Full on view of Torbay, beautiful low key dining on the Terrace.

Room was dated but quite large.

Look forward to going back. Opinion might have been different at rack rates!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jondf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#57 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#28 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing