We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Meadfoot Bay
Nearby Hotels
The Richwood(Torquay)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Corbyn Head Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$85
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$127
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
482
41
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
482
41
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature suitedecanter of sherryon arrivalspa bathprivate terracefamily run hotelcooked breakfastdeluxe roomcold meatswet roomwelcome drinkfantastic stayhigh standardfull englishbreakfast was amazingsmall hotellovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had a wonderful time and didn't want to leave! Exceptional hospitality and perfect accomodation! We loved the comfortable, clean and modern furnished rooms and the facilities. Wide choice at breakfast. Lovely garden with lots of plants and "hidden" places to relax. Every wish will be granted by the most friendly staff. Excellent!
We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the Valderrama Superior Deluxe room. Huge balcony with swing chair!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosalila04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just back after a long weekend in Torquay. We have been lucky to stay in many of the hotels in Torquay over the years and quite simply this is the best one we have stayed in.
From the moment you are welcomed in by Chris, you feel relaxed and at home.
We only had a standard room but it was awesome with a view over Meadfoot Bay. Exceptionally clean and tidy and everything working as you would want it to. The breakfast was lovely with a choice of most things you could ever want. The Meadfoot is set back well enough from the hussle and bussle of Torquay front but only a comfortable 10 minutes away from the town.
We should have stayed longer if we are honest, and will definately be going back to stay at this lovely hotel again.
On our departure we were even given a voucher for a 30% saving should we go back! 30%, unheard of and a massive saving to be had.
All in all, we cannot speak highly enough of this friendly hotel and can only give it our highest recommendation

Mark and Lis Davidson, Bristol.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArnieDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This family run hotel made us feel welcome from check in to our departure. Chris, Caroline and Gary were friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. Our room, the St Andrew suite was fantastic, it had a real wow factor. The bathroom with Jacuzzi bath was brilliant, the bed so comfortable and a nice touch was the welcoming sherry, which my wife told me was very nice! The breakfast is a must and a snip for only eight pounds each. we would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you once again to Chris, Caroline and Gary. We will be returning.

Room Tip: worth an upgrade if available
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliewhittingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This superb converted Victorian residence is located in one of the nicest parts of Torquay close to Meadfoot beach yet only a short distance from Torquay marina and town centre. The hotel is run by Chris, Caroline and Gary Waters for whom nothing is too much trouble to ensure their guests are looked after in every way. We were warmly wlecomed by Gary on arrival and offered a refreshing cup of tea. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room had been upgraded and our pleasant double bedroom on the second floor had a delightful patio area outside complete with sun lounger and garden swing! The breakfasts were a delight with a huge varierty of choice. Although we had travelled to Torquay by train there is an excellent local taxi service and there is a bus stop just yards from the Meadfoot. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Meadfoot Bay and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I needed to stay near Totnes for a business meeting. Being slightly withered by the anonymity and functionality of ‘those’ large hotel chains, I looked around for a change. The reviews for the Meadfoot Bay were so good I thought I would be stupid not to try it out. They were completely true. I booked a large standard room, number 35, I think. The staff were friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. The hotel was smartly turned out and my room had a balcony so I could sit out and see the coast as the sun went down.

The breakfast was on another level – fabulously tasty, clearly locally sourced and so plentiful I didn’t need anything for the rest of the day until I reached Kent. Thank you, I’m booked in again at the end of the week.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews