We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sojourn on the Riviera”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was my first visit to this hotel and the first time Ii have been on this part of the bay. It was a lovely mild sunny day, we sat out as the view was gorgeous.

Staff very friendly and helpful, a pool and sauna is always a good thing. We had a bed and breakfast booking and it always makes me happy to see kippers, haddock and poached eggs on a breakfast menu - cooked to order.

Did not get a sea view but didn't need it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Third time we've stayed at the Osborne.Our previous visits were in rooms at the rear of the building which are a great size with a large bathroom.This visit we were upgraded to a sea view room on the top floor with a fabulous view.We stayed on a bed breakfast & evening meal basis which was a lovely treat.On arrival theirs plenty of free parking & the reception young lady was very polite & helpful.Evening meal was very pleasant & menu had a good choice selection.We had breakfast in our room which was very nice,on time & served on nice hot plates.There was bottled water in the room on arrival with tea/coffee making supplied.The rooms at the front overlooking the sea are smaller than the rear rooms but worth the view & listening to the waves lapping the shore at night was great.The hotel is very clean & welcoming.

Room Tip: If your looking for a lovely sized room the rear rooms are great with a large bathroom & bath.Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherDDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Kitson is a great room on top floor with great views - it is like a suite with two bedrooms and a great feel . the hotel staff are really nice -very helpful . Try the local beer in the great bar/lounge .swimming pool and gym with new equipment -downside they closed the brasserie and combined the menu with the restaurant -this does not work . I found the food options disappointing and starters and mains didn't work for me .Torquay has some great restaurants so I wouldn't include dinner .all in all I would not use any other hotel in Torquay -the osborne ticks All the boxes for me

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GHarr49768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I appreciate that having enjoyed a substantial internet saving we may not have received the best accomodation, but if I had paid the going rate I would not have been happy.
The exterior of the building is very impressive, resembling grand Bath architecture and the location is excellent with lovely seafront views and ample free parking in the spacious grounds. Inside, things start to go downhill. The large bar to the right of reception is unwelcoming with unpleasant lighting and the small bar iself looks like it comes from MFI. We had one evening drink and left only three other people in the bar. Upstairs, the floors creaked as we walked the narrow corridor to our room which was spacious and clean but was 25 years out of date. Dated furnishings, another wardrobe of the MFI variety and the shower over the bath was poor. Cooked breakfast was good but the whole place badly needs a makeover. Who are they catering for? Foreign tourists or elderly people?

In all, very disappointing. Very tired and needs money spent on a complete internal makeover. A shame really as it should be great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pastyfaceCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I visited with my family at the weekend, using a voucher which I'd been sent online from a money saving website. We stayed for two nights for £99 including bed and breakfast. Fistly, the hotel from the outside is very grand and in a perfect location. On booking and on arrival we found the staff to be very curtious and they gave our 2 year old daughter a lot of attention.

Our room (a family room) was a good size with a stunning sea view. Binoculars were provided too which was a nice touch. The room was well laid out, almost like an apartment. We had a main lounge area with a bedroom off it, and a separate room with two single beds in for the children. The decor, as others have said, was drab in areas and there was indeed wall paper peeling from the walls. Our double bed was huge - until we realised that it was in fact two single beds pushed together! There was a generous supply of tea, coffee and biscuits and ample towels for all of us. Having read previous reviews I paid particular attention to the cleanliness of the room and was pleased to see that it wasn't dusty enough to write my name in!

On the first night we opted to eat in the restaurant. It was pretty empty and lacking an atmosphere, and the background instumental music was awful! The food however was fine, and the staff attentive. The childrens menu was compiled using Microsoft clip art and really didn't do the restaurant justice. Again, in the morning, the breakfast menu was presented in the same style,. The choice of cold breakfast was limiting. It would have been nice to see fresh berries and bananas and perhaps some pots of yogurt rather than just Greek yogurt. The cooked breakfast was very average and the toast on both days was cold. We even asked for more toast but it never came...

Our toddler was desperate to check out the swimming pool but this was a disappointing experience. The pool itself, although small was clean and the pool room had a nice feel. The changing rooms however were inadequate. There was a shower, a toilet and a few pegs to hang clothes on. There was one "cubicle" which was actually just a curtained corner. My partner had taken our daughter into the mens changing room with him and was none to impressed that he had no choice but to undress her in a roomful of men. This really needs attention as we felt this was completely unacceptable.


On the last day of our stay we returned to our room to discover our room was unlocked; the cleaners obviously hadn't checked that the door was locked properly when they left. This was alarming, especially given that we had a number of valuables in our room- although, this is not the point. I did report this to reception and was offered an apology...

Overall we enjoyed our stay and found the hotel and staff to be pleasant. With some updating and modernisation this could be a real gem. Its 4* rating is definitely awarded for the facilities rather than its luxury, but nonetheless less, the hotel does the job.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I have stayed here 4 times on Business and had a great stay every time. I have stayed in different rooms each time and they have all been well presented. All the staff are very helpful and professional. Great check in and check out and great restaurant staff I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and look forward to staying here again. I have used the gym and the indoor pool and these are good facilities. The view is great from the sea facing rooms and it is only a short 10- 15 min walk into town but it is a little hilly but that is great exercise after dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hershambee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A wonderful hotel. Superb staff who were always friendly and attentive. The food was Michelin standard with a choice of dishes to suit anyone.
The setting was memorarable and the history of the building only adds to the experience.

Stewart Henderson

Room Tip: If you can afford it, have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewart h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing