We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Enjoyed a 4 night stay, to enjoy some chill time for my birthday

From the moment my wife and I arrived, everything was a breeze

Staff exceptionally helpful, we arrived early booked in early as room was ready

Room was newly decorated, fresh, clean and a good size. We were rear facing, but not an issue as we had chosen this option.
Bed was King size and very comfortable, plenty of lighting, storage, with in built wardrobe, and side tables, lockers and kneehole dresser, all new.

Side chairs and table looked new and retro.

No mini fridge, would have been nice as I had some chocolate for birthday and would like to have kept it cool

TV wall mounted and good reception. Perhaps a docking station for Ipod/iPhone would have been better than the radio alarm, but again marginal issue

Room service daily was efficient

Bathroom was clean and the suite had been recently replaced with new.

Only concern in bathroom was a lack of rail or hooks for the wet swimming costumes, over the bath.

Food was superb, evening menu, chosen and cooked to your requirements, I as a carnivore had plenty of choice, and it was all well cooked, my Wife being Veggie, had smaller choices, but when we spoke with reception we may have ordered a selection of our choice so long as it was ordered early in the day for the chef to be able to accommodate our request - not many hotel's offer this service!!

Waiting staff were excellent well prepared, knew how to look after you, and you were treated not only as a customer, but a person.

Breakfast was great, plenty of choice, including porridge on request, and some really good choices for the hot options, to an extent where I did not need to go to the Fried Breakfast option.

We booked our meal time slot for the entire 4 days, and ended up with a good table position every day

Lounge bar area, felt a bit 'old style', maybe a more modern shift to this area would encourage a bit more drinking.

Swimming pool area was clean and tidy, and water clean and plenty warm enough !!!

Changing rooms were a bit on the need refurb side, but they were there to provde a change and shower facility, we took our clothes into the pool area as plenty of chairs to place them on.

I used the gym a few times, and on first visit was taken through some routines for my preference of workout, and the instructors took time to make sure you knew how to use the equipment, key here is tell them what you want to do and they will advise. They were another great asset to the team at the Osborne.

The brasserie was tried on day one, and used for drinks after, food and service was good, just remember it is a hotel so prices are higher than you would pay in town, but quality was better by a long chalk.

So all in all a really good standard, be proud of what you have and maintain or even exceed this level.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weary-Traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos r, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Weary-Traveller007,

Thank you for your kind comments - I have placed a copy on our staff notice board - we are all proud that your really enjoyed your stay .

And hope to welcome you back to The Osborne in the not to distant future.

Carlos Rios- Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just returned from a short stay here. We live in Torquay and i wanted to treat my wife to a night of luxury and we were not dispointed!! The staff are amazing, so friendly and nothis was to much trouble. Our room was amazing overlooking the bay. Well furnished with a 4 poster bed. The evening meal was superb as was the service. We opted for breakfast in bed and it arrived piping hot. We are planning to make this a regular thing to do and it will always be the Osborne. Go you wont be dissapointed

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theclint0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I'm trying not to let the atrocious weather we experienced during our three night stay influence my view because the hotel is in a superb location with great views of Torbay. We had a sea view room with small balcony accessed through a floor to ceiling window! The room had a contemporary feel and was well equipped and quite spacious. The bathroom was large enough for a separate shower cubicle but starting to look a bit dated and rather dingy. There were some parts of the communal areas that were also a bit drab and the lounge area seemed to lack any sort of atmosphere. Breakfasts were fine with a cold buffet and hot freshly cooked. The dinner menu seemed a bit adventurous and didn't really work for us. It was always hot enough but had probably been left under a heat lamp or something because the meals were often dry or slightly overlooked. Staff were very pleasant and helpful although the English language was a bit of a challenge for some of them! We did enjoy our stay but were expecting just a bit more.

Room Tip: The sea view room is a must because of the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We often stay at the timeshare apartments within the Osborne complex. The timeshare apartments are lovely. As part of the management fees for the timeshare apartments, guests can use the leisure facilities of the Osborne. The outdoor pool is lovely. The indoor pool is quite literally unbelievable. In a bad way. I have never, ever seen a pool in as poor condition as the indoor pool at the Osborne. The gents changing room is the most depressing, poorly lit, cold, drab changing room you are ever likely to find. The lockers are a pair of rusty metal school type lockers. There is a plastic chair that you might find in someone's garden. You then have the misfortune to have to walk up to the pool. Every time I have had to swim in it I've cringed. The last time was the last straw, I took photos! The pool water was a murky grey colour; the manager said this was nothing to worry about. The brown sludge and hair in the gully around the pool was there for a week. It would appear that The Osborne is run in a very slap dash manor. Not what you would expect from a hotel that gives itself 4 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuckyOneTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos r, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your report on our pools, and I am glad for your positive comments regarding our outdoor pool , presently open and a pleasant 28 c.

On investigation we have realised that the comments and photos are from last year ,and are not reflective of our present indoor pool area.

We are obviously bitterly disappointed that the guest felt they could not bring these points to the hotel management ,so we could act immediately to rectify any issues at the time and not a year later .

Current feed back has helped us highlight issues , as part off our on going commitment to improving the faculties. we have had a full decoration of the indoor pool , also a very large refurbishment programme within the hotel of 26 bedrooms and the entire decoration for the front of the crescent .

I hope upon your next visit to the Osborne, you will notice the improvements made ,and perhaps be available to discuss further personally .

Carlos Rios - Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at The Osborne for 2 nights 26th - 28th March, which we purchased with a KGB deal. The location of the hotel is very pleasant, with lovely views of the sea from the front of the hotel. We stayed in the Ishlam (spelling of room maybe wrong) which is at the back of the - the decor was modern, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom was huge and the facilities were excellent. We ate at the hotel, in Langtrys on our first night - both having a starter and a main. My starter of the cod fishcake was slightly bland, however, my husband thoroughly enjoyed his starter of scallops. We both chose steak for our main meal - which was faultless. Breakfast on both mornings were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We booked into the Osbourne Hotel very excited to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary on the 17th sept 2012.Just wished we had not booked our anniversary meal there.We live in Teignmouth & are fortunate to have, ample excellent restaurants to choose from,how ever may be this was our down fall.The Osbourne Menu read fantastic,with great flavours & interesting dishes.We were so disappointed,what was served.The goats cheese starter had NO goats Cheese flavour, my husbands lobster was so over cooked & dry he could't eat it,as for the triple cooked chips they were terrible . We spent the evening sending half the food back,waiting for sauce that never arrived & feeling very upset our anniversary was so spoiled.My husband was convinced there was no Head Chef on duty that evening,as such poor standard of food would never be allowed to leave the kitchen.We paid for the meal as it was with the room booking,but the extra supplement was not included as a 'sorry'. for such bad food.But it was a special occasion & would of gladly paid twice the price to guarantee a great meal.We left our feed back form from our room to reception,letting them know how bad the food was,but never heard a reply.

Room Tip: ask to look round rooms to make your personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizmb926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlosintorquay, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear lizmb926 ,

Thank you for your recent review , I am glad to read you liked many aspects of the hotel its location, rooms and cleanness.

However i am sad to read your evening meal was not up to our usual standards , and i apologize for not making your 25 anniversary truly special .I am glad our reception team made a gesture of good will on your departure .

Perhaps you could contact me personally and discuss further on how we can restore your faith in the Osborne


Carlos Rios- Deputy General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Upon arival at the hotel we were able to get a parking space near the front of the hotel, although there is an overspill car park at the back of the hotel. Since it is a residential area the vechicles are likely to be safe. Our check in was very efficient and friendly, and our room was clean and warm. It was starting to look a little tired but certainly not tatty. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom spacious, but did lack a shelf or unit to put anything such as a toiletry bag on. We were at the back of the hotel and this meant it was very quiet so great for peaceful sleep!
We stayed here during February and were fortunate that the weather was mild. Since the hotel is virtually on the sea front at Meadfoot we were able to have a pleasant stroll along the beach before it got dark. You can also walk further up to Marine Drive where there are great views back towards Torquay and some very fine residences! The walk is steep in parts.
Walking in the other direction you are very close to Daddyhole Plain with views towards Brixham, and you can walk along the coast path into Torquay. It can be a little muddy in places and there are some steps, it will take about half an hour to walk to the harbour.
Breakfast was efficient and there was a good variety of tasty food. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening because we like The Linney Inn, but the hotel's menu looked OK and the prices reasonable.
I do think the hotel misses an opportunity with regard to the bar and lobby areas. Given that this is a grand old building, the exterior of which had just been painted, personally I found the areas mentioned to be very plain and bland, and they certainly didn't entice us to stay.
Overall we had a good experience at this hotel, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleDollyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,116 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing