We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels EVER!!!”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels EVER!!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely 3 day stay here. Room absolute luxury! Lovely terrace and bathroom with heated floor! The staff are really nice and give good advice on places to go. The food at breakfast was brilliant so much choice hot and cold including chocolate milkshake! Would love to stay here again - even with a power cut this morning the staff couldn't do anymore they are amazing! Best hotel we have have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
335
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Booked this through booking.com. after reading other reviews. Excellent location run by very attentive staff. Our room as small but spotless. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. The cold options were plentiful and a pleasant change to the usual buffet fare.
Would recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-Upon-Avon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Superb family run B&B in a quiet picturesque location, a short walking distance to the town. Amazing breakfast - such generosity. We extended our stay as we really didn't want to leave - we can't wait to return. Thank you Chris, Caroline and Gary for making our stay so enjoyable.
Linda & Chris

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaChris_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed for a few days a part of B/Hol trip. Location is great, has parking on-site and is 5 mins walk down to the beach with a cafe and beautiful views or, 15 mins walk down the steep hill into the the town centre, great for the appetite and thankfully it only rained overnight.
Run by a very welcoming family and it has lots of daytime space, outside seating and elegant furnishings. Breakfast provided a generous choice of hot/cold options that all look and taste good. We had chosen the basic bedroom which was very clean and comfortable
with a smart ensuite which was compact - no room to swing the cat!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mac187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed there over the bank holiday weekend everything was superb we both are very particular about where we stay, and this hotel and staff ticked all the boxes it's only a 10 min walk into town, and 3 min to a superb beach, hotel is classy and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My wife and I booked a three night stay in a ground floor luxury double room. The hotel is owned and run by a very pleasant family, Chris, Caroline and their son, Gary. On arrival, we were greeted by Caroline, who made us feel very welcome and gave us a (complimentary) cup of tea in the lounge. The hotel has a luxury feel and is very well appointed, with smart regency style furnishings in the public rooms and clean, smart contemporary furnishings in the bedroom. Chris served breakfast each morning and was always attentive, friendly and courteous. There was always a large selection of good quality breakfast foods to choose from, including 'full English', home made muesli and Chris's artistically presented fruit yogurts. We enjoyed a very comfortable and relaxing stay and found the atmosphere very homely. The owners were always very pleasant and helpful, without being intrusive, and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is situated in a very pleasant, quiet part of Torquay yet is still only a few minutes from the beach and town centre. We are very happy to recommend a stay here to all our friends and family and will certainly stay again when we next visit Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed at the Meadfoot Bay Hotel when attending a weekend Conference last week. Attending the Convention meant having to leave the hotel approximately 8.20am for 2 days. Breakfast started at 8.30am. The owners' son Chris was very friendly and helpful about places to visit locally and made me feel very welcome and had no hesitation of allowing me to have my breakfast at 7.45am and 8am on the two days of the conference. The single room was very handy as it was on the ground floor and had a walk in shower which was suitable for me as I am unable to use a bath. The choices of items to eat at Breakfast and the actual full breakfast was of very good quality and cooked to order. The whole of the ground floor was furnished to a high standard and every room spotless. Chris is a credit to his parents and nothing was too much for him to do. A luxury, homely, atmosphere 4 minutes drive to Torquay centre and close to Meadfoot Bay set in a quiet area. Great value for money, accommodation and food. I am already recommending it to all my friends and I would definitely go back. Thank you for making a single person feel so cared for and being so interested in making my 3 nights stay the best they could have been. The photos on the site are worth looking at just to see how delightful the hotel and public rooms are. There is a small area to sit in the sunshine outside the front of the hotel and adequate free parking. What more could you want?

Room Tip: There is only one single room on the ground floor. Excellent for someone who has difficulty walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meadfoot Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing