We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place for special people”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place for special people”
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My cousin and I have just returned from a 3 night stay. We had 2 sea view rooms on the top floor. The rooms were not palatial but perfectly adequate for us. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless but I agree that although they have been superficially refurbished they are basically still as they would have been many years ago. However the issues reported here by others have obviously been noted and addressed. We had bath robes, and glasses in the bathroom, there was complimentary bottled water as well as the usual selection of teas and coffee. Unfortunately there was no mini bar so if you like paying £1.50 for a Mars bar you will be disappointed, still the biscuits were free!
The indoor swimming pool was lovely and warm, the changing rooms were quite sad, but as this is all in the basement accessed by the lift, you can go direct from your room without having to cross the public areas in your leisure suit!
The staff were without exception, polite, welcoming and efficient, either they have had a complete change of personnel or perhaps it is just a change of attitude.
We booked by contacting the hotel direct, and got a very reasonable rate for dinner bed and breakfast. Evening meals were excellent, each dish was a work of art in itself, my cousin a very fussy vegetarian was well catered for. We never eat cooked breakfasts so I cannot comment but the toast was certainly hot!
It was nice to check in and out at reception sitting comfortably at a desk opposite the young lady that took my original call. So if you prefer to make your booking via a call centre, arrive to stand in a queue at reception only to be told that the rooms you thought you had reserved have been taken by someone that has checked in before you, then perhaps you should stick to large hotel chains!
The location was beautiful, stunning sea views. Torquay is very hilly, the walk to the town centre is okay in good weather, be warned, the coastal path is not a short cut, take a taxi back!
So to conclude, with acknowledgement to Basil Fawlty, this is a very special place for special people (no riff- raff)!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susi52surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    188
    73
    53
    18
See reviews for
110
302
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite at all times. We found the service very slick, and the food was superb. I would say however that eating at the restaurant for the whole of our 4 night stay was possibly a bad idea as veg was fairly minimal. I was pleased that some of the fish served was local, but i would have liked to have seen a lot more locally produced food. Breakfast was good, but the supplements charged for anything other than a full english breakfast were a little cheeky, given the amount paid already.

The room was quite small, but well furnished, and we had a beautiful sea view. The bathroom however really needs to be completely overhauled, as all of the fittings were dated and chipped. I would not have had a bath. The water pressure from the shower was poor, and the temperature was either very hot, or cold, with no middle ground. I would have liked dressing gowns in the room as well, but it appears these had to be purchased. Glasses in the bathroom for putting our toothbrushes in would have been useful too. We had no trouble with noise at the front of the hotel.

The cleaning service was hit and miss. The room wasn't hoovered throughout our stay, and the maid didn't clear the glasses and ice buckets we had delievered to the room, nor clean the teapot. I was also surprised that our bed linen wasn't changed, even after i had managed to cover the pillowcase with mascara. However, the bathroom was always spotless.

The indoor pool surrounds were absolutely filthy, and the pool was very cold. The weather wasn't great on our stay, so we didn't spend much time at the outdoor pool, however on the one sunny day, the heating for the outdoor pool was broken so we were unable to go in which was a shame. It also meant that when we went to the indoor pool instead it was full of children.

Overall, i would say that this is a lovely place to go for dinner / lunch, and enjoy excellent service and scenery. I think however that the hotel facilities really need more attention to merit a 4 star award.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claireandj0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This hotel is massively over rated. Three star would be more than sufficent. 200 pound per night we paid for us to make our own bed, clean our own toiltet, supply our own sugar, have to ask for clean sheets, ask for our inclusive robes, ask for the fruit to be removed after 4 days of going off in the window. The Hesketh suite is not exactly a suite, in fact its not a particulary large room. Lovely View though. Breakfast was very poor, toiast cold, eggs were like plastic, unless poached then they were like bullets. Very very dissappointed, was our treat and was a big let down. There are two pools, ok if you take the children but no adult time only. They did take off 100 pounds from the bill but you dont go away to moan, you want to have a lovely relaxed time and here it just wasnt going to happen. We are going camping next time and Im cooking the eggs.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StormyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

sad to say my party and i had dreadful food poisoning from the place -felt so strongly reported it to the environmental health, staff were arrogant and disinterested, eating areas were dirty, will not go back, too many better venues who appreciate your custom in the Torbay area to bother with this one until its had a radical shake up of staff and a deep clean of eating areas/kitchens

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scottie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlosintorquay, Deputy Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2009
Upon hearing the accusation put forward of food poisoning.
The hotel immediately contacted an independent environmental advisor and samples of the alleged food were sent for analyse.
The samples in question were reported to be free of all possible threats of food poisoning and a clean bill of health given , we found claims of food poisoning to be unsubstantiated .
We take food safety at The Osborne very seriously and enjoy a healthy relationship with with our local environmental officer and continue to do so.

Deputy Manager
The Osborne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We stayed there on a beautiful day. Great views of sea and 20 minute walk to city centre but be warned there are a few hills.Outdoor brasserie serving reasonably priced food but the drinks are a bit pricey and the staff were not particularly friendly.Check in was efficient.Rooms quite noisy but not from other residents but kitchen staff.Bathroom could do modernisation and no sky TV.Gym and pool a bonus.The hotel also has a numbe rof timeshare apartments and I suspect this maybe more profitable than a more client focussed hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Having stayed here on business a few times over the last ten years I have been back on a number of occasions and spent my own money rather than the company's on excellent food in a great location. The service has always been top notch and the standards are very high not least of all because it is a hotel on a beach which must cause havoc with the fixtures and fittings (sea air is bracing but rather corrosive in the long run). The staff are friendly and efficient - the air of Georgian grandeur does not translate into stuffiness or pretension - and manage to be as affable to children as adults. Every so often a bad review appears on this site and I wonder if standards are falling but every time I go I can find nothing to complain about (and not because I am particularly easy to please). The location provides for everyone, a short walk into town (rather longer on the coast path), an uncrowded beach, pool, tennis courts, cheap and cheerful brasserie and rather fine restaurant. If you do go, take the coastal road through Teignmouth and Babbacombe rather than coming through Torquay and avoid the traffic.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardplayer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Arriving there we did not exactly got what we expected, but firstly the positive side. The hotel is located approximatels 20-30 min. walk from Torquay town on a calm hill with a wonderfull view over the bay. As the weather was very nice, you could play tennis or mini-golf or just relax and having a drink outside.

The hotel is a 4* hotel, but we would say it is a good 3* hotel, definitively not more. It has seen it best days and despite having had renovations, you just see that the hotel is not up to date.
Our room was on the backside and we new exactly when breakfasttime started, as we had the whole smell of the kitchen in our room. Breakfast was a little bit poor, fruits out of cans except melons. Fruit juices out of tetrapack and some cereals. As we were there over the easter weekend it would have been nice, if they would have made an extra effort and put something special for breakfast on easter Sunday.
If ordering some bacon and eggs, you have to wait fur a while to get it and it is absolutely tastless. Due to this experience we did decide to not have dinner at this place.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DASI_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,373 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
853 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing