We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting family. Amazing experience, it's a family run hotel with fantastic attention to detail. We were offered drinks on arrival and complimentary bottles of water and glasses of sherry in the room!

The breakfast was a really big selection and you could order hot breakfast as well.

Overall really impressed, definitely coming back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dusuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    36
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
347
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

After a hectic week celebrating our daughter's wedding and a rather significant Birthday, my husband and I were in need of some rest and relaxation. We certainly chose the right place for this at the Meadfoot Bay. We received a warm welcome and a pot of tea, before being shown to the most beautiful room. It was equipped with everything you could possibly need and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was sheer luxury, (I have never watched TV whilst in the bath before). Breakfast was a unique experience with every taste catered for! I have never seen such an array of food prepared with such attention to detail. Our stay was perfect and we will definitely be returning as soon as possible. Thank you to Gary and his parents for a truly relaxing break!

Room Tip: Would recommend the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The staff literally could not do enough for us, so welcoming and friendly. The room was really comfortable, the staff had scattered rose petals all over for us! The breakfast was excellent, so much choice! The owner remembered our preferred drink and after a couple of days brought it to the table without us needing to ask! They were also very knowledgeable about the area and recommended things to do and restaurants. Cannot fault them!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniethepenguin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Truly an amazing weekend stay at the Meadfoot Bay hotel,Torquay. A great welcome on arrival after a long journey and given tea & biscuits in the grand downstairs Victorian drawing room. The downstairs is expensively decorated and furnished in Egyptian regency. The bedrooms are are very stylish and tastefully decorated. A glass of sherry was provided in your room on arrival also.
The variety of choice at breakfast is to be commended and service first class.They also provided a vegetarian cooked breakfast for my partner with local produce. I liked the fact there were no phones in your bedroom. Almost everyone has a mobile phone these days. Gary, Caroline & Chris the owners made us very welcome and their genuine kindness was the icing on the cake for a lovely weekend. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Book one of the suites which has plenty of room. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uxonion
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I booked the ground floor single room. Which is pretty basic but em suite all was ok until the toilet flooded and I had to use towels to mop it up there is no phone in the room to contact reception which is not manned till 8am Eventually the
Owners son was helpful but the owner called it a minor incident
The hotel is locked all day which is weird so great breakfast but not a happy experience

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uxonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A flying visit but still made to feel very welcome.
On arrival we were offered fresh coffee and given time to relax from our journey. The room was clean and well presented.
The staff were very friendly and helpful in giving ideas of walks and places to go.
The breakfast was outstanding and I can honestly say I've never seen such a choice in all the places that I have stayed.
Would definitely recommend highly and hope to visit again.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Fantastic staff and room. I would highly recommend booking into this establishment if you are staying in Torquay. Situated near Meadfoot beach and a small stroll from Torquay town centre itself, I was really impressed. Great cooked breakfast too. I will return. :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meadfoot Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing