We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing chilling experience”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An amazing chilling experience”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We enjoyed our weekend at the Osborne lovely rooms , boutique decor, friendly helpful staff, good quality food and ample servings. Delightful location overlooking the cove, lovely gardens to walk. Torquay is a good location, to use as a base too.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room for a good experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturelover142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos r, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Nature lover,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing it with the wider travelling community. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found that the food and service was to a high standard. I will pass your kind words on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    188
    71
    53
    17
See reviews for
105
300
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Shame that the hotel has gone down hill so much been coming here for 6 yrs now and won't be returning as the service was poor and in my opinion if your paying those sort of prices for drinks let alone the meal then service should be tip top. I think the amount of foreign staff confuse matters with some of the ordering which didn't help matters. The location is lovely and is a big plus side although the beach is half derelict at the moment and won't be completed now until summer 2015! Just to add a couple of things as I could write for a lot longer the parking is a nightmare due to the amount of timeshare and non residents who use the gym/health club. It's more like a timeshare/hotel and also has private residents. I would prefer a hotel which was for hotel guests.

Room Tip: Stay at the Imperial Hotel down the road the location and rooms are much better also is the health c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlosintorquay, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review. In the very first instance please accept my apologies for the disappointing food service received.

we will discuss with Food & Drink Team and discussed all aspects of service to ensure no repetition and introduce some amendments to improve the experience for all our guests.

Parking to the front of the crescent at peak times can be busy admittedly - however we have more than sufficient parking with a further 70 spaces to the rear of the building .

I am glad to see your comments that our location is lovely and is a big plus .Again I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit. I would welcome the opportunity when your next in torquay to welcoming you back in the future when I feel confident that your stay will be memorable for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for a short break weekend In April. Excellent sea views from the room. The Evening meal and Breakfast were both superb, plenty of food and excellent quality. Will Definitely stay again in the future!

Room Tip: Worth paying for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent, really enjoyed our stay here. Lovely view of sea from our room. Would definitely stay again and recommend it. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast menu was very good, enjoyable. Swimming pool was warm, shame sauna wasnt working properly when we visited. Matress on bed could have done with being replaced was very soft when asked about this they were Supprised as mattresses had not long been replaced.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The exterior of the hotel is beautiful and the location is close to the town centre. We stayed for three nights in a room with a sea view which was beautiful. The hotel had some staff who were professional and helpful at all times, such as Carlos. However, other members of staff were less helpful and sometimes came across as rude. Our room was nice in appearance, but the structure of the room made it appear slightly small. The leisure facilities were dissapointing. The swimming pool was average; the water was cold, the area around the pool only had cold, metal chairs to sit on and the lighting was poor. The changing rooms were horrible. They only had one toilet and one shower (which had cold water) and were quite dirty. The only place to get changed was a curtain in the corner of the room with another steel chair inside which everyone had to take turns to use. Breakfast was average and we felt it was lacking slightly in variety. The rooms were mostly cleaned thoroughly and the lady who cleaned our rooms seemed very nice. However, on our second day, the bed sheets were not changed even though they were clearly dirty from when the kids left their crayons on the beds. The shower holder broke during our stay and it was not fixed even after we told the hotel management. The sofa bed was horrible and was so uncomfortable to sleep on! However, the rooms were always warm and the proper bed was very comfortable. Overall, we found the hotel was average and we felt that it wasn't worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaidehiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute for a night at Easter and were surprised to get a room. We didn't expect too much but were amazed by this beat hotel and great staff. Room faced the back but was to a very high standard and the view was nice. Lovely walks too around the grounds and sea. Probably the best we have stayed in around Torquay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alkipone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I recently stayed just for one night on business. I found the staff to be very helpful, especially Tiffany. The food was excellent, I ordered from the main menu for service to my room. Breakfast set me up for the day, and the view from the dining room on a sunny morning, certainly puts you in a nice frame of mind for the day. I will definitely visit again, ideally with the family to enjoy the surrounding area more.

Room Tip: The website does not reflect the Hotel as well as it could, so I would, if you are unsure, give the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing