We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for a 3 night break and were blown away by this family run gem of a hotel. The family were so warm and welcoming. The decor is beautiful and stylish. Its absolutely spotless and the breakfast was amazing - the choice of food on offer has to be seen to be believed and the full english breakfast is perfect. Just a few minutes walk away is Meadfoot beach which is beautiful. We would definately go back there again and again!

Room Tip: Stayed in the classic double and it was perfect for our needs and budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for a short break in Torquay. Lovely hotel, very clean and welcoming. Coffee or tea on arrival very nice. Breakfast, the choice is amazing. Not far from the centre of the town, walkable. There is a small bar in the lounge area, although I didn't try this - it looks fully stocked with a great range of drinks. Worth staying here if you are in Torquay for a relaxing break.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank kenyon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

So I read the reviews for this hotel and saw how great they were, so I booked to stay for my husbands birthday in the suite with terrace for 2 nights.
From the moment we arrived we were well looked after, we were offered complimentary tea or coffee which was nice. Gary really was lovely and made us feel right at home.
The room was amazing, so big with a fantastic king size bed...not only that they had put rose petals on the bed which was lovely. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room, toiletries and also bottles of water. Breakfast was fantastic, having travelled and stayed in many hotels we were both blown away with how much was on offer and the extra little things like the shots of cranberry and raspberry which were yummy! The cooked breakfast was amazing but could have done with some beans. The service was 5 star and Chris was so attentive, he really looked after us! After working in the industry ourselves and having travelled a lot we do tend to have high expectations when staying somewhere but The Meadfoot Bay honestly exceeded our expectations and will be without a doubt staying again in the future! Thank you all for making my husbands weekend a one to remember :)

Room Tip: Suite 21 is fantastic, really big and spacious, nice furnishings and an amazing bathroom, though I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rnrdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner came to stay here for two nights for a friend's wedding travelling from Newcastle. What a great find! We were greeted by Chris, the owner, and made to feel very welcome as he offered us drinks on arrival. We had booked the classic compact double room and it was perfect. It had a lovely spacious bathroom and the bed was very comfortable with nice soft pillows too. Excellent value for money and not a disappointment at all. My favourite part of our stay had to be the breakfast. Wow, the choices available were fantastic. Anything you can think of they served in the buffet. Immediately served tea and coffee when you're seated. Chris was so attentive to our needs and always asking what cooked breakfast we would like. It was unbelievable. There is something for everyone.
I was just gutted to leave as our stay at meadfoot had to be one of the best.ive ever had in a hotel. I would definitely come back again. Time to plan next year's holiday :-) Fantastically run hotel with lovely owners. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank katyblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for four nights and it was one of the best places I've ever stayed in. The staff were just fantastic at giving the personal touch and made you feel like you were at home. There was ample choice for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was amazing, every morning. We stayed in a classic double which had plenty of room, and was wonderfully comfortable and clean for the duration.

The hotel is near to Meadfoot beach which was a beautiful little bay, and a short walk to Torquay harbour where everything was situated.

I would strongly recommend this hotel, it was absolutely outstanding! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked this hotel at short notice for one night. We were initially impressed by the area - very nice road with a lovely feel to it. The hotel itself is set back from the road and first impressions were again very good - nice car park, with a couple of raised seating areas, all beautifully landscaped.
Although we arrived quite a bit earlier than the check-in time, the owner couldn't have been more helpful and arranged for our bags to be put in the room as soon as it was ready, while we went out to the town.
The hotel is very near a beautiful bay and within a short distance of the town centre, so very well positioned.
Our room (no 9) was fabulous and extremely comfortable. Large room, with equally large and very luxurious bathroom. It felt like a 5 star hotel in many respects.
Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice, including cold and hot options. It was tempting to try the lot!
All in all, we were extremely impressed with Meadfoot Bay, both in terms of comfort and customer service and would highly recommend it. We will back ourselves ASAP!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed for 5 nights and we wished we could have doubled that time, excellent family run hotel in a quiet part of Torquay, and as stated 2 minute walk to Meadfoot beach which has some facilities, but was great for an early morning walk before breakfast.
We had a Suite Room which was not only luxurious and spacious but also had the beauty of the terrace for the sunny afternoons we enjoyed.
Breakfast - I have never seen so much choice and the cooked breakfast with local ingredients was best in class.
Friendly, and welcoming what more could you ask for, and also as stated a 15 minute hilly walk to any restaurant in the town, approx £4 cab ride back, again a recommended provider.

Room Tip: Room 21 is one of the 3 Suites and certainly worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
664 reviews
3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £93 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meadfoot Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is a 5* award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 5 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing