We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Almost every hotel in Torquay is small and independent, so choosing one can feel like a lottery. Picking the Meadfoot Bay felt like winning the lottery. The rooms - particularly the newly-refurbished superior rooms - are absolutely immaculate in every respect: really comfortable beds, great bathrooms and so many little extras - an umbrella, really good tea- and coffee-making facilities, a massive television with DVD player, free wireless internet, to name but a few - that they made a real difference to the overall experience.

The hotel is a bit of a hilly 15-minute walk into town, and the temptation to drive or take a taxi is sometimes strong - but it's nice to have the peace and quiet of being that little bit removed. It's also just a few minutes from a lovely little beach, with pretty walks around the nearby headland available too. The gardens of the hotel have been converted into a series of little terraces, with seating available to enjoy the sun or a drink from the bar.

The included breakfast is excellent: a full cooked breakfast to your specification, and all the usual toast and cereal. As with all the service here, nothing is too much trouble.

The small scale of the hotel mostly works in its favour - it has about 17 or 18 double or twin rooms (and children are - hurrah! - not welcome). That said, the tiny car park can be challenging (I recommend parking on the road and saving yourself the effort), the rooms are not vast (not surprising, given it's a converted property) and the feel is still very much of a guest house, albeit a very good one. While the Meadfoot Bay is great, don't come expecting every amenity you'd expect of a full service hotel - there's no room service, no business centre, and no annoying idiots in suits yelling into their mobile phones.

The bottom line is that, were we to go to Torquay again, we'd stay at the Meadfoot Bay - and with several hundred (or so it seems) hotels in the town to choose from, that's high praise.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
324
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

Made our booking online for our first visit to Torbay for about thirty years. Our choice of hotel
proved to be inspired. Chris, Caroline and Gary who own and run this lovely establishment
provided a standard and service second to non. The hotel decor throughout is beautifully
presented as was the food in the dining room. Cost of our three night break for this
experience was an absolute steal - you must try it!!!
Alan and Sue, Nottingham

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MansfieldNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole Dorset
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

we found the Hotel easy to find, was surprisingly well decorated and the rooms were
excellent with power shower,Sky Television, Tea making and in our case a veranda with a view to the sea. The breakfast was outstanding with cereals, toast, fruit and the best cooked breakfast I have had for a long time! Chris & his wife were perfect hosts always available and very helpful. The bar was an added bonus in the evenings with internet
computer easily accessible. We played 2 golf courses - Dartmouth is a must - fantastic course with beautiful scenery- speak with Chris who is an ex professional and he will direct you to the best courses and best deals! Would recommend the Hotel and staff to anyone and the deals are very very good. Plenty to do in Torquay and surrounding areas
perfect for a group holiday, family holiday or just a romantic week-end. Our 3 day break was excellent value and we will return again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helmetray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

After many hours on the internet, I kept coming back to The Meadfoot Bay, there was something about it, that said it would be JUST PERFECT, and it was just that.

I booked their Valentines package for the St Andrews Suite, WOW, it was amazing. Every attention to detail has been caringly applied. The quality was first class, better than some of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in.

To see my girlfriends face when we walked in the hotel and later to our room, was so rewarding. This has now become one of our most favourite of places.

Breakfast was absolutely wonderful, everything sourced locally, cooked fresh and to perfection.
We will certainly be returning for all those special occasions and hopefully many other visits.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCBabiesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

We stayed for just one night, we arrived very late as we got stuck in traffic but phoned the hotel & someone waited up to check us in. The room was far better than we expected, very clean, comfortable bed, nice bathroom. Its in a fairly good position for Torquay town centre.Overall for very good hotel will stay there next time we are in Torquay

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ben83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

I stayed at the Meadfoot Bay Hotel, Torquay, for 5 nights in July 2008. The hotel is located on a hill, close to Meadfoot Beach and only a few minutes' walk from Torquay town-centre. However, beware that it is quite a steep climb back from the town - not easy after a heavy meal, but fortunately there are buses which pass the hotel. The neighbourhood of the hotel is very pleasant and quiet, surrounded by other similar hotels and residences.

On arriving at the Meadfoot Bay, I received a very warm welcome from the owner Chris. The hotel is family-run and I have never before stayed in a hotel with such attentive hosts.

For the first two nights, I had to stay in their single room on the ground floor. The room was a nice size for a single and adequately furnished. I found the bed comfortable and was pleased to find a 19-inch LCD TV with digital Freeview channels. The ensuite bathroom was quite narrow, with a rather confined shower cubicle, but was otherwise fine. This room is adjacent to the front door of the hotel, but this did not prove too much of a disturbance in terms of noise.

During the remainder of my visit, I stayed in a double room on the second floor at the back of the building. This was a lovely light room, nicely furnished, with an outside door leading to the terraced area of the hotel. The bathroom was well-presented, although I was disappointed to find a shower, as I had specifically requested a bath at the time of booking. The bedroom was of reasonable size and really was a joy to stay in. Apart from some minor irritations, such as a rattly headboard, my main grievance was the TV - an old 14-inch model with no digital channels, no Channel Five reception and unwatchable Channel 4 reception (so basically, just three channels available).

The hotel does not have a great deal of outside grounds, but good use has been made of the little space available. There is a car park and a number of small Sun terraces with a variety of seating.

Breakfast was included in the nightly rate and there was plenty of choice, with both hot and cold options. I only sampled the cooked breakfast once, but it was of a very high standard. My only criticism here is the very restricted breakfast slot of 8:30-9:30, which seems rather short and late, particularly for those who need to make an early start in the morning.

Finally, a nice touch was free internet access available on a computer located next to the bar. This was very useful for catching up on e-mails and finding local information.

To summarise, this hotel provides a near-excellent service at reasonable cost and a thoroughly pleasant environment for a stay in Torquay. I would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CRobDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

Nice, quiet location. Excellent breakfasts. Near all amenities for all age groups. Excellent value for money. Spotlessly clean. Lots of little extras which made it so much nicer. Beautiful room as well as all other areas of the hotel. Good car parking.

  • Liked — Room and view
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#7 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meadfoot Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing