We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

All the great reviews of this hotel are accurate. The Hotel is in a quiet location but not far from the harbour or town (10 - 15 minutes walk max.), we were in a room at the front of the hotel and with a window open heard no noise except birds in the morning. The rooms are very well decorated and are spotless. Breakfast was spot on and the choice ...well if you're not satisfied here you never will be.
It's run by a very friendly and helpful family who give a very pleasant service. We will return even though we don't live that far away and don't really have to stay overnight.

Room Tip: As far as I could see all the rooms are at least very good and the suites really are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
335
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Another fantastic stay at The Meadfoot Bay. This time round we got to stay in both the Signature Suites - pure luxury and with the added bonus of a terrace to enjoy. Chris, Caroline and Gary as always made our stay so wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Even to the point of surprising us with a bottle of wine in the room in celebration of my husband's birthday. As ever we enjoyed the wonderful breakfast selection which set us up for the day and Chris even reserved our favourite table by the bay window. The bar area is very relaxing and Gary was on hand to provide a tipple or two before bedtime. The hot chocolate with marsh mellows are to die for!! We love this hotel and can not recommend it enough. This is truly home from home. Chris, Caroline and Gary - we will be back again and again!! Tania & Tom Walsh xx

Room Tip: 2nd Floor: For pure luxury choose one of the Signature Suites with terrace - beautiful views. 1st F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Went for two night break ,what a lovely hotel everything was clean fresh not one thing to complain abou.t We stayed in the signature suite what a room bed was huge decoration is tastefully done and spotless,even has tv in bathroom.The balcony outside is wonderful shame we did not have the weather to enjoy it as much as we would have liked.Has a partial sea view and the lights at night make it look very pretty.Upon arrival we were greated by one of the owners and given the chance to enjoy a drink before going up to the room.Breakfast in outstanding just like all inclusive aboard so much choice and nothing is to much trouble for them .The hotel is only a short walk to town bit is a bit hilly but many nice restrants to visit so well worth it .I would not hesitate in recomending this hotel to others such a lovely place should be a five star hotel as nothing to fault at all.Thankyou so much for a lovely stay in your beatiful hotel we will visit again soon .

Room Tip: The signature suite worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey9670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Fantastic stay!! This was me and my boyfriend's first trip to Torquay, after staying at this hotel it defiantly won't be our last!!. Gary gave us a warm and friendly welcome, informed us about the hotel and showed us to our room ( not far from the reception). On our first night we stayed in the deluxe ground floor room which was fabulous. The bathroom was spacious and the room clean and unique. We even had a welcome drink of sherry placed in our room which I thought was really thoughtful!!. On our remaining three nights we stayed in the signature suite with a Terrace which was a FANTASTIC and modern room. From the bathroom with a T.V, spacious and comfortable bed to the attention to detailed room. Breakfast was great very morning and Chris gave us such excellent service and good cooked food to your liking! I recommend you try their milkshakes (delicious) !!!. Good location only a 5-10 minute walk into town. Weather was not that great but we still had an amazing time!

Room Tip: Signature Suite with Terrace!!! Amazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie210012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Ideal location for a hotel in Torquay, being only 5 minutes walk from the harbour. We were greeted by Chris, Caroline and Gary, the lovely family who run this hotel. They showed superb hospitality and gave us amazing service. The room was spotlessly clean, well laid out with the necessary amenities. Breakfast was fantastic...serving buffet style and cooked to your liking. There was an extensive range of food and Chris did not hesitate to serve whatever we wanted.
We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely be visiting again. Thank you to Chris, Caroline and Gary for making our stay so enjoyable and welcoming - from Mary and John.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dmh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our first trip to Torquay and certainly won't be our last after discovering this wonderful hotel.
The service we received was exceptional. Our welcome couldn't have been more friendly and i took to the owner straight away. After a brief but comprehensive introduction to the hotel we were shown to our room. I had tried to book the signature suite but unfortunately they were all booked up as i didn't book early enough, so instead we opted for the Deluxe Double which most definitely didn't disappoint. It was spacious, very clean and comfortable, also an enormous bed and some lovely touches ie dressing gowns and quick wifi connection etc.
The location is close enough to the Harbour and town centre but far enough away to be private and quiet, and if you don't fancy walking the local taxi service is excellent and prompt.
In the morning we were greeted and then presented with a cracking breakfast choice which has to be seen to behold!
All in all we will be back, and thoroughly looking forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank view r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Went for 2 nights, stayed in the signature suite which was fantastic, the room was clean and spacious and thankfully the weather wasn't too bad so we could enjoy the terrace. The owners are very friendly and happy to help with anything. Good location, 10 minute walk into town, and if you don't fancy the walk and want a cab, it's so easy to find one and is really cheap!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonbutterfly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,756 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meadfoot Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing