We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views, Lovely rooms”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I visit this hotel on a regular basis for business. Its a stunning looking hotel with fantastic views over the bay. We always eat here too, as I normally meet other work collegues staying here. The restaurant serves gorgeous food, always fresh and tasty. The rooms are large, clean and airy and I've only every had good service from the staff

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoBoSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

I have used the Osborne in the past and although the hotel is Ok the staff are incompetent.
I have been trying to book 3 rooms and a meeting room for about two weeks now. I am told, the person dealing with meeting rooms is not in - can I ring back - very customer service focused!
Ok I decide to phone back and was transferred, only for the phone not be answered and no pick up from reception.
I phone again and ask for the meeting room person to phone me back - I have received no phone call.The girl on reception dealing with this , whom I suspect has an IQ commensurate with her age offered to book the accommodation without the meeting room as the meeting rooms bookings have nothing to do with her - she did not even realise that this was not helpful !

Good luck if you stay there - don't ask for anything too taxing!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank michaelnotwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

A really magical location about 15 minutes walk from the town centre with views across the bay. The food is good and service professional. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. The level of cleanliness could be improved.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiEggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

good food, service.. a bit empty so a little lacking in the atmosphere department. Also had a few issues putting my credit card thru.. other than that all was ok

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just returned from long weekend at this hotel. This was our second visit the first being 6 years ago. We loved it then and we loved it again now. Yes it is a little expensive but it is worth it. Brilliant staffs. Fantastic sea view room. Rooms and hotel very clean. Food perfect, nice cosy tables too. I agree with the other comments re the pool needing a little tlc. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineAndShowers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

In so many ways this hotel is great, it's a little expensive £100 per night but you get what you pay for, and more. Start with the view, check, the location just close enough to stroll into torquay centre but far enough away to secluded, check, great food in the restaurant, check, helpful staff generally, check, quality of the room, good, check.
Two minor areas of feedback that I hope they take on board, the showers have very low water pressure, and the swimming pool area not the pool itself needs a face lift its looking very tired. However that aside I would recommend it and will definitely book there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sausageefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just got back from The Osborne. Such good value, we thought we'd have to pay for breakfast as it was such a good price. However it was all included. Such lovely polite staff. Our room was huge!! We were so impressed. The views were unbeatable and we'll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nothappy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,227 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,569 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
671 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing