We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel.”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
REDDITCH
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superb hotel.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The rave reviews for this hotel do not in any way exaggerate how good it is, from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave the owners cannot do enough for you. We had the compact room which was very neat and tidy, the bathroom was well laid out with modern fittings. Breakfast is superb with an excellent choice and there is also a bar facility in the evening. The hotel lounges are very well furnished with comfortable seating areas. Will go again and without doubt recommend.

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to book a compact room still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedditchRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    35
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
347
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Warm welcome, we were offered a pot of tea or coffee within seconds of arriving. Amazing victorian building, lovely rooms and breakfast was fab and friendly owners. Would I come again you bet I would.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a short stay at the Meadfoot at the beginning of September and stayed in the Signature Suite with it's own balcony area (the one in the pic with the settee at the bottom of the bed). It was nicely spacious - which is just what we wanted (suitable for a v.tall person). Lovely spacious bathroom, but the downside of it being at the top of the house was the water pressure was sadly feeble; hampering the power shower and making running a bath take absolutely ages (I gave up in the end). (Also, you can hear the washing machine on it's spin cycle in the next room if you're using the bathroom in the early morning.). There was no air conditioning/extractors. The balcony was large enough to sit out on and has a chair swing! I can echo the other positive comments, this is a well-run family hotel, really friendly and helpful with a gigantic selection for Breakfast. Beautifully cooked (hot) English Breakfast too using local produce; only open for an hour though (9am to 10am), it would be nicer if it was a bit longer, however, we'll give it 10 out of 10 for quality. There is no lift in the Hotel and the Signature Room is on the top floor (so you can have a balcony/terrace). So, if you're not good with stairs, perhaps would be better to choose a room on the ground floor. Also, for people new to Torquay, be warned that it's very hilly, so if you're not too clever on your pins or have tricky knees (like me), take your time to carefully check where your hotel is. On the map it looked to me like a short walk down to the beach and town. Actually it was a steep downhill walk down to the beach in one direction; to walk into town the other direction, a very steep uphill, then extremely steep downhill walk to the harbourside. Best to take a taxi either way, circa £3.50 a time. Regular Walkers (e.g., with the Norwegian Walking Poles) will have no problem. We would stay there again, but take the car next time.

Room Tip: Depending on how mobile you are, there's a couple of flights of stairs to get to the top of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just returned from Meadfoot Bay and once again we were not disappointed, we went into the new signature suite - WOW it was amazing, we loved it.. The hosts Chris,Caroline and Gary are superb they cannot do enough for you... We would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else.. Thanks again guys see you again next year!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrindley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have just returned from a three-night stay in The Meadfoot Bay Hotel. I can confirm the other reviews here of a friendly well-run family hotel as being absolutely right. Our de-luxe room was almost the biggest we have ever stayed in and the room and en-suite were fitted to a very high standard. Breakfast is from a large buffet choice and the cooked breakfasts are very substantial.

It would have helped us somewhat if breakfast had been available from 8am or earlier, but I am an early riser and other people may not be bothered by this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having stayed in many Torquay hotels we wanted to be near mead foot beach and centre of Torquay. This hotel is ideally situated, immaculate with great rooms. The breakfast choice was to die for. I couldn't find fault with much but if i had to the breakfast time of 8.30am was a little late for us early birds, and the dodgy tv remote was a bit frustrating, overall though an excellently run hotel with a nice family feel. Definitely worth A stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richlau l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Having seen the many positive reviews for the Meadfoot Bay I was delighted to find them fully justified. This is a real gem of a hotel that gets everything just right. From the small personal touches such as welcoming drinks to the high standards of the rooms and facilities including flat screen Tv,DVD player,complementary WI-FI and in-room safes everything was just perfect for my needs. My parents and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of August and required the use of the ground floor deluxe room with wet room. This was done to a stunning standard. The family were very welcoming and friendly and made staying here a pleasure. Breakfast was fantastic with a wonderful choice of options! To top things off the hotel is located on very leafy road only a short walk down to the sea and offers a very quiet nights sleep. This is a very elegant and understated hotel and deserves every glowing review it receives. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meadfoot Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing