We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel. Very welcoming stay.”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel. Very welcoming stay.”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My girlfriend and I booked a late 2 night break through late rooms. We aded request for a room with a view, and were not dissappointed when we were allocated a room with a very nice balcony / patio area. The hotel is quiet and perfect for our age group for a nice get away.

I recommend the full english breakfast which is prepared to order and is a lovely start to the day. The hotel is within walking distance into the town centre and the local beach is 400m away.

The staff are very helpful and recommended we took the daytrip on the Paignton to Kings weir steam train, which turned out to be cracking day out. I would recommend the boat trip up the river once you get into Dartmouth. Would we saty again.... yes we would.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryDebbie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    35
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
347
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and wish it had been longer- when you go to a hotel- you can tell if the 'staff' are just trying to please you or actually mean it. This is a family run hotel, which runs like clockwork, they are exceptionally friendly courteous and can not do enough for you- from the time we arrived we were greeted with a lovely warm welcome from Gary- our room was Immaculate, spacious and decorated to a very high standard- the hotel throughout is exceptionally clean- which you often don't get in 4 star chain hotels! The breakast as previously reported- is substantial and filling- and again nothing is too much even for the most fussiest of eaters. We drank in the hotel bar- which was busy every night- don't be put of by thinking that the bar is open until all hours- because it shuts the same as every other pub (last orders) one evening we retired earlier and could not hear a thing- so you will not be interupted by any noise of voices. We wasn't sure where to eat and before we could say yes please a table and taxi had already been booked for us- we love this hotel for all the reasons above- plus if you did want to venture to the town for an evening meal it costs less than £4 each way by taxi- perfect. The first night's sleep I had - (with the lovely fresh smell of linen)- I woke a little confused because I thought we we at home!! However my house is no where near as clean!! If the sun is out- see if you can be booked in at Osbournes Hotel diagnal to the Meadfoot Bay for a bbq- overlooking the bay- we watched the sun go down with a bottle or two and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance. I can't wait to go back neaxt year as the couple we met have been doing for years! If you do come to Torquay you will not go wrong with staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hewletts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This is the 2 nd time my husband and myself spent our wedding anniversary at the meadfoot i cannot say it did not disappoint us they kindly gave us the same room we had previously which as its own terrace so u can sit and look out over the meadfoof beach and as a lovely garden they kindly left us a lovely bottle of champagne with complementary chocolates a real personal touch. The rooms are lovely and clean and very peace full just a leap from torquay town. There is a lovely quiet beach about 10 minutes walk down hill but i must say its a definate challenge on the way back this is the meadfoot bay beach and there is a little cafe there so you can have drink and look out over the beach . Torquay is about 15 walk. Be fore i sign of last but not least is the breakfast at the meadfoot bay hotel it is excellent lovely and fresh and you can order what ever you fancy whether its fresh fruit or full English i can.fault it and i would say its the best we have ever had . I must finish with a big thank you to Gary who is the son he always as a smile and polite and help full as is every one at this gem of hotel thank you again sylvie and terry

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had a wonderful time and didn't want to leave! Exceptional hospitality and perfect accomodation! We loved the comfortable, clean and modern furnished rooms and the facilities. Wide choice at breakfast. Lovely garden with lots of plants and "hidden" places to relax. Every wish will be granted by the most friendly staff. Excellent!
We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the Valderrama Superior Deluxe room. Huge balcony with swing chair!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosalila04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just back after a long weekend in Torquay. We have been lucky to stay in many of the hotels in Torquay over the years and quite simply this is the best one we have stayed in.
From the moment you are welcomed in by Chris, you feel relaxed and at home.
We only had a standard room but it was awesome with a view over Meadfoot Bay. Exceptionally clean and tidy and everything working as you would want it to. The breakfast was lovely with a choice of most things you could ever want. The Meadfoot is set back well enough from the hussle and bussle of Torquay front but only a comfortable 10 minutes away from the town.
We should have stayed longer if we are honest, and will definately be going back to stay at this lovely hotel again.
On our departure we were even given a voucher for a 30% saving should we go back! 30%, unheard of and a massive saving to be had.
All in all, we cannot speak highly enough of this friendly hotel and can only give it our highest recommendation

Mark and Lis Davidson, Bristol.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnieDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This family run hotel made us feel welcome from check in to our departure. Chris, Caroline and Gary were friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. Our room, the St Andrew suite was fantastic, it had a real wow factor. The bathroom with Jacuzzi bath was brilliant, the bed so comfortable and a nice touch was the welcoming sherry, which my wife told me was very nice! The breakfast is a must and a snip for only eight pounds each. we would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you once again to Chris, Caroline and Gary. We will be returning.

Room Tip: worth an upgrade if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliewhittingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This superb converted Victorian residence is located in one of the nicest parts of Torquay close to Meadfoot beach yet only a short distance from Torquay marina and town centre. The hotel is run by Chris, Caroline and Gary Waters for whom nothing is too much trouble to ensure their guests are looked after in every way. We were warmly wlecomed by Gary on arrival and offered a refreshing cup of tea. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room had been upgraded and our pleasant double bedroom on the second floor had a delightful patio area outside complete with sun lounger and garden swing! The breakfasts were a delight with a huge varierty of choice. Although we had travelled to Torquay by train there is an excellent local taxi service and there is a bus stop just yards from the Meadfoot. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Meadfoot Bay and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meadfoot Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing