We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly as described!”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exactly as described!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After searching through numerous hotels and not having a lot of luck my daughter suggested that we try using trip advisor. Well I have to tell you that it was the best thing we did.
My husband and I wanted a hotel that could provide good service, was clean and had good food. This was to be our first break as a couple for a number of years. Well I can tell you that if you are reading this look no further. This hotel is amazing! It is exactly as described by all the other excellent reviews you see. The place is so clean that you could walk around barefoot.
We were welcomed by Chris with a drink when we arrived and he left us to enjoy this before booking in. My husband had booked and requested a room without having to climb too many stairs as I had recently had a knee operation. This is exactly what we received.
I must mention the breakfast that was provided and thank Caroline who cooked an amazing breakfast every morning and the rest of the buffet breakfast left us spoilt for choice. If you book try the homemade muesli and artistic yogurts!
In the evening we made use of the small bar that was provided for residents. Gary was the perfect host and was a mind of information on the best eating places around. By the way if you read this Gary the fish and chips at Babbacombe were great!
Thank you once again and we will be back!!

P.S. Congratulations on your latest 5 star rating for food we spotted on the door which was awarded while we were residents. Very well deserved!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buttons57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
331
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My fiance and I just had a lovely weekend at the Meadfoot Bay Hotel over the August Bank holiday weekend. The room was nicely decorated and welcoming, the bathroom was immaculate and breakfast was delicious! The small touches didn't go unnoticed either: a small welcome bottle of sherry in our room, two new bottles of water left for us every afternoon, two clean and comfortable bathrobes for our use, and a freshly hoovered room every day. The hotel is close enough to walk into town and far enough away from all the street noise (very quiet sleep indeed!). Also, do yourself a huge favour and make sure you take advantage of their morning breakfast! You are offered a buffet of food to choose from and/or a hot cooked full English if desired. Trust me, you won't find anything nearly as good with the same variety in town. We had a great time in Torquay. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Room Tip: I trust all rooms at the Meadfoot Bay are to great standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audz311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have had another wonderful (but short unfortunately) stay in this establishment.
The Family are so welcoming to the tired traveler - a refreshing drink is immediately
to hand. The rooms are delightful, relaxing and, of course, spotlessly clean and up
to date.
The breakfast selection was excellent and varied, as usual, and served with a smile.
I shouldn't really be saying all this because it was difficult enough to get a reservation
as, understandably, it's very popular. However, if you can't book online it's always
worth giving them a call we've found. Oh yes and April/May are good months to enjoy
Torquay (I've lived there so know) - there is so much to see and do. Great! Thanks
again Meadfoot Bay Hotel - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Book early and each of the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent and a good night's sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine182010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and strongly recommend this family run hotel. The Waters family are really helpful and customer focussed and recommended 3 superb restaurants. The bar and living area are beautifully furnished. We booked a suite with a terrace and it exceeded our expectations. Even if you do not have a terrace there are two available to guest. As well as free wifi in each bedroom there is computer in the reception area. The quality and choice at breakfast was superb. The majority of guest that we spoke to were repeat visitors and we will definitely visit Meadfoot Bay hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marydawn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We just HAD to comment on The Meadfoot Bay! We had a mid-week break there, 13-15th August '13. We were made most welcome, with tea on arrival. Accommodation was superb, very spacious and open plan (suite 21, with private terrace.) Everywhere was spotless. The breakfast alone is worth going back for! Never have we seen so much choice and the quality of the cooking was second to none! This is a family run business, husband, wife and son and they all play their part in making you most welcome. The hotel is in a very quiet spot of Torquay, but within walking distance of all the main attractions, including the harbour, albeit a little hilly. We came here to celebrate my 65th birthday which was on the 14th August and the Meadfoot Bay certainly made it one to remember!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 21 which was excellent. However, had the weather been really hot and sunny, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for only one night (Friday) in August since we had taken a flat Saturday-Saturday but wanted to travel a day early. Room was a 'compact' double but quite big enough and spotless. Public areas tastefully furnished and comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful. Cold buffet table at breakfast t better than I've seen in much 'posher' (well, more expensive) hotels and the 'full English' was freshly cooked and excellent.
Walking distance into the town and quite near the beach.
Our experience confirms the other good reviews. Absolutely fine, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long week - end and were treated to all the benefits of a friendly family run hotel as well as superb breakfasts and a host and family for whom nothing is too much trouble. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#8 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#7 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meadfoot Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing