We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John and Louise Rogers - Excellent Family run Hotel”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“John and Louise Rogers - Excellent Family run Hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My Husband and I returned from the hotel on Wednesday 28th May after having a 4 night break. This is our 3rd visit back. The hospitality from Gary, Chris and Caroline is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. The room we stayed in was fantastic with a slight sea view and a balcony.
The room was done to a very high standard. The buffet breakfast was amazing with so much choice and a fabulous cooked breakfast too, once again with a choice of cooked items. We also spent a couple of nights chilling in the small bar area and watching the tv. We can certainly recommend Shiraz bar for a light snack and drinks by the harbour to sit and watch the world go by. If you like Italian food, Amici's restaurant is wonderful along with Bianco's. We have booked a return visit next year and shall be visiting Yum Sing Cantonese restaurant and doing much more sightseeing. The Waters family are such a wonderful family and very helpful in every way possible. We already miss the place. See you next year. John & Lou Rogers, Worcestershire

Room Tip: We would certainly recommend the suites for a room to stay like we did. It was a huge open plan spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
339
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

When we arrived we were shown into the sitting room and offered tea and coffee after our long journey and before booking in. The breakfast was amazing, everything you could imagine was on the menu. Attractive rooms and decor.

Room Tip: Parking is quite tight, arrive early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

On arriving at the hotel, the owners son came out to the car park and asked if he could assist us with our luggage, he then took us into the lounge area where he brought us a pot of coffee and biscuits, we had a very nice conversation with this young man. After which he then carried our luggage to our room. The room was extremely nicely furnished, a super king size bed, a two seater sofa, flat screened TV, tea and coffee making facilities, etc, etc.. The bathroom was incredible, ceramic tiled floor, two modern wash hand basins, spa bath, walk in shower and soft close toilet seat, towels were of high quality. We had a very comfortable sleep. The breakfast was absolutely incredible, fresh juices and fruits, yoghurts, pastries and a cooked breakfast to order. I could go on and on about how good this hotel is but think it better if you find out for your self. Thanks to the owner and his family for providing such excellent accommodation

Room Tip: We chose the room with the Spa bath, well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived Chris, the owner, made us feel right at home. The hotel itself is a charming building, a little dated but in a world if strerile modern hotels I mean that entirely in a good way. It puts a smile on your face and instantly relaxes you.

The room was a good size and the bed was huge and comfy.

Breakfast this morning would show up any other hotel I've stayed in. A lovely spread on offer from Scottish pancakes & Welsh Cakes to more local delicacies. Also a huge array of homemade preserves, yoghurts, cereals, juices, smoothies and countless other offerings. All this was just the grazing section though, for main breakfast there was a menu of cooked to order dishes. I opted for the full English and it was delicious. Not at all greasy as they often are, it was filling and satisfying.

The bar, although maybe a little small, has a good offering but in fairness you come to Torquay to see the sights, not sit in the hotel bar.

All in all this is a smashing place that radiates with the pride and care the staff all clearly have. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beardface_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here this weekend, it's the best guest house/hotel we've stayed at in Britain, you couldn't fault anything, very clean and welcoming, the rooms are good sizes and the descriptions/itinerary are spot on, lovely choice of breakfast, from waffles to the full English, if you don't fancy the walk into the harbour a taxi will cost £4 ish, the deluxe room with terrace is what we stayed in, it's a lovely sun trap if you don't venture out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tezler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel to catch up with friends at short notice....
What a find!!!!
Great location 5-10 minute walk to harbour, 2 minutes from the beach. The voice when booking set the tone (I hoped), the welcome I received backed up my thought straight away, the suite we were given just said quality from the moment I saw it... and the breakfast (oh the breakfast!!!) was simply superb!
I spend 4-5 days a week away in hotels etc for work around the country and this was still a great find and wouldn't hesitate to return...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devoncooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a superb holiday once again in Torquay and will be returning again soon. The accommodation was great with a good choice of quality and the breakfast was out of this world. There is a large selection in terms of room quality and size and is worth trying a different room for your next visit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holeinone1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#4 of 87 in Torquay
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meadfoot Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing