We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class welcome and exceptionally good room”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class welcome and exceptionally good room”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights after a short break travelling around Devon. We arrived at the Meadfoot Bay hotel after a stay in a five star hotel and spa in Salcombe for two nights and were knocked out at how much better EVERYTHING at the Meadfoot was!
We received an extremely warm welcome from owner Chris and were offered tea and coffee before we went up to our room. We stayed in suite 22 which was absolutely spotlessly clean and we couldn't believe just how big our suite was. The outside decked area was also large and felt very private with lovely views and was also very peaceful. We had paid well over £500 for our stay in Salcombe and at the Meadfoot, for half the price, our room,
welcome, breakfast and service were far, far better and totally beyond our expectations!
Gary, Chris's son was an absolute delight and was friendly and extremely helpful to us throughout our stay (as was everyone).
The selection available at breakfast was superb and there was something for everyone and it would be impossible for anybody to find something not to like.
Overall, everything about The Meadfoot Bay Hotel was exceptional. We will definitely be back and would like to thank all the staff for making us feel so welcome. Book direct for the best deal and a genuine warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
334
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I came back from a weekend in Torquay, totally in love with this hotel and the area! Me and my partner wanted one last weekend away before the arrival of our baby and Chris at the Meadfoot bay hotel made us feel so welcome! We were welcomed with a cup of tea or coffee in the lounge area (I've never received this service before) and felt comfortable straight away. The breakfast the Waters family put on is amazing! Everything you could think of ... they serve, but with such a high standard, we were spoilt for choice! Room was lovely even though our room is the last room waiting to be renovated. Location is good although a lot of hills so great for a nice walk along the cliff top down to Torbay harbour. I'd recommend this hotel to everyone and I only hope will return again one day.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed just the one night to break up the journey picking our daughter up from Plymouth from Kent. On arrival we received a very warm welcome from the Gary, the owner's son, who showed us to our suite.

Room was fantastic, clean, spacious with a lovely secluded terrace / decking. At breakfast the following morning another warm greeting by Chris before a delicious full English.

Highly recommended and will definitely stay there again ifin the area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrrspricey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for 1 night . What can I say what a lovely place, the room was stunning! Modern, clean and fresh, the breakfast was spot on so much to choose from and the service well we had a lovely warm welcome, both owners were lovely and kind, made us feel very welcome. Although we did notice a few creaky stairs and pipes but then again it is a old house!! It hasn't stopped us from considering it for future stays!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKC2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

As return guests we were expecting the same type of great service as we got last time. However this time it was exceptional !!! Upon arrival we got a nice warm welcome back from chris and we stayed in our favourite room: The Signature Suite. Breakfast was really nice every morning and also the cleanliness of our room was good!. We visited places that we didn't first time round and it was a much better stay as the weather was beautiful! Thank you again to Chris Gray and Caroline for such an amazing stay! Looking forward to our return

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie210012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a fantastic stay here, no exaggeration!! On arrival we were greeted by Chris who offered us tea or coffee, the coffee was served in a caffeteir, a nice touch. We were shown into a lovely lounge to relax before we checked into our luxury suit with its own terrace. The accommodation is of a very high standard, has to been seen to be believed!
The breakfast was amazing with a buffet style of a huge selection to suit anyone, the choice was endless. The cooked breakfast was cooked to order and was superb.
The hotel is run buy a lovely family who consider nothing to be too much trouble. If you choose to stay somewhere in Torquay then we highly recommended that you book into this hotel. We shall certainly be back to stay!!

Room Tip: -The suits are private and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindseyjaynewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Upon arrival Gary invited us to relax in the lounge with tea or coffee.This was a welcome touch after a long journey,the hotel was lovely,our room was spotlessly clean and bright.The atmosphere and service was perfect.Breakfast was out of this world,you have to see it to believe it.Would not hesitate to stay here again.Thank you Chris and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelmesphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,749 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
496 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meadfoot Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing