We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for four nights and it was one of the best places I've ever stayed in. The staff were just fantastic at giving the personal touch and made you feel like you were at home. There was ample choice for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was amazing, every morning. We stayed in a classic double which had plenty of room, and was wonderfully comfortable and clean for the duration.

The hotel is near to Meadfoot beach which was a beautiful little bay, and a short walk to Torquay harbour where everything was situated.

I would strongly recommend this hotel, it was absolutely outstanding! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
319
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked this hotel at short notice for one night. We were initially impressed by the area - very nice road with a lovely feel to it. The hotel itself is set back from the road and first impressions were again very good - nice car park, with a couple of raised seating areas, all beautifully landscaped.
Although we arrived quite a bit earlier than the check-in time, the owner couldn't have been more helpful and arranged for our bags to be put in the room as soon as it was ready, while we went out to the town.
The hotel is very near a beautiful bay and within a short distance of the town centre, so very well positioned.
Our room (no 9) was fabulous and extremely comfortable. Large room, with equally large and very luxurious bathroom. It felt like a 5 star hotel in many respects.
Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice, including cold and hot options. It was tempting to try the lot!
All in all, we were extremely impressed with Meadfoot Bay, both in terms of comfort and customer service and would highly recommend it. We will back ourselves ASAP!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed for 5 nights and we wished we could have doubled that time, excellent family run hotel in a quiet part of Torquay, and as stated 2 minute walk to Meadfoot beach which has some facilities, but was great for an early morning walk before breakfast.
We had a Suite Room which was not only luxurious and spacious but also had the beauty of the terrace for the sunny afternoons we enjoyed.
Breakfast - I have never seen so much choice and the cooked breakfast with local ingredients was best in class.
Friendly, and welcoming what more could you ask for, and also as stated a 15 minute hilly walk to any restaurant in the town, approx £4 cab ride back, again a recommended provider.

Room Tip: Room 21 is one of the 3 Suites and certainly worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torfaen, Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked for a couple of nights to get away from the hurly burly and wished we could have stayed longer. Comfortable room, good facilities, excellent service, with friendly and helpful advice in a quiet part of Torquay, not far a lovely beach and only 10 minutes from some excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Councillorbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stay here ... everything is above and beyond! Location, rooms, service and price !! Thank you it seems TripAdvisor need me to write more than 200 characters ... seems pointless when you can sum up perfection in one word ... PERFECT

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I booked into the Meadfoot Bay as my usual hotel in the area was unavailable, I had no idea what to expect having booked it off the back of Trip Advisor recommendations...I was not disappointed.

While its a little unusual to ring a bell outside to be brought in, once you were in it added security and everything else was excellent. I received a very friendly welcome, was shown to my impressive room with a quite stunning bathroom with jacuzzi bath as the feature, plus power shower. Just wonderful...even having a fully working and good quality wifi!

I actually made an error as the hotel doesn't do dinner which, as a guy on business, I usually insist on, but instead I got to stroll the short distance to the stunning bay and the town was a (hilly) stroll away with lots of choices.

I hope to be back and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I had room 9, don't book that in case I want to go back!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobboMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have just returned home after a ten day stay at the hotel. We stayed in a beautiful room with it's own terrace. Everything, cleanliness, decor , friendliness of the family and boy oh boy the superb breakfast, were amazing. I could not fault anything (except that Chris brought me coffee instead of tea one morning, but i will let him off with that one mistake ha ha.) Thank you to all concerned for a lovely holiday. x

Room Tip: did not see the other rooms, but the terraced room that we had was so very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#7 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meadfoot Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing