We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little bit posh, but awesome”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just a little bit posh, but awesome”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

What a pleasurable week we have had staying at the Osborne Club and Hotel in Torquay. The apartments are roomy and beautifully decorated. It is better than a home away from home. All the staff are very welcoming and helpful, it has been a privilege to stay here

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos r, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Osborne in the not to distant future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    186
    70
    53
    17
See reviews for
101
299
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed for just one night and had a good stay. Our room was clean and very spacious. It even had it's own little corridor!
Our breakfast was good and it was lovely being able to see the sea as we ate.
We liked the fact that the hotel is slightly out of town so we could enjoy a walk there and back and thought the beach close to the hotel was lovely.
We think this would be a lovely spot to relax when, eventually, summer comes as the grounds were pleasant too.
Good size indoor pool although it was a little too warm.
All the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful, particularly on reception.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltshiremoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

A pleasant stay at the Osborne.

It was fairly quite when we stayed. We were kindly shown to our room and had our bags carried. We were situted in a room at the back of the hotel and the room and bathroom were lovely and spacious.

We had no mobile phone reception in our room and reception telephoned for a taxi to take us into town.

When we stayed the sauna was not working. We were advised that we needed to re-set a button on the outside of the sauna but this did not work.

Breakfast was a mixture of buffet and being served.

Fantastic views.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a view. We were located at the back and had a stone wall and hedge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justdoitnow_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here overnight as part of a works party, eating out at Hennesses. On arrival the duty manager said we'd been upgraded as he'd noiced that as the bookings had all come in seperate,he had noticed they came from the same email address. So he had put all our party on the first floor. A nice touch. We was in Holden room. It was a lovely large suite with sea views. The bed was so comfy and large. Plenty of mirrors and the bathroom was large. Nice tv too.
The bar area was full of lovely soft leather settes. We didnt use the swim pool, alas slept too late!! The breakfast was very nice.
All in all we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Holden room was lovely, and had everything you could need
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishPastieAlemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Was booked into this hotel through work and what a lovely surprise.
The building is lovely and the room was spacious, spotlessly clean, with lovely bed and pillows.
Views from the front are super. Free wifi is available in all parts of the hotel.
The meals were lovely, everything prepared fresh and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
Would definiately use if i was travelling in the area for leisure.
There is also a spa, which I did not realise prior to travelling and so did not use.
My only niggle was not dedicated desk space to use a laptop near available plugs. You could clea rthe dressing table but then would not be able to leve TV plugged in for news etc.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the roof so probably best to ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MytripsLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

stayed for a couple of days on a special KGB deal. Hotel was great, nice and clean with very comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. we didn't eat at the hotel as we like to go eat out and travel around. The room we had was on the back, but as it was only a base for us to sleep it didn't really matter. good size room with nice en-suit bathroom. Ironing board was supplied in the room with the usual tea making facilities. Ideally placed for going on long coastal walks and nice walk into Torquay each evening and a stroll back after drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The Osborne Hotel is one of the finest buildings that we have stayed in, the rooms are very clean and this year we missed out on the 'sea view' rooms however we were not disapointed the room that we had were more than adequate.
The staff worked very hard to make our stay comfortable and it's nice to see familar faces from previous visits.
The food in the hotel was well priced, and of a very high standard it was in fact better than most of the Resturants that we dined in the town.
The bar staff were extremley attentive and kept our glasses full (probally some of the best whiskies I have found)
We certainaly would reccomend this hotel to any one wishing for a relaxing time.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for sea view rooms, however the rooms at the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,757 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing