We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top quality hotel in a superb location!”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A top quality hotel in a superb location!”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This superb converted Victorian residence is located in one of the nicest parts of Torquay close to Meadfoot beach yet only a short distance from Torquay marina and town centre. The hotel is run by Chris, Caroline and Gary Waters for whom nothing is too much trouble to ensure their guests are looked after in every way. We were warmly wlecomed by Gary on arrival and offered a refreshing cup of tea. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room had been upgraded and our pleasant double bedroom on the second floor had a delightful patio area outside complete with sun lounger and garden swing! The breakfasts were a delight with a huge varierty of choice. Although we had travelled to Torquay by train there is an excellent local taxi service and there is a bus stop just yards from the Meadfoot. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Meadfoot Bay and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    36
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
347
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I needed to stay near Totnes for a business meeting. Being slightly withered by the anonymity and functionality of ‘those’ large hotel chains, I looked around for a change. The reviews for the Meadfoot Bay were so good I thought I would be stupid not to try it out. They were completely true. I booked a large standard room, number 35, I think. The staff were friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. The hotel was smartly turned out and my room had a balcony so I could sit out and see the coast as the sun went down.

The breakfast was on another level – fabulously tasty, clearly locally sourced and so plentiful I didn’t need anything for the rest of the day until I reached Kent. Thank you, I’m booked in again at the end of the week.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in July and really enjoyed our stay. We found the rooms very comfy although the shower is strange. It's in a good location and the breakfast is exceptional with wonderful service. The family that run the hotel make you very welcome. Great bang for your $$$$$.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaggytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at The Meadfoot Bay for 2 nights in June 2011 in the St Andrew's Suite. We are frequent visitors to Torquay as we have family there and have therefore experienced a whole range of establishments (from large hotels to small B & Bs), some excellent, others not. This is the only hotel we have stayed in that we could not fault: breakfast probably the best we have ever had; impeccable and friendly service; tastefully decorated room; good position.
Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u k
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

After reading the reviews for this hotel , we decided to try a 4 night stay , and how glad are we that we did! Everything was super, from the extensive breakfast menu to the spotless rooms.Nothing was too much tpouble for the owners and they had thought of all those little touches that are so ofen missing in the chain hotels.
I have recemmonded this hotel to our friends and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayceejuniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Easy parking
Very helpful reception and check-in with welcome cuppa!
Spotlessly clean and stylish room and ensuite.
Likewise the whole hotel.
Staff most friendly, polite, courteous, helpful.
Food excellent and service second to none!
Information re the area and any requests promptly provided/answered.
Perfect quiet location near Meadfoot Beach.

Room Tip: The hotel is quietly located. Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine182010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We were travelling from Germany to Devon and Cornwall. Torquay were our domicile. The Meadfoot Bay Hotel and the service is true to all photos, which liked to be seen in the brochures. Family Waters do well know how to spoil their guests in a very charming way.
Their small pretty castle is totally lovely designed from the entrance to the upper floors. We had a small, but sweet room with a wonderful terrace.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlafNeumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meadfoot Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing