We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conference and comfort”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“conference and comfort”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I am by no means a stranger to Torquay, attending many conferences over the years at the usual and mundane establishments that pass themselves off as quality venues, a recent stay at one of the aforesaid Hotels which will remain anonymous prompted this review, a colleague and myself duly arrived for the seminar, only to find the room had been double, booked annoying though it was, we had assurance all was well, and had been shipped out to a comparable four star Hotel in the bay, i use the word shipped out because to be frank that is usually the case, bed and breakfast, or some last chance saloon with creaky floorboards and cobwebs. Not this time, at the end of a road i never knew existed, tucked in almost miss able we found the Osborne Hotel, set in well kept grounds with breathtaking views across the bay. we were speechless !! friendly accommodating staff, Comfortable well kept rooms, quality food, (we had room service from the evening menu) very good, hot and delicious, but found it strange all three courses delivered at the same time ? if your a breakfast lover you wont find better, gastronomic full grill i had never seen the like of before, definitely prefer comfort to conference, special thanks to Andy for sorting out the parking nightmare

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    188
    71
    53
    17
See reviews for
105
300
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Four of us had Sunday lunch at the Osborne as we have in the past and it was up to its usual very good standard of both food and service. I note Caroline W says her experience was disappointing. Strangely all of the other diners taking lunch that day had their mean spoilt by her party. Children were running out of control everywhere. People were coming and going all the time. A pushchair was being cinstantly wheeled around the dining room and at one point the baby's nappy appeared to be changed in full view in the open restaurant. It wasn't the hotel at fault it was Caroline W's party. I suggest in future hiring a marquee in a field somewhere might be more suitable for her party with a buffet so that people can come and go as they please and the others can pick and choose from a buffet as clearly they were totally incapable of all sitting down at the same time and letting the hotel serve them

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos r, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Sunday lunch with us at The Osborne . We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and found all the staff friendly and helpful, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends . We had rooms on the 1st floor next to each other . They were lovely and clean and very very warm . The shower was good and our bed was comfy . The breakfast was nice and hot and served to the table - I have had better but there was nothing wrong with it . The drinks in the brasserie were expensive compared to town - but just look outside at the beautiful gardens and views and you can see why. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Great weekend - we would love to stay again

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Windsorgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos r, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Osborne Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found all the staff friendly and helpful, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we stayed 2nd november,2013,read reviews before booking sounded good, first room four poster bed laminate floor very echoey still felt cold even when heating was on, bed uncomfortable, moved into a suite cost extra £20 was much better but bed uncomfortable again well worn, the restuarant is very drab indeed needs modernisation, sirloin steak full of grisel very fatty, staff very helpful though, we initially was going to stay 2 nights thankfully we didnt we are now in the carlyon bay hotel and all i can say is wow this is what you call 4 star in every detail pure quality!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlosintorquay, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Osborne Hotel.

Meadfoot bedroom was your initial room you stayed in , a popular room with a sea views , it has recently been hypoallergenic treated ..ideal for guests with allergies .Having pine flooring admittedly it can be slightly echoey .

Regarding the four poster bed , we do feel mattresses are very personal in preference and people do have different tastes in bedding firmness .

This mattress was recently replaced several months ago prior to your stay, from a prestigious supplier with a rating of medium.
I am glad to see you enjoyed your upgraded room to a suite, however this room also has had a recently replaced mattress similar to the first room .

I am sorry to hear the sirloin steak was full of grise,i am happy to see our staff was able to meet your needs and were very helpful.

Langtrys Restaurant is a themed restaurant in keeping with the crescent's history that dates back to the 19th century and having many comment saying its in keeping with the property .


We look forward to welcoming you back to The Osborne in the future when I feel confident that your stay will be memorable for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have been using the Osbourne hotel gym for almost a year now ........ and will most certainly be extending my membership for a farther 12 months. I have had the experience of other Gym's in Torquay but nothing comes close to the well run outfit managed by Graham the very keen and enthusiastic trainer/coach,.... who takes pride in his work and will always find time for you...... should you need any help or assistance.. The introduction that is given on first joining is second to none and he will leave no stone un-turned in explaining how everything works. ...The work out stations are always clean with ample hygienic fluid and cloths to wipe down the equipment after use .
It may not be the cheapest in the area but given the other facilities that are available like the changing area which is always clean plus the very warm indoor pool and solarium making the whole package very attractive ...and you qualify for a discount if you should decide to use the Hotels restaurant .........all in all a great "experience.".....Graham T.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicmanTorquayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night in late October 2013.

The hotel is in a prime spot about 5 minutes walk east of the town centre. It's a beautiful building with stunning views across one of the most picturesque bays in the UK.

The staff were friendly, the hotel clean. Our room, on the third floor (named Lawrence) was well appointed and the bed was really big. The views were amazing. The shower, one of our bug bears of 3/4 star hotels was great. Consistent temperature and nice and powerful. Sadly a shower curtain was present but you can't win them all. Great towels and toiletries too.

The pool was nice, good temperature and size. Would have liked some towels to use but it was okay, we just used our bathroom towels.

Wifi is available but it's annoying that you have to login every time you visit another room. There seems to be a different connection for each public room. Maybe that's splitting hairs but it was annoying.

Breakfast is good although the selection of yoghurt and other such items is rather limited. They passed the sausage test, good size and of acceptable quality. Bacon was well cooked as were the eggs.

Overall, a really nice place to stay. The only downsides are that the Carlsberg lager is not cold enough (at £4.20 per pint, it really should be) and that our room's window had an annoying squeak when the wind blew. Minor, i know but it did wake us up once or twice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I have been walking the South-West Coast Path. We wanted a comfortable base for three nights in Torbay. The Osborne proved perfect. Peaceful location, lovely views, serviceable bistro food, hearty breakfasts, and enough parking space. After a dozen miles of foot-slogging each day, this was the hint of luxury we needed. Obviously, being a converted Georgian terrace, the room and staircase layouts are a bit eccentric compared with a purpose-built hotel block, but all that adds charm and character. Not for you if you prefer living in an egg-box...

Room Tip: Junior suites facing the bay all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shlgww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,813 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing