We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have been in and out of the Osborne for years as it is near lovely Meadfoot Beach but have not had lunch there for a long while. They do lots of different platters and I had one with olives, oils and salad which was very tasty and my husband and friend had fish platter and ploughmans both said they were delicious. It is a gorgeous setting high up overlooking the sea and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Only eaten there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suenovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    185
    69
    53
    17
See reviews for
98
297
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I recently spent a 3 night voucher break with my Mum at the Osborne Hotel and what a wonderful experience it was.
The appearance of the hotel is quite unique and exquisite. As we drove into the hotel grounds, we were greeted by a miniature version of The Royal Crescent in Bath. It's astounding. There was plenty of parking space and we managed to park just outside the hotel entrance during the whole of our stay.
As we entered the hotel, we were warmly greeted at Reception and booked in very quickly and professionally. We were given all of the details of the hotel and were offered help with our luggage. The appearance of the inside of Reception and Lounge area was warm and well decorated and many of the original property features were still evident and well maintained. Comfortable seating was plentiful.
Our room, Beauclarke (all rooms have names rather than numbers), was very near the lift which was useful because my Mum has problems walking distances. The room was beautiful and had plenty of space. The decoration was warm and clean and the use of colours within the room was appropriate to the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was extremely clean, down to every corner and even the grouting! There was a walk in shower as I had requested for my Mum. There was a good choice of drinks and bottled water supplied, as well as biscuits. There was also a good supply of toiletries, which were very pleasant.
The only shock was that there was a king sized bed in the room, but I had requested a twin room. I returned to Reception to explain the error and according to the booking form, it was noted as a double room. I explained that I had definitely asked for a twin room as usual when Mum and I go away. The Receptionist spoke to the Duty Manager and stated that they had no other available rooms with a walk in shower. I asked them if they could put up a temporary bed, which they were happy to do. This was done almost immediately. The Z bed was satisfactory, but quite hard and uncomfortable to sleep on, but Mum was very comfortable on the bed she had. There was a table in the room with two comfortable chairs...very useful.
The only downside of the room was the view. It was disgusting. It was a dirty area of roof on which someone had tried to set up some plants to make it look better. They had failed dismally I'm afraid. Nevertheless, this was the only downside and I don't wish this to reflect on all the other good things.
We had a two course evening meal on the first night of our stay, as included in the voucher. The Langtry Restaurant was superb and tastefully decorated. It was spacious with comfortable seating. The menu choices were not numerous, but there was still plenty of choice for all tastes. The food was delectable, absolutely exquisite. The service was first class. An excellent dining experience.
Breakfast was also served each morning in the Langtry Restaurant. The cooked breakfast menu was plentiful and varied. I couldn't think of a single thing that wasn't included. There was also a choice of cereals, yoghurts and fruits, as well as fruit juices and pastries in buffet style. The friendly demeanor of all of the staff again shone through.
There was also a bar area with comfortable seating.
There were numerous amenities such as indoor and outdoor pools, tennis court, gym, Brasserie terrace and plenty of outdoor seating overlooking the sea. The view was stunning.
Overall, excellent hotel, superb service throughout our stay, fabulous food, friendly and professional staff...can't wait to go there again. If you want to look out of the window....avoid Beauclarke Room.
Ps. Please leave more milks in the rooms. We did have to ask for extra every day and we only had 2 cups each per day (2 pots required per cup). That's not a complaint though, just a tip.
Many thanks to all of the wonderful staff who helped and served us in every way.

Room Tip: If possible, book a sea view. Avoid Beauclarke Room, but only because of the awful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple of days and had the best weather which was a blessing..The views from the hotel are breathtaking and we had a relaxing break. Our room was clean and comfortable but we were over looking the hotel roof at the back..recommend the sea view rooms. Dinner was ok but detail missing. Breakfast was limited choice but traditional breakfast was available with good service and finished early at weekend. On the downside..The pool reception was not staffed..decor needs huge improvement and facilities need to be accessible as couldn't use the sauna as not manned. Small changing area and needs overhaul and towels could not be accessed and facilities to be improved as would not class as four star hotel. Disappointed however outdoor pool is available but not heated. Also not quite geared up for the heatwave this weekend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shan104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here may 2014 very nice hotel,fabulous location great rooms all have a themed name.
Dined at hotel bistro first night, not that good,and over priced, bar staff in hotel,seemed clueless
took three to mix a cocktail and still was not right on completion.Breakfast good, but eggs benedict
should be avoided had better!.Another strange thing a sign saying skimmed milk at breakfast but no alternative, No fresh fruit only tinned variety and only paper menu on tables
other gripe piped local radio not really every ones cup of tea at this time of day.A few things need
sorting out here as these do not complement what could be a very desirable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just returned from a fantastic 3 night break at The Osborne Hotel Torquay. The hotel is part of a beautiful neo-gorgian crescent in a stunning location with spectacular views over Torbay. We had a spacious room that had recently been modernised. The staff were all incredible helpful and a credit to the hotel. The food in the restaurant was spectacular - Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWK499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights at the Osborne Hotel, Torquay, last week. We went on a Living Social deal but upgraded our room for a suite with a sea view which increased the price but was well worth it. The room was large and very comfortable, with very welcome complimentary teas, coffee, chocolate drinks, biscuits and bottled water. The food was excellent and the staff really friendly and helpful. We couldn't fault any aspect of our visit and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend . The hotel is about a 10 minute walk up the hill from Torquay but in a beautiful setting. From the time we arrived to the time we left the service was excellent by all the staff. We were particularly impressed by the restaurant staff, especially the restaurant manager who all worked so hard and were so polite.
The room was a nice size and the bed comfortable- no complaints there!
We had breakfast on both mornings and again the breakfast was lovely.
We ate in th restaurant on the first night and must admit that the food was of reaaly good quality.
Would definately recommend this hotel but just be aware og the walk up the hill from the town.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#59 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#28 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing