We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views Rooms are a little dated”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Firstly, this Hotel has some of the best seaviews in the southwest and the crescent old style exterior adds to its quaint position and history.
The rooms are a little dated and little can be done to change this so be kind and enjoy the grand position in front of the meadfoot bay.

This is at best a low end four star , but the foot was good and we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: we had a front suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolberryhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed 1 night in a suite with our daughter.our son and partner were in another double with sea view.the decor and size of the rooms were very nice.the views across the bay are spectacular.the staff were excellent.the breakfast was excellent.i had the biggest kipper I have had which was lovely.the outside pool was really warm and a pleasure to swim in.the indoor pool also looked very nice.we had a couple of coffees in the brasserie,again with lovely views and friendly great service.want to go back in summer for a week.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank artsmith369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent 4days here in glorious weather, 2nights in rear room then 2nights in sea facing room.
Both rooms were of good size, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the issue with the first room was that when you sat on the WC your left arm was rubbing against the toilet roll holder which could easily be repositioned to the right!
The sea facing room was excellent with a view to die for, no issues here.
The breakfast and dinners were very good apart for the fact that the menu (which had 6main courses) was the same for 3 of the 4 nights.
All staff from receptionist, to waiting staff, through to barman, to the charming Katy in the Terrace, were friendly, informative and welcoming and did the Osborne proud.
The final issue was the outdoor pool with its depth of 3ft shallow and 3ft7inches deep end and with towels left on the beds for their owners to spend hours away from!
Would I return? most certainly but hopefully the toilet roll holder will have been repositioned and the menu changed daily. Then it's 5stars for the Osbourne.

Room Tip: Book a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arranged to meet friends for lunch on the terrace. What a wonderful way to spend a few hours and enjoy some good food and excellent service. You can sit on the terrace looking out to sea, have lunch and then move up a level to more comfortable seating and enjoy a really relaxed time to talk over coffee. We never felt hurried and it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugling_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were moved to this hotel after booking elsewhere via Hotels.com and being double booked. I am so glad we were as it was simply the best hotel in Torquay, and we have stayed in many hotels in Torquay and around the world.

The staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The room was large, overlooked the bay and was very comfortable. Outside, the terrace was lovely, although we could not eat in the restaurant that evening due to a wedding, it looked very nice.

At breakfast, the waiter was efficient, polite and professional. It is the additional touches, the magazines and information in the rooms, binoculars to see the wonderful view across to Brixham, water etc. All in all, an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I have just come back from a 4 nights break at The Osborne. Great hotel, lovely large, clean room, bathroom adequate size and hot water. The view from the 3 windows was something to die for. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Binoculars supplied was a nice extra. The food in the reastaurant was as good as we have had anywhere. The wating staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the dishes. On the second evenning I commented on the fact that the 6 main dishes were not going to be changed which resticted my wife's choice over 4 nights as she is not keen on meat, the next evenning we were shown a "specials" menu which solved our promlem. Parking was not always easy but we did always manage to find somewhere. As retired hoteliers we know how difficult it is to keep up this high standard and intend to return later in the year.

Room Tip: We had a sea facing room so cannot comment on any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyandJohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It is a few years since we last stayed at the Osborne and had forgotten how nice it is. It may be a bit tired in places but is it still has a charm, is comfortable, clean with very helpful and friendly staff and the best location in Torquay. It was a real pleasure to enjoy a breakfast which is cooked to order served to you on tables with fresh white linen and good quality cutlery and china. The purpose of our trip was to visit family and recently have stayed at the Premier Inn which this time of year is about the same price as the Osborne, however, it is so much nicer at the Osborne and well worth the extra you might have to pay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christineberriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing