We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hideaway with a great view!”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Bath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely hideaway with a great view!”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed at the Osborne last month and what a lovely hideaway. The staff were pleasant and the room was tastefully decorated.

There is a fantastic view of the bay as you come out the main entrance and just a short walk down to the beach.

The walk to the town is about 20 mins and you can get a boat ride over to Brixham for £2 return.

The building is absolutely beautiful and there are lots of leisure facilities including an indoor and outdoor pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    186
    70
    53
    17
See reviews for
100
297
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed as a four day mid-week break and were pleased with our stay. Money is being spent to make the most of an old building, with lovely staff, good food and excellent gym facilities. The lighting in the room was excellent despite using energy saving bulbs. Power saving bulbs make good sense but then to cut down on the brightness so that it is difficult to read in the rooms is a great mistake which many hotels make, but not the Osborne.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelixP227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I stayed at the Osborne for one night whilst in Torquay for work. The hotel is in a wonderful building with fantastic views out to sea. My room was clean and pleasant but the decor would benefit from some 'refreshing'. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, which was great as I was there on my own and don't know the area. I had a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and the three course dinner in Langtry's restaurant was extremely good - interesting, tasty dishes and a reasonable level of choice. The breakfast was also excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view is you can - didn't book one but was up-graded at not extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzy85_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Wonderful views from the gardens and front bedroms. We stayed in a rear room which was very roomy but some early morning noise could be heard as I think the deliveries arrive around the rear of the hotel. Plenty of toiletries and tea and coffee etc. We were breakfast only which was very good and plenty of choice. The tables are set with stiff white tablecloths and decent crockery. Try to sit at a window table in the dining room which have the wonderful sea views. Plenty of parking and if you dont want to drive into town there is a bus stop outside the hotel which takes you into Torquay. The pool changing areas could do with a makeover as they are looking very tired and not in keeping with a four star hotel, but the actual pool was fine, nice and warm but a bit too much chlorine in it, so be careful if swimming under water as my husband had sore eyes after doing that. We got a good late deal on our stay so were pleased with the place for what we paid but would want a better decorated place if we had paid the full price, I would say it got the four stars due to its position and having two pools.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baloo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

we ate. in the brasserie 4 times and the food was excellent every time. the service lacked a little but food made up for that we would definitely go again and price very reasonable. the they over looking the bay is quite special and you can sit outside and take then in.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helent30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed at the Osborne Hotel for 5 days on a DDB deal with my mother in July. On our arrival we were met by a friendly and most helpful team on reception. Both our rooms were comfortable with fantastic views of beautifulTorbay. The restaurant - Lantry's was of a high standard with a good choice of dishes. The hotel grounds were well maintained and the outdoor pool of a good size and very clean. There was plenty to do in the area and there is a regular bus service into Torquay from just outside the hotel. From Torquay it is very easy to take day trips by boat/bus/steam train to Brixham, Babbacombe or Dartmouth. I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49RozE49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Fabulous location with stunning views. The reception was warm. We were upgraded to a sea view room up on the 3rd floor. The room was a generous size with a good size bathroom and stunning views from the room too. Look for the DBB deals or it can prove to be an expensive stay especially if you eat in the restaurant. Its a bit of a walk into town and is uphill so it was nice to eat in the hotel. The food was lovely but a bit pricey. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#57 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#28 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing