We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English Riviera”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“English Riviera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed here with my cousin and his wife on our yearly holiday. This is a wonderful Victorian hotel with rooms that have been recently refurbished to a very good standard.
The staff and service were excellent nothing was too much trouble. Excellent choice of breakfast and with both an indoor and outdoor pool plus a tennis court there was plenty to do.
There is a lovely terrace bar and the food was excellent the best fish and chips I've had for a long time.
Richard the night porter was very helpful in advising us of local places to visit etc.
This is the perfect hotel for any type of break, check it out you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath1958_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    183
    67
    50
    17
See reviews for
97
289
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Second leg of our holiday, What a perfect place to stay. The view from the room was lovely. and floor a little uneven, but hey its an old building. We used the indoor pool and the gym, found both to be well equipped, even if some of the equipment was a little old.

Food was good, Staff were extremely helpful, and we enjoyed sitting on the terrace in the evening.
All in all

Room Tip: Just have a balcony on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Osborne is billed as one of Torquay's finest hotels, with a price tag to match, but if that's true then I am worried about the rest. The good points first of all: the location is fabulous, the staff are very good, and the food in the restaurant is excellent.

Unfortunately, that's where it ends.

If you are paying top end hotel prices, you expect top end fixtures, fittings and quality throughout the premises. After all, if there are 100 rooms, this place is taking in £10k+ per night, so you'd think some of that would be spent on making the place look pretty. Not so.

The ripped and peeling wallpaper in the corridors, cracked paint throughout, dirty and scuffed doors, and dirty windows, all show a lack of love from the owners. Perhaps since Caparo Hotels in London are the listed operators, it is not a surprise that they seem happy to rake in the room rates without any reinvestment. I expect my window to open and stay open without the use of a piece of loose wood to hold it there. I expect my bathroom light to have a plastic (or preferably metal) pull on the end. I expect to be able to reach the blind opening pulley without standing on a chair. I expect the swimming pool area to have been cleaned since 1986.

Talking of 1986, it was over breakfast when "Don't you want me Baby?" and "Waiting for a Star to Fall" were piped over my adequate but unexciting full English, that it dawned on me that the hotel suffers something of an identity crisis. "Timeless elegance" says the brochure, but I suspect the last major refit was carried out in the 80s, including the horrible tepid pastille yellow paint and gold plug sockets of the restaurant, and certainly including the quite disgustingly dirty indoor pool area. What you are left with is a hotel that thinks it has the class of a bygone era, but is confused by a different one altogther, with a foot in each and a subsequent lack of identity or indeed appeal to the discerning modern holidaymaker.

Oh, and if you go to the cheaper Brasserie for food (both the main restaurant and the Brasserie are good value and serve some very good food), don't go inside to eat, it is a horrible place; stick on the terrace and enjoy the sea view instead. Unless you prefer to see a half-baked art-deco imitation with cheaply exposed wiring and the atmosphere of a French SNCF station waiting room.

Other stylistic points continue the theme: the breakfast menu is printed on A4 printer paper (in colour!) and the Brasserie menu has been laminated by a local printer supplies shop having been knocked up on Microsoft Word. I am trying to avoid cheap Fawlty Towers metaphors, but Basil's typewriter would at least have had some shabby chic appeal when the result landed on the tables.

Finally to add to the 1980s theme, the bedroom telephones have also not been replaced since then, and still include a speed dial to "Train Enquiries" - sweet perhaps - if the telephone had at least been cleaned since the 1980s, which it had not. There is still a sign in reception directing lost souls without one of those mobile phone contraptions to the "public telephone" too. Thanks!

I have included some photographs taken this week to illustrate these points, since the glossy location pictures are already covered in corporateville. I am left mainly sad rather than annoyed, because this could be a fabulous place, if the parent company just put some money into it, and gave Torbay something back instead of just taking. Telephone call for Caparo Hotels: it's the top class English seaside holiday calling, and it wants its hotel back please.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobinHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here overnight on a business trip, couldn't praise the hotel enough. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, whether it be in the bar or the housekeeping team. Bedrooms were nicely furnished and very comfortable, we always ask for sea-view if possible, and were not disappointed. Bathroom was clean and well provided with plenty of towels and accessories. Again in the restaurant we enjoyed a delightful evening meal that was well cooked and well served. We had had afternoon tea on the lawn outside in the afternoon, and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxation. Would certainly revisit this hotel when in the Torquay area again.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts maybe, but that is a matter of choice. They certainly didn't disturb us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Osborne Hotel is certainly one of the better hotels in Torquay, but still our experience was rather disappointing. We had three Junior Suites with Sea View which were all three really spacious and clean but a bit "run down" and in one room the uneven floor was rather extreme. The bathrooms were clean too, however the water pressure was very low in two of our rooms. The really disappointing bit of the hotel was not the rooms but the state of the corridors and stairs (really in need of refurbishing!) and above all the unfriendliness and lack of motivation of the staff. I was rather shocked by constantly being given the impression of being a burden to everyone (I am always very polite, so it can hardly be my fault). Breakfast was very disappointing too (it cannot be so difficult to make a decent scrambled eggs and buy acceptable fruit juice!). Probably I would accept all the negative points mentioned if the hotel were half the price - but like this it's ridiculously overpriced. The positive aspects are the location of the hotel (if you have sea view rooms), a relatively reliable wifi and the beach which is only 2mins from the hotel. There is also a gym, and indoor and an outdoor pool, but we haven't used these facilities.

Room Tip: It seems that rooms facing the back have been refurbished whilst the rooms with sea view (at least t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos r, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comment" certainly one of the better hotels in Torquay" . I am sorry that our corridor decor did not meet your expectations and can assure you that we are constantly looking at ways to improve our guest experience with us.We have taken on board your comments with breakfast juices and presently looking at different options, I am truly sorry to see our staff were not our usually friendly team ,something I am normally proud about and i sincerely apologize .

We value all our guests comments, so thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, and you enjoy your stay for all the right reasons .
Carlos Rios Deputy Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night on our journey to Cornwall. It had been recommended by a family member. We had booked through booking. com for a dinner bed and breakfast deal. The welcome on arrival was good but the service on the terrace bar was very poor and one of the staff was extremely rude. Food and restaurant service was good but our room was very disappointing. It was situated at the back of the hotel overlooking a flat roof, which despite the flower tubs was pretty poor to say the least. The bathroom was very dark and musty. The bed linen hadn't been ironed and the window looking out over the flat roof couldn't be locked so security was a concern. Parking at the hotel is very poor for such a large hotel of this standard and although it is not the fault of the hotel itself, someone, I assume who was staying at the hotel kindly bumped into the back of my car and left me a small dent, very kind, and didn't have the courtesy to report it and own up to it.
We might consider staying at the Osborne again but it wouldn't be my first choice on my first experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I live in torbay and as we had not been to the Osborne for a number of years decided to take lunch on the outside bistro terrace. The views of Torbay are probably the best in the bay area with the possible exception of the Berry Head hotel and imperial hotels. The service provided was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Food choice was good and prices about average for the Summer season here in Torbay. The terrace overlooks lovely lawns, gardens, tennis court and swimming pool and the onwards to Thatcher rock and Torbay itself. Food quality was also good. As we had not been to the hotel for some time we went to look at Langtrys's restaurant inside the hotel. It was pretty much as we remembered and about what you would expect for this standard of hotel in Torbay. However the rest of the hotel is badly in need of refurbishment and/or a coat of paint.........if you are after a relaxing and peaceful place to eat al fresco on a warm summers evening / lunch, then give this place try you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Did not stay in hotel, just dined outside.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vialli54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#28 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing