We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I stayed at the meadfoot bay hotel and realy enjoyed my stay . the staff were realy friendly and the breakfast was spot on , the rooms were very clean and comfortable . I will be returning next year without a doubt .

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KNSBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

We have just returned from a three night stay and can honestly say it was the cleanest hotel we have stayed in anywhere in the world. The owners were very helpful and even presented us a surprise bottle of bubbly when they found out we were there to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary. The room was well equipped with a very nice bathrooom and an extremly comfortable queen size bed (Wentworth room) The gardens were immaculate and the breakfast was excellent. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weekenders36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Just spent a night at the hotel booked very last minute on the internet. A standard twin room, not huge but fine for the price. Spotlessly clean like the whole hotel, good quality bed linen and nice decor. We had a door leading out to a great decked are with seating and a distant view of the sea infact there were lots of decked areas down one side and the front of the hotel. The owners were friendly and helpful especially Gary. Two nice lounges and bar quite ornate but in lovely condition. Good cooked breakfast and excellent service. Wish we had been staying longer and hope to return for longer very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

me an my husband went to torquay to meadfoot bay hotel for are honeymoon its a family run hotel and they made you very welcome the hotel was very nice its a lovely place to go for a break or hoilday an chris caroline a gary are very warm people thank you for making are stay very welcoming . sarah and paul hogg xx

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoggbarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We have stayed at this beautiful hotel 5 times, and each time we have found it to be perfect. Caroline, Chris and Gary are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfasts are outstanding, cooked to perfection, beautifully presented and served. There is a wide choice of food available to suit every taste. The lounges, dining room, bar and staircases are furnished and decorated to a very high standard, as are the bedrooms. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, the bedrooms have T.V. and internet access and all the luxuries you could wish for. The terraced gardens are attractive to sit and relax in. This hotel more than deserves its 4 star A.A. rating, it is in a superb location and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreeLandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Our second stay in this wonderful hotel , which for us says it all !!!
I suppose you could call this our honeymoon as we got married a few weeks ago and we could not have spent the time at a better place. We booked the St Andrews suite and found it to be a wonderful room with a bathroom larger than a few hotel rooms we have stayed in !!
The room and hotel in general is spotless which is down to the hard work and attention to detail of the owners and staff , including the surprise bottle of champagne in our room. The owners are friendly and amazingly helpful and always seem to be available ,nothing seems to be too much trouble.
Breakfast was ample and freshly cooked with all the usual food served .
All in all a faultless stay , thank-you all.
Kind regards.
Helen & John

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllieMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Almost every hotel in Torquay is small and independent, so choosing one can feel like a lottery. Picking the Meadfoot Bay felt like winning the lottery. The rooms - particularly the newly-refurbished superior rooms - are absolutely immaculate in every respect: really comfortable beds, great bathrooms and so many little extras - an umbrella, really good tea- and coffee-making facilities, a massive television with DVD player, free wireless internet, to name but a few - that they made a real difference to the overall experience.

The hotel is a bit of a hilly 15-minute walk into town, and the temptation to drive or take a taxi is sometimes strong - but it's nice to have the peace and quiet of being that little bit removed. It's also just a few minutes from a lovely little beach, with pretty walks around the nearby headland available too. The gardens of the hotel have been converted into a series of little terraces, with seating available to enjoy the sun or a drink from the bar.

The included breakfast is excellent: a full cooked breakfast to your specification, and all the usual toast and cereal. As with all the service here, nothing is too much trouble.

The small scale of the hotel mostly works in its favour - it has about 17 or 18 double or twin rooms (and children are - hurrah! - not welcome). That said, the tiny car park can be challenging (I recommend parking on the road and saving yourself the effort), the rooms are not vast (not surprising, given it's a converted property) and the feel is still very much of a guest house, albeit a very good one. While the Meadfoot Bay is great, don't come expecting every amenity you'd expect of a full service hotel - there's no room service, no business centre, and no annoying idiots in suits yelling into their mobile phones.

The bottom line is that, were we to go to Torquay again, we'd stay at the Meadfoot Bay - and with several hundred (or so it seems) hotels in the town to choose from, that's high praise.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
664 reviews
3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £93 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meadfoot Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is a 5* award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 5 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing